We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome and fantastic food”

Restaurant Chez Max
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a french traditional restaurant. We change our menus each week according seasons local products. You will be received by a team of professionals in a convivial ambiance without device nor spangle, in any simplicity and sincerity there.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great welcome and fantastic food”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We were very fortunate to be taken here by French friends for lunch while visiting champagne houses in the region. The most fantastic food and the buzz around the place was terrific. Franck is 'front of house' and very welcoming, coping amazingly with a constant flow of diners. Great choice of food and everyone in our party of around 20 diners had nothing but praise for each course. The unassuming exterior just adds to the sense that you've discoivered a hidden gem.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mearnsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    207
    38
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Went to chez maz for lunch. You are made to feel welce immediately. We had a prix fixe lunch at eur29 including cheese and dessert and it was great. It wasnt too heavy so you won't be able to continue with your day. We liked our veal and fish main. Wished I could have it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trishwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Max's food will melt your mind.”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The owners of our B&B strongly recommended we go to Chez Max while we were in town. We walked across Epernay (about 20 mins), and all I can say is THANK YOU!

Max, the proprietor, is personable and funny and makes a great host/server. He may be the chef, but was far to active in the dining room to be actually cooking our food. Regardless, everything was fantastic! They had a local franch abbey beer from Rennes...so we had that along with a 4-course menu of foie gras, steak, cheese and creme brulee. wow! We left ready to be rolled down the street, but every single calorie was worth it. My taste buds will be forever spoiled because of this meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
246 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
“If you like Steak Tartare, this is the place!”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Frank makes the best Steak Tartare tableside with his 13 ingredients. Other dishes I have had there a very good, as well. The wine list is a bit pricey and limited. It always seems the other tables are filled with social people who will be chatty even if they don't speak English. My low rating on atmosphere is based in that the dining room not that interesting and the feel is that of a cheap, almost sloppy cafe. as I said, the people there are great, both staff and customer. This is definitely on my favorites list to return to each year.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food matched by the welcome”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We were recommended this hotel by the Bergere champagne house, and initially were a little put off by the location and "kerb appeal". However, once inside we had one of the best meals of our stay in France. The food was fresh, local and superbly cooked. The scallop carpaccio was excellent and the steak tartare was mixed at the table with a flair which was matched by the delicious taste.
Our meal was enhanced by the warm welcome we received from Frank, the current owner who took over from his father, who bought the restaurant from the eponymous Max. Frank was an enthusiastic gourmand who told us all about the food, which he sourced himself at the local market. Once we had finished the meal we spent an enjoyable and informative hour sitting with him and tasting the various digestifs on offer.
I can highly recommend this restaurant as a truly French dining experience with a friendly and entertaining host.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chez Max also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing