We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple lodging.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Epernay
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel was a simple, clean and comfortable place to stay for the night. The decorations and furnishings were functional and plain. The bed was firm but comfortable (although I thought the pillows were a little lumpy and hard.) The room had wifi, television, refrigerator, microwave, and a stove-top. The bathroom was separated from the sleeping/living area; perfect for privacy and quiet. The staff were friendly. The buffet-style breakfast bar had a decent selection of food: ham, salami, cheeses, fresh bread, cereal, yogurt, milk, water, juice, coffee, marmalade, Nutella, etc. It wasn't gourmet, but it was fine.

All in all, for the price, this a fine place to stay if you need to crash for the night. If you want a romantic getaway, this isn't the place. We stayed in December, so we didn't need air-conditioning (I suppose if it were hot, you might need to be concerned.) It is a longish walk to town, so be prepared for a march.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Epernay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

W stayed here for the free wifi and free parking, and late check in. The rooms were great, and desk clerk was friendly. Down side was it was very difficult to find ( yay for the town map printed at the bus stops) and not at all convenient to Avenue de Champagne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP757FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel was clean, but definitely felt like an old army barracks converted to a hotel. There was one large sitting room with kitchenette and a bedroom and a bathroom.

The hotel was far from the center of Epernay where all of the champagne houses and restaurants are. It was very difficult to find transportation into the city as well.

I would not recommend this hotel if you only have one day to spend in Epernay. Too much time spent trying to figure out transportation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrubhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The rooms were new, but poorly constructed...the linoleum was pealing up. There was no AC in 100 degree temps and when we asked about a fan the desk clerk said " we'll I'm hot too. We only need it for a few weeks of the year" awful customer service. Breakfast buffet was good but there wasn't enough room for every one... People were setting on the outdoor stairs to eat. Stay at best western. Much better!

Room Tip: Stay at best western...our friends stayed there and had a very good experience
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights early september and were happy with this hotel : efficient, clean,friendly and in a quiet location! If you let them know at the time of your booking , dogs are welcome and there is a vast green field in front of the hotel where you can walk your dog PLEASE DO NOT FORGET THE POOPSCOOP!
Good parking and easy access & lifts make it a good location for wheelchair users
we took advantage of a special offer : €150 for 3 nights + breakfast, which was a super deal, considering the very good breakfast buffet on offer. As the hotel is on the outskirts you need a car, but I believe you can catch a bus on the main road.
All in all : not luxury but more than adequate.

Room Tip: The higher floors afford a lovely view over the vineyards
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked this hotel before reading all the reviews, so we were nervous we had made a mistake. But, we were bringing our three dogs, so our options were limited. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the hotel is very clean and the room exceeded our expections. Upon arrival, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. From what I can tell, they all speak very good English, so communicating was not a problem. We had a suite, which was interesting because the room was split level, where the living and bathroom were below, and the bedroom was above, sort of like a loft, but bigger. Because of this, we highly recommend to bring some kind of fan to help with the airflow. We ended up purchasing a small desk fan at a local store to use at night. Plenty of closet space and room for our three dogs. We have an extra large dog crate for our 2-year old Chessie (85 lbs), and we had no problem getting that set up in the room. The kitchenette was nice, but not needed, since we were their to explore. The refrigerator came in handy for chilling some bottles of wine. The bathroom was very spacious, and everything worked as it should. We did not eat at the breakfast, but the options did look good with meats, cheeses, cereals, assorted baked goods, etc.
For dog owners, this hotel was great because there is a huge lawn behind the hotel, that I'm assuming was the former parade grounds when the buildings there were some sort of barracks. We had a lot of fun playing fetch and letting them run around off-leash, which while probably not encouraged there, nobody seemed to mind.
Overall, a very good experience at this hotel, and I would choose to stay there again if we returned.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not directly above the main entrance to the hotel, as it can be noisy with...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PyrateDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We didn't understand the reviews of the other travellers. We thought the hotel is perfect for the money you pay. Walk to Epernay about 20 minutes (just straight ahead). Spacious rooms (two parts, bedroom and living room). You get the cutlery if you need it at the reception desk (to avoid theft I think). In Europe it is normal to have a hand shower (so you can actually clean your private parts well uhmm, how do Americans do that?) and our room was very clean. Our breakfast was included, which was a nice buffet (no continental breakfast). Overall we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

Three tips: the reception employees did not know a lot about Epernay and what kind of events were going on.

Ashtrays outside are nice since now everything is put on the grass.

And an extra garbage can would be nice, since there is only a little one in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
1.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
344 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Epernay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Epernay

Address: 2 Rue Francois Bonal, 51200, Epernay, France (Formerly Les Demeures Champenoises)
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: £36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Epernay 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in former military buildings of Epernay's cavalry built in 1893, you will enjoy a splendid view over the hillsides. The Comfort Suites Les Demeures Champenoises welcomes you for leisure and business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Epernay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing