We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sensational”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gite-BA3

Main Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Living room
Living room
Bathroom
View front of the house
View front of the house
View front of the house
View front of the house
View backside balcony
View backside balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Epernay, Marne, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
heydzinr
Bolivia,North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever in my 40 years of traveling”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

They left us waiting on the street in hot sun for almost 2 hours because they forgot about us. Then 57 steps later we entered the tiny garrett - no soap, no towels, teeny fridge, no icecubes, The expected us to furnish our own towels. No barbecue on patio as promised. Air conditioner that wasn't hooked up. BUT, good location if you could live through the tiny, curving wood steps down to the front door. Also had to pay for on the street parking. Bad experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: everything else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Hi D.,

I'm sorry if you had been disappoint by certain things here. First of all I would like to correct a few things you said on your comment above. We did not leave you waiting in the sun for 2 hours as we arrived 35 minutes after the time agreed for check-in, you waited inside the agency at the ground floor of the apartment until our arrival. I explained to you the reason of the delay and apologized many times and helped you carry your luggage to the apartment.

Now regarding the soap towels and others you mentioned: It is specified on the advertisement that 'Essentials are NOT included', it is also said that you can rent towel sets by simply booking them prior check-in, you've been provided with 2 full towel sets for free the same evening after the check-in for FREE as another mark of apology for arriving late before.

Air-conditioner isn't even advertised yet on the Ad of the rental since we were still installing it and was going to be a new feature for later. The Aircon is placed on the wall but the installation isn't completed yet as the engine for the evacuation motor hasn't arrived yet is being delivered soon, but I have explained this to you too and said it was fine since fans are available in every room of the apartment.

BBQ is only available on demand as well, we remove it from the balcony to prevent it being damaged by weather and prevent accidents as it has an electronic panel on the front for settings.

Last thing, regarding the stairs, this is expect as the apartment is located in the heart of the city in an historical site, meaning most buildings are 60+ years old and aren't fitted for elevators or large staircases, which you may have noticed during your visit of our town and also by the old classic wood on the ramps of our building that were maintained in good condition and are 50+ years old.


Once again I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and invite you to read more carefully Ads descriptions and features to avoid being disappointed again by certain details again in the future, sorry if it may have been unclear to you when you read ours.


Kindest Regards,

S.C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey F
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very cosy, very well apointed unit.
Everything you need and more to make the stay comfortable is available.

One of the best things is the location! You wont get a better position in Epernay as you are 150 metres away from everything, including the beautiful avenue de Champagne.

If you book here you will, like us, make plans to come back again.

Just brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms were fantastic
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the amazing review, we'd be honoured to welcome you in our rental next time you visit Epernay, my mom says she'll make sure there is a bottle of champagne with flowers waiting for you on the table next time you visit, haha!

Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and everything was the way you wanted it.

Looking forward to see you again Jeff!

Regards,
Sof.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian C
Freshwater, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable well equipped fabulous location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had four nights here. The location is great, no road noise, comfy beds and well equipped but squeezy kitchen.
Terrace with view to the church and the occasional cat prowling the roof tops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central to Champagne!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Gite BA, the apartment was great, location very close to train station & even closer to champagne ave, the owners are so lovely and have a pizza place around the corner. Would definitely stay again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizBiz100...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, really good appartment.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We recently stayed here and found the appartment really spacious and had everything we needed. The location a really really good, you can walk to all the main areas. Check in and check out were really easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you taking the time to post your review on the tripadvisor website.

We do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions so that we can hopefully become your rental of choice when you visit Epernay.

Sincerely yours,

Sonia C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManFromCa...
North Weald, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid. Very Bad Service 0/5”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had been in email conversation the week leading up to our stay, regarding arrival time and apartment address. Upon arrival we were shown around the room prior to parking and collecting our luggage. This was a bit strange as the apartment was not the one we had booked on the holiday lettings web site, but we went with it. After receiving the keys we returned with our luggage, ready to start our holiday.

The landlord stopped us at the door, during which he had a very lengthy conversation with his partner resulting in them refusing us entry as they believed we had turned up a day early. Once we had proved we were correct by issuing them with our booking email, it was then discovered that the room we had been shown around was not the one we had booked, and our apartment was two floors higher. Again, a lengthy conversation between the landlord and landlady, none of which we understood, finished by informing us that our room upstairs is occupied tonight, and alternative accommodation would be found. By alternative we expected (considering the inconvenience of moving during our holiday and unpacking twice) the same standard, if not better. We were then led to a below standard two star hotel, which was cramped to say the least. I don’t recall an apology during any of this.

We finally got to check in at the apartment we had booked on the 19thApril, which caused us a lot of disruption on the Saturday – having had to stop short or tour of the Champagne region to come back to Epernay to check in early afternoon, only to find no towels had been issued. On the website it state ‘linen provided’ – correct me if I’m wrong, but my understanding of linen provided means we receive bedding and towels?? After calling the landlady, we were offered a set, which comes with a fee of €5. Considering the major disruption we had been through during our break so far, we felt this fee could have been waived. During check out, we had to ask for difference in cost between their apartment and the cost of the two star hotel. They handed over €90 in cash, but it would have been appreciated if this was offered, instead it was something we had to beg for. We asked if we could also have our damage deposit, but the landlady was not aware of how to do this in cash, and had to speak to her husband who was not there.

Once we had returned to England, I confirmed with the owner that it was left satisfactory condition, and if so, could our deposit be returned. After 4 weeks of trying to get a method from the landlady to get our damage deposit back via a variety of different methods (Kwixo – which I could not sign up to as not a French resident, IBAN which she would not use as this incurred bank costs at her end and also had issues with her bank is doing) we finally received this via paypal – and the landlady took out the €3.75 transaction fee from OUR DAMAGE DEPOSIT. I requested this shortfall be made up by the owner, but she emailed back stating “we don’t take Paypal charges”.

The apartment was lovely, great location for Epernay, BUT the double booking causing us to be put up in a below par 2 star hotel for the first night, the disruption caused to our weekend by having to check-in early afternoon the second day, the fact we had to practically beg for the difference in our accommodation from the landlady, the fact we had to pay 5 euro for towels, the fact that we have had no end of problems trying to extract our damage deposit have all accumulated to leave a very sour taste of our weekend in Epernay.

We would advise against using this apartment until the booking system and damage deposit payments have been rectified by the owners so anyone else staying in this apartment don’t have the same problem we did – which in effect ruined our trip to Epernay. What should have been a lovely weekend away was in fact quite the opposite.

0/5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Dear Guest,

I hope this finds you well.
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our property and thus prove that we exist. I am sorry that after you left our property happy and finally pretty satisfied by your stay in Epernay, things end up sounding the opposite and lacking many things.
It clearly seems that you forgot to mention that we firstly thoroughly apologized (obvious thing to do in first place in such a situation), explained and cleared the situation (two bookings with the same first name on two different websites ended up causing this disruption), with you in good terms and found a solution that you said suited and were happy. Eventhough you couldn't have the apartment the first night as planned because of a miscalculation, we paid you for that one night a 3 star hotel (I correct) with breakfast included for two people and in the same day we offered you a dinner at our cost for two in a nice restaurant for you and your wife which you didn't end up coming to and I can not help this.
That said, thanks for admitting that our gite has way higher standards than a French 3 star hotel, it clearly states that we got high standards.
Other compensation apart from the hotel is that we gave you a refund of one night on the total cost of your stay (a two nights stay) to complete with the compensation and show how sorry we were about this minor disruption. Which I doubt most hosts would do in addition to the rest in such a situation that can happen, knowing we also offered you to stay one more night in our property for free if you wish which you said wasn't necessary since you had other plans and had other commitments.
I think this is a quite fair compensation for such a mistake.

Last but not least, I am sorry to see that the fact you don't know well enough about how PayPal works as a PayPal account owner: that the charges of the transfer are to be beared by the receiver and not sender. If this fee of 3,75 € was so unbearable for you, you could have contacted PayPal -like. We advized you afterwards- and tell their assistance about it, since they are the ones who took this extra fee, not us.

I guess the 3,75 € was the actual reason making you change your mind about our property and your stay in Epernay, but not the minor disruption that happened since we left two happy and pleased guests.

I hope this clarifies the situation and completes and thus the review you posted, enough.

Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Epernay hotels

tlaine201...
Chateau-Gontier, France
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Merci Mr. Laine, nous sommes ravis d'avoir pu vous recevoir dans notre Gîte et espérons que vous avez passer un agréable moment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing