We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here... not as advertised”
Review of Hotel Le Magellan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Magellan
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I made this reservation and was guaranteed rooms 1 & 2 on 1st floor; when we arrived 1 & 2 were gone so gave us 3 & 4 having to climb huge amounts of stairs with luggage etc. We were promised wi-fi in every room and that is not the case... NO Wi-FI in rooms only in hotel lobby and only on occasion. Too many times we have checked into a hotel or B&B and they all say "yes we have wi-fi in rooms" and mostly that is not the case. This hotel is very noisey as you are right on a busy street AND to save the best for last... In my daughter's room she went to go take a shower this morning and there was hair all over the floor in the shower GROSS. She had to come take a shower in my room. Don't get me wrong I LOVE EPERNAY just not this hotel. We left by 8am the next day and still no wi-fi even in the lobby... not as advertised in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great location in centre of town. Easy to park car in surrounding streets. Easy walking to avenue de Champagne. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. Suited us for the sort stay we had in Epernay. Bathroom clean and nicely appointed. Room was small but suited us perfectly as there is a lot to see, do and taste in the local area. Breakfast was great and not expensive. Hosts were friendly and provided a lot of good advice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Siena69a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We arrived in Epernay with no accommodation booked and walked into hotel Le Magellan for a room for the night. It is located very conveniently in the centre of town, and with a very reasonable rate of 65 euro for the night, we did not hesitate. It is exceptional for this price. Clean, comfortable, warm and friendly. Lovely French breakfast. Helpful and knowledgable staff, and Christophe makes a very good espresso! We stayed in chambre 3, up the top of some stairs, but a lovely room with a nice view over the street and wonderful high beamed ceilings. It is also huge. This hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Chambre 3 is very spacious and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_peckingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Superb location, modern room & generous breakfast. Super shower! 10 min walk from train station. Only downsides; Wifi was on & off during our stay, and it would've been nice to have a kettle for tea & coffee in the room. When we asked for boiling water, two mugs & a teabag to take upstairs the cost seemed pricey given we were guests. All the while they were really helpful hosts which added to our time in Epernay.
Ps. The Moët & Chandon tour was really worthwhile, as was the George Cartier tour. Thereafter we walked around, saw the city by foot & sampled as we went.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47kelly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel is what you can expect for 65€. It is clean and provides basic comfort. Our rooms (5&6) had a great outside view, if you are interested in white walls that is. When we arrived, a Sunday afternoon, the bar and restaurant were closed for the rest of the day. The hotel has a great location. The breakfast is very French in a positive way.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 & 6, both have a wall 1,5 meter from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRBENGTStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

was wary but found this place really clean , with all needed facilities for an overnight stay. owners friendly and excellent breakfast , more than just the usual basic .Parking in streets or underground but be very careful of nearest entrance as we scraped our car on the high kerb approaching the ticket machine on a bend ! There is a better bigger entrance on the other side ......... Would certainly return here . Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in October 2012 with our baby girl and absolutely happy with this small hotel just in the center of Epernay. Owner Christopher helps a lot with good advices about Epernay and surrounds, offered baby cot and extra blankets for free and he makes perfect espresso! Room was very clear and light decorates, shower was proper and no noise from the street. In 10 meters from hotel is laundry service and parking (this is quite expensive!).

Room Tip: There's no lift, so please be ready for physical exercise if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#9 of 14 in Epernay
371 reviews
2.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#3 of 14 in Epernay
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Champagne
Hotel de Champagne
#13 of 14 in Epernay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Magellan

Address: 18 rue de la Juiverie, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range: £41 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Magellan 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situé en hyper centre à Epernay,Tout près de la fameuse avenue de champagne.Entierement rénové en 2010, avec beaucoup de charme.- Equipé de climatisation- Salle de bain spacieuese dans chaque chambre- Internet gratuit en WIFI ou en Filaire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Le Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing