We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, ok price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Champenoise
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation, ok price”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here as a stopover on route to the Alps, and used to explore Epernay. The rooms are relatively basic, with double and bunk bed in the one room. Bathroom was fairly ordinary and shower did not point straight, so much went on the floor! The hotel staff are friendly enough, although we really didn't need to use them much. Didn't try the hotel restaurant. The parkling is fine and the hotel is easy enough to get to, and use as a base to explore the Champagne region. For the price, it was fair but not above average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03Toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    68
    57
    22
    21
See reviews for
24
88
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms were very good, clean and cosy. One dinner at night was NOT GOOD attall. Looked liek we were in a different hotel. Overcooked meatstew, horrible sauce and not friendly at the tables. Well, only one bad memory. I will go back to sleep, not to eat!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konijntje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A group of us stayed here as part of a hiking weekend. Two members of the group scouted the hotel earlier in the year, stayed there, and ate there.

When we checked in, they put us in rooms across the street--which were not what our recon team had scouted.

That said, the rooms themselves were ok. Fine for the money. Weird, old bathroom. But plenty of extra pillows (we were two in what was really a triple room). We were on the street side, however, and the noise, especially early on Saturday morning (deliveries, banging doors, motorcycles) was unpleasant. The red, neon TABAK sign flashed in my eyes all night. The second night we sacrificed fresh air and kept the windows closed, and it was much quieter. Our colleagues on the back side had no such misfortunes.

The restaurant was a pleasant experience. We pre-ordered when we booked, so dinner was nice. The service was fine.

Breakfast was disappointing . . . there was one of those machines for boiling an egg, but it wasn't turned on, so I skipped that. The scrambled eggs looked completely uncooked. The pastries were uninspired. That said, one of the waitresses came around and refilled our coffee cups--something I have NEVER seen outside the US.

The hotel prepared sandwiches for us to take on our hikes. They were WONDERFUL! We each got two sandwiches (one brie and one ham), chips, and a piece of fruit for 8EUR, and the sandwiches were BIG and inspired.

Also, the hotel recommended and booked a champagne tasting at the nearby Le Comte et Fils, and this was also nice.

I wouldn't take my husband there for a romantic weekend, but for our purposes, it was decent value for the money. Every downside had an upside.

Your mileage may vary.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheExpatresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Used this hotel to break up a long drive home from the Alsace and booked it via a (French) mobile app which gave it fairly reasonable reviews, as does Booking.com, 7.4/10.

Check in was friendly and efficient, we were in our room within 5mins of parking up. The parking is free and plentiful with CCTV cameras monitoring most of the car park.

Room was basic with a small modular toilet/shower in the corner; not ideal but hey ho, we were only paying €42 so no complaints. Bed was comfy enough but on the whole the room was a bit "tired" as were most of the public areas.

The bar attached to the hotel was cheap and cheerful, the staff pleasant and the beer cold.

We ate in the restaurant that night, as its the only place to eat without driving we didnt really have much choice. The food was ok - nothing startling but pleasant enough. Good wine list which as you'd expect, was heavy on the bubbles but had a good selection from other regions. Prices weren't too bad, set menus from about €15pp and a decent bottle of wine for even less. We spent a bit more and while not being overwhelmed by the food, didn't find much to complain about. Service was fine, the waiting staff looked to be mostly youngsters, possibly students, and they appeared to cope with a full dining room without any visible issues.

The bar closed about 10.30/11.00pm, this was mid week so it may stay open later at weekends.

Breakfast was included in our rate so no complaints on price. The bread and croissants were not the best I've had but there was plenty of crispy bacon and scrambled eggs to make up for it.

Check out was as painless and quick as check in.

Would I use this hotel again? Maybe. Having read other comments it looks like weekends are a bit noisy so probably only mid week if I was looking for a stop off on the way to somewhere else, certainly not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The hotel was a good startingpoint for tours in the Champagne area. The room was big and spacious overlooking some vineyards. It was not newly renovated but OK.

The hotel had a playground that was free of charge so the kids really loved this hotel!

The restaurant had lots of different champagnes on the menu and the food was ok (not superb). The breakfast buffet was big and varied with baguettes, croissants, egg and bacon, coffe, tea and more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Ture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuka Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel thinking that it might be a quiet place in a small French village and a base for our exploration of the Champagne region. We were sadly disappointed by what we experienced. The room was dated but very clean and everything we needed was in place. The room was however very poorly ventilated and because it was in the roof of the building remained quiet hot throughout our stay. There was a fan on the wall which made things a little more bearable but it remained a hot and stuffy room. The bathroom was a sort of plastic insert in the room with a toilet, basin and a tiny shower. Our great disappointment was that on each night of the two days we stayed in the hotel there was a noisy function, which proceeded directly under our room. On the first night the function ended at 3.15 am and on the second at 11.00 pm. We had very disturbed sleep on both nights. The singing and music was loud and after the functions had ended the people stood in the carpark outside our window and talked loudly and continued the general celebrations. There were also a set of children’s electronic ride on toys outside the window, complete with sound effects (train sounds and horns) and children used these continually all day and late into the night. They made train and whistle noises for most of the time we were there. The noise was so bad that you had to decide if you wanted the window open and thus ventilation or if you needed to close the window to help block out the noise – this resulted in a hot, stuffy room.

The restaurant was OK but not extraordinary. The staff were friendly but as the band was setting up for one of the functions in the next room dinner was punctuated by practice sessions and sound checks which were very loud.

On our first day we were informed that there was no restaurant on the second night and as this was the only restaurant in the village we decided to make alternative arrangements by buying some food while we were in a larger nearby city. As we were in the Champagne region we decided to buy some local champagne to drink that night. On returning to the hotel and as there was no refrigerator in the room (not unusual in France) we asked the manager for a bucket of ice to cool the Champagne. It was as if we had asked for the impossible and we were told that the hotel sells champagne and so they usually don’t supply ice for champagne bought elsewhere. We reminded the owner that she had told us earlier there was no restaurant that evening. Reluctantly she provided the ice bucket. We were also charged for breakfast that we had not attended. We actually got to the stage where we would not ask the manager for anything as the reception was so passively aggressive!

The staff were very friendly apart from the woman who managed the hotel and the rooms were clean however this hotel was way below the standard you would expect in terms of peace and quiet and in terms of supplying basic needs and simple requests. If you are wanting a nice place to stay in the Epernay area do not stay here. It was the worse two nights of our whole 5 week tour.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel or not in the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epernay hotels

London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I must admit it had never occurred to me to review this place, as it seemed too far off the beaten track. However I've since seen a few reviews and must this this place a serious health warning.

To set the context, we first visited the Auberge back in 1999 hacing been recommended the "Logis de France" association by a friend. Back in 1999 it was a nice place to stay. A good welcome from M and Mme Arthezoul; good regional cooking and a sensibly priced wine list.

We returned several times and then due to traveling further afield visited again in 2005. Once more the rooms were comfortable if basic, the food more than adequate and the wine superb.

We retired to bed on a warm Saturday night and almost immediately disaster - or should I say the band - struck.

Yes - the restaurant annexe had turned into a wedding venue and the music got louder and louder finally subsiding at about 2am leaving us without sleep and in dire danger of veering off the motorway on our longish journey to our next destination.

We tried to complain but it seemed the proprietors had left the premises. The next morning I complained and was offered a coffee as compensation!

Anyway, we never learn. We assumed it was a one off and returned last year.

Guess what! Not only had the rooms deteriorated (unclean, dank smelling) but we were treated to almost a line by line repeat performance!

Once more, decent food, sensibly priced wine list, a quick brandy and off to bed AND WHAT A RACKET!

Yes - within minutes of drifting off to sleep the band struck up and kept as awake until 3.30 am.

Again I complained and said I would not pay a cent of the bill. After some negotiation she agreed to waive the room charge and I settled for the food and drink and again went on my weary way.

I cannot recommend this place. It's gone to the dogs.

Mme Arthezoul needs to decide if she is running a hotel, a village hall or a disco - but NOT ALL THREE.

This would be great if you were on a stag do and wanted to drink champagne and crash a wedding, but as a place to stay, it simply doesn't work.

Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WineSnobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Epernay hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Epernay
Comfort Suites Epernay
#9 of 14 in Epernay
349 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Epernay
Premiere Classe Epernay
#4 of 14 in Epernay
329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Magellan
Hotel Le Magellan
#12 of 14 in Epernay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Epernay
Kyriad Epernay
#8 of 14 in Epernay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Champenoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Champenoise

Property: Auberge Champenoise
Address: 68 Rue des Prieures | village de Moussy, 51530, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Champenoise 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Champenoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Champenoise Épernay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing