We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Champagne
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location is superb, with sweeping views of the vineyards, and most rooms have good views.
For a Relaix & Chateaux establishment however there are several things to note. For one thing there is no pool, sauna, or any kind of wellness facility. The reception is fine, offering a coupe de champagne upon arrival, and a bottle of water upon departure. The staff there is very friendly. Grounds are well kept although they are small. The restaurant is quite expensive, but looks chique, with fairly good service (cheese selection was outstanding). The food was good. We enjoyed the champagne breakfast even more, as it is more relaxed and the breakfast buffet food is fine (we did not order anything in addition, not even sure if that is possible). Also, it's recommended to use the very nice salon and library, either for an aperitif before or a digestif after the dinner. Very extensive champagne list as can be expected. There is also a tea time, but we found out by chance - communication (e.g. service directory) about the services is very limited and needs to be improved. And finally, the rooms. We stayed several nights, and requested a Chambre de Luxe - there was one available for only one night, the other was spent in a standard room. There is a real difference. The first category fits well in the Relaix&Chateaux picture. There was no terrace, but a very nice separate salon with a great view on the vineyards. Very large and very functional 'retro-look' bathroom, with separate tub and large walk-in shower. Large bed with canopy, large room, decorated in the style of the establishment. In-room dining possibilities are limited, and more surprising, no specific champagne list (so go to Hautvillers or any other place around there, buy a bottle, order a bucket of ice in the room and enjoy the moment). The standard room is smaller, and, in our case (room 15), too small for a couple, that is, at this level. These rooms are in an annex, so when it rains you do need an umbrella. Decoration was original but not really in line with the rest. No bathtub in a small bathroom (only one sink) - at that point I really missed the Deluxe room. We saw another standard room (21), which was completely different, a bit 'cold' in terms of look, but considerably larger, with a much bigger bathroom (with tub !), and a huge terrace. A bit strange to see such big variations in the same category. So, as is often the case, getting the 'right' room is key. Overall we did however really enjoy our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: Getting the right room in this place is critical. Go for the chambres de luxe, and make sure you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nitti-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    60
    26
    28
    7
See reviews for
18
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We staid at the 'Royal Champagne' for 1 night only and were very impressed. The views are stunning, the restaurant amazing, beautiful rooms (I loved the decor but I can see it might be not everyone's taste). It doesn't come cheap but lives up to expectations and standards are indeed very high. I would totally recommend dining there as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spostatialondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Even if you lived in France let alone as an overseas visitor - this is a magnificent weekend venue, a fabulous getaway. The hotel has amazing views, we had a gorgeous suite, (reputed that the Queen Mother of England had stayed there in the 1990's) it may have been a little dated, but you still had to appreciate it as beautiful. Lovely bathrooms and a very nicely appointed bed room area. Also very nice decorative points, the paintings, the ornaments, very rich and just lovely touches in the room and throughout the hotel. There was also just the additional bits and pieces that came with the stay, when we booked out they gave us a little bag with water and chocolates, apples etc.for your journey for the day. Fabulous value add.
The restaurant was very special, sometimes as a traveller from overseas, your best clothes are just not up to the level of the locals, but they are obviously used to tourists from all over the world, the service was excellent, the food was excellent, we had a beautiful bottle of red and I had a glass of local champagne. Yes it was fairly expensive, but not outrageously so, and for all of the beautiful decor, the silver service and the dinnerware etc. a very enjoyable experience. A highight of our overseas trip. Just a tip, you need a car in Champage unless you are on a good tour.

Room Tip: Most would have a view over the valley with the vineyards and villages below. But be sure to get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Magnificent place ! We came the first week of May and we were lucky to have a beautiful weather. The hotel is located on the top of a hill and guarantees a spectacular view of the vineyards. Our room had a large window that allowed us to enjoy the view but there were other rooms with a terrasse, and if the weather is favorable I would suggest to pay the extra cost to benefit from the terrasse.

We ordered the honey moon package and could enjoy a wonderful diner. Of course it's all about champagne and wine and we were absolutely pleased with the choices.

We also ordered the breakfast in bed which was gorgeous.

All in all we had a great experience. We loved the style, the food and the location of this place.

We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We visited for a one night stay, we were met at reception, offered a glass of Champagne and shown to our room. Room 3 was large, spacious, furnished with a period set of furnishings and fittings, and with a double window magnificent panoramic view of the valley. The bed was large and extremely comfortable, the bathroom well appointed and clean, and ample wardrobe space. The hotel staff were without exception superb, friendly and professional, welcoming on arrival and courteous whenever we met them. On departure we were given the traditional bag containing water and sweets for the journey. However, the only meal we had was breakfast, which was a real let down. There was a small cold buffet consisting of fruit, a cheese table, baguettes and bread and cereals. But no hot food. We were told by a fellow guest that apparently the cook hadn't turned up for work that morning so nothing else was available. Some guests had asked for scrambled egg which the solitary waitress was going to try to make, but after 30 minutes nothing had arrived. This is unbelievable for a high quality and highly priced hotel and I still can't believe it was actually true. We weren't informed of this ourselves, but nor were we offered any hot food, so I assume it was the case. It's a real shame that our experience of a lovely hotel in a beautiful location finished with such a poor restaurant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this as an opener to our honeymoon after a couple of nights in Paris and were absolutely delighted with it.

I had been to Champagne before but this hotel just took it to another level. An incredible building with beautiful history breathing from the walls.

We were very warmly welcomed from the first moment (with a glass of Champagne) and it continued through our stay.

The rooms were lovely, very warm and comfortable with an incredible view over some of the most prestigious vineyards in the area. Turn down while we were at dinner was a nice touch, as we're the sweets.

Restaurant is very romantic and although a little expensive, the food, service and view well and truly justify it.

Upon checkout, we were even given a bag with two bottles of water and some lollies for energy. Attention to detail was very much appreciated.

We will definitely stay here again if we get a chance to come back to Champagne.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent one night at the Royal Champagne in early May while in transit from Bourgogne to Alsace (yes, it's out of the way). We had originally booked our stay because we were going from
Bourgogne to Charles DeGaulle to drop off a family member who was scheduled to return home before we did. For medical reasons, the family member did not make the trip and we attempted to cancel the reservation as soon as we learned of the change in plans. This was exactly 14 days before our arrival. The hotel refused to honor the cancellation request, citing their 15 day cancelation policy. While technically-contractually correct, this is not the type of client friendly service we would have expected from a Relais & Châteaux property. So, we zig-zagged our way to Alsace, and spent one night at the Royal Champagne.

The hotel itself is also a bit odd, with a very 60's modern glass enclosed walkway linking the lobby and restaurant area to the more traditionally styled rooms. Our room was spacious and well appointed, so no complaints there. The restaurant and bar area - accessible only by walking outside -- seemed a little worn out, stuffy, and, curiously, had a very, very limited offering of Champagnes by the glass. After one glass, and indifferent service, we opted to leave and drove into Epernay and found a lovely, friendly small restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
3.5 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
15.5 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Property: Royal Champagne
Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Champagne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing