We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well past its heyday, unfortunately....”
Review of Le Clos Raymi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos Raymi
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well past its heyday, unfortunately....”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I will preface this review by saying it depends on what sort of accommodation experience you are seeking, as to whether or not Clos Raymi fits the bill.
For us, (three couples staying for 5 nights) it was a very poor fit!
Clos Raymi is (or was) something of an institution in Epernay. Unfortunately our group of six felt it was well past its prime.
The property is a beautiful 3 storey house just off Avenue de La Champagne, so is well situated, with a lovely large garden, terrace and ample secure parking.
If you have a car, eat breakfast in - house, tour the region all day and then return to change before heading out to dinner, then Clos Raymi will probably suit you.
If however, you would like to enjoy a champagne in the salon, or eat freshly acquired produce out on the terrace, or even acquire an ice bucket and glasses for a quiet champagne in the garden.... well move on ! Clos Raymi is not for you.
The rooms are best described as "shabby -chic " or somewhat tired, but there are plenty of towels and good quality bedding. The bathrooms are clean and spacious, cupboard space is adequate but you will have to ask for coat hangers. Wi-Fi was consistently inconsistent and could only be obtained with any degree of certainty in some rather unusual locations around the house, which made for some entertaining conversations with other bemused guests.
We were instructed not to eat (anything) in our rooms or the salon or the dining room (note that only half of the tables had been set for the following days breakfast). Very odd.
The tables and chairs on the terrace were filthy. When we asked the owner (Madam Woda) if we could eat there, she passed me a cleaning cloth for the table. Seriously.
At no stage were we offered any cutlery or plates or chopping boards, not even a knife to cut the cheese! We found this behaviour extraordinarily inhospitable.
When I brought a box of tissues down from our room to act as napkins, I was sternly reprimanded (we were being watched very closely from a kitchen window) and informed the tissue box was strictly for the bathroom.
However, one day we did eventually manage to procure (amidst much sighing and raising of the eyebrows) an ice bucket and ice for a bottle of champagne (we eventually bought our own glasses once we realised none would be made available).
I am loathe to criticise any establishment or owner, but It has to be said that we were not made to feel welcome. Quite the opposite in fact. With just a small change in attitude Clos Raymi could be a wonderful place to stay.
Note there are no tea / coffee making facilities at your disposal and the house kitchen is strictly off limits. Sirens and spotlights will be activated should you attempt to test this rule.
The rates are not cheap, and you can do far better in Epernay (Hotel Jean Moet, Parva Domus, Hotel Eugene to name a few).
If you do decide to stay at Clos Raymi, for heavens sake, don't let that damn cat out! You will be smote from above (that's after chasing the creature throughout the house, climbing out onto a second floor ledge at midnight and dragging the thing back inside.... all without making a sound lest the dreaded owner catch you at it).
We now laugh at the ridiculousness of one bizarre situation after another at Clos Raymi, but recommend the place? Most definitely not. You will find charm and hospitality in so many other establishments in Epernay and nearby.

Room Tip: No tips. All rooms reasonably quiet, though tired and worn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    71
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
14
100
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here after a hectic few days in Paris. It was very peaceful and secluded, but still easy walking distance to the middle of town. We had the lovely Coloniale room on the first floor, and we really likes the style and quality of the room. Lovely linen and a very comfortable bed, and a good sized bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent.
The staff were courteous and helpful.
Overall, it was just what we needed after our time in Paris, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is more a B&B than a hotel. But big plus points are safe parking and a quiet area in a town where this is at premium. We took the cheapest room in the loft - which was basic but clean. We chose not to take the breakfast as it is expensive. The owners are efficient but cool - but overall a good base near the centre of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were not able to have a room at Maison Eugène, so we tried this one which is as well located, just off Moët &Chandon and the Main Champagne Road in Epernay. Very clean hotel run by it seems a family, clean room, nice breakfast table, they really care and they care about details too.
Nice hotel, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

That's what I feel with this hotel, or better, B&B. The first impression when you enter the private property starts with a mixed feeling. When you are directed by car towards the address of the hotel you cross outskirts of Epernay with champagne bottling and producing facilities, not your romantic idea of a idyllic place, whereas the centre of Epernay is very attractive. But then all of a sudden you see the green walls and the large gate when entering the reception area. You see a lovely house, the door is opened by an elderly lady who points to out to the place where the room is. My room was on the first floor, "Provencale". A tastefully decorated and coloured room, with a large window, small green locally crafted cabinet, a small greenish table with a bottle of Evian water and two glasses. A double bed against a green/yellow background, a wooden floor, all good. But then....here starts to swing the mood again. No power outlets to load my dead iphone, o and yes i am here for work so have to check emails but my ipad battery is low. So switch off the tv powercord, or the lamps to use electricity as there are no spare sockets to be found rather sit in the dark to use electricity. One lamp did not work anyway so that one I could use. The wifi constantly switched off and on.

I am sensitive to light, so was woken up in the very early morning as the small window in the (open) bathroom had no curtain. The main curtains, despite the white metal window shutters, did not keep the room dark, very uncomfortable to wake up at 6 am. The bed is not as comfortable as you would expect for a place that charges 170 (!) euro, rather hard. The pillows are not feather but foam. For a long person the bed is rather short. No shaving mirror, no body lotion, small things but it shows that this is not a professionally run hotel, rather a B&B as many have observed already. The walls are paper thin so hopefully no noisy guests above or next to you. Like I said in an earlier review for the Maison Moschino in Milan, running a hotel is an art. Its more than just lovely design rooms, its sleeping quality, service, small things that make a stay comfortable.

All in all: I guess if you are on a romantic trip and not into details too much and enjoy the lovely design of the room, the fact that you are in the middle of the Champagne, then you might fully enjoy this B&B. If you are a seasoned traveler, or on business, you might want to look for a hotel that is run like a business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A little off the beaten track but well worth finding. The imposing wrought iron gates and facade of the building suggest the residence of a previous wealthy resident. Now a hotel, it preserves its Gallic charm with high ceilings, exposed timbers and selected art works. Our room on the second floor was a bit of a climb with heavy suitcases but a small price to pay for a charming room with excellent shower room. The building was suffused with the smell of warm croissants the following morning and the breakfast proved to be delicious. Well worth the visit. There are excellent parking facilities in front of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had this hotel booked for us as part of a visit to a Champagne House just outside Epernay. It is amazing! It’s not far away from the Avenue de Champagne – you walk past the back of the huge Moet and Chandon building to get to the town centre. Apparently it once belonged to Monsieur Chandon. OK, it’s not cheap – we paid 153 Euro a night plus 18 Euros for breakfast. But for one night in a famous Champagne town, well it’s a place worth splashing out on.

It’s the décor that greets you at every turn which is the truly amazing part. The entrance hall, the lounge, breakfast room, the stairs, the landings, not to mention the bedrooms, are full of beautiful artistic pieces. Our box of tissues was graced by a beautiful inlayed wood cover. We discovered that every object, had been carefully chosen by Mrs Woda, who is more the host than hotelier.

Breakfast included everything you’d expect and more. Eggs were cooked to order by who we guess is Mrs Woda’s daughter. There are only seven rooms and that March night, our party of four were the only ones in residence. But if you want a hotel to remember for a night or two as part of a luxury break in one of the homes of the major champagne producers, this is it!

Room Tip: Each of the 7 rooms has a different character and are split between standard and superior. Ask to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeejayBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.6 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
2.5 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#11 of 14 in Epernay
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
170 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#9 of 14 in Epernay
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Raymi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Raymi

Property: Le Clos Raymi
Address: 3 rue Joseph de Venoge, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos Raymi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Clos Raymi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Epernay
Le Clos Raymi Épernay
Le Clos Raymi Hotel Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing