We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Franck”

Restaurant Chez Max
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a french traditional restaurant. We change our menus each week according seasons local products. You will be received by a team of professionals in a convivial ambiance without device nor spangle, in any simplicity and sincerity there.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Franck”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our third meal here in a year and each one has been a wonderful experience,mainly created by the Fabulous Franck who really ought to be on TV. His enthusiasm for getting it all spot on knows no bounds and while we are on bounds he is up and down those stairs making sure that everyone has a very special experience. On a Friday night, Sunday lunch and Thursday lunch the food has always been both interesting and beautifully cooked. As Franck used to be a chef he seems to know how to get the very best out of his chefs.
We will definitely be back for more of the Fabulous Franck aka Chez Max experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    203
    37
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional French restaurant”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just loved the hospitality, Max made us feel so welcome. Food and wine were excellent and great value compared to some of the up market restaurants we'd eaten in during our holiday.. Would highly recommend this place..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
176 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Max magnifique”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went on the recommendation of where we were staying and they were so right.
This is a great restaurant with very good food and tremendous atmosphere mainly provided by Max.
Without his wife on, Max ran up and down the stairs all night to make sure that everyone got exactly what they wanted. And we did.
There are 3 set price menus or a la carte.
The 29.5e menu we chose (40e and 21.5e are the other menus) was such great value for such great food. We wouldn’t get one course of not as good food for that amount in Western Australia.
And Max kept coming up and entertaining and making sure all was good. Which it was.
And when we left, despite the fact that most people were leaving at the same time, he took the time to again engage and ask us about our home etc.
A great night out. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeHappyM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quirky cool place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a great mom & pop place where the owner/chef was very helpful with the menus, and very welcoming. The appearance and decor were not what you'd expect (as pointed out by other reviewers), but hey, this is France. We had pork medallions that were very good, as were the other courses, and the prices very reasonable. I would definitely dine there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good food and great fun”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As other reviewers have commented do not be put off by exterior or location. Can get busy so booking may be necessary. Service was fast and furious and restaurant has a lively atmosphere.
Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Something for everyone. Good wine list which was not outrageously priced.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone visiting Epernay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Chez Max also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing