We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5*?”
Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa Eugene
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5*?”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A small Hotel with basic facilities and a swimming pool. Pretty expensive for what it is, priced upwards because of its proximity to the Champagne houses but not truly at that level. Stayed here on the last night of a 17 night summer holiday in France with my family. Had two rooms as I have four daughters. The rooms were ok, but nothing special, the building itself however was very handsome and there is a charming bar as part of the Hotel. Didn't feel particularly welcome from the outset, I guess it's not really a Hotel for children but then if you're paying €750 for one night you should be made to feel welcome whether they want you there or not. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and were provided with two, the first was allegedly fully booked (I suspect it is more to do with having a party of six, including four children not something the French are very keen on) so we took the second restaurant suggested which was Le Theatre. I have to say this is one of the worst restaurants I have ever eaten in (separately reviewed) and I was very surprised that a 5* Hotel would put forward such an awful restaurant to guests that are clearly not going to enjoy 'food' at that level. Now I accept that a restaurant suggestion from a Hotel is only that even though it should surely be in keeping with the level of the Hotel. However the most galling part was at point of checking out I raised this point only to be met with a blank wall of 'chacun a son gout Monsieur' a curled lip and a statement that I should have booked the Hotel direct rather than through Booking.com as it would have been cheaper. French customer service at it's very best

Room Tip: One without children in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RDG1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    159
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
58
307
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

what better place to spend the night, having sampled the champagnes and genial hospitality at a nearby vineyard.

This elegant hotel stands out and from the moment you draw up in your car, stunning and set in immaculate landscaped gardens. The friendly staff are both helpful and unobtrusive. Our room had everything you would need, comfortable beds, and the bathroom was sumptous, with robes, towels and toiletries befitting of a 5 star establishment.
We opted for breakfast, which was enjoyed in the orangery with an extensive choice of food, which set us up for the drive back to Calais.
I definitely recommend and very much hope to return next summer, where I can maybe linger and enjoy the terrace and pool.

Room Tip: As we required single beds, our superior room was on the grand floor with access to a private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved the Villa Eugene. It's a beautiful hotel, right on the Avenue de Champagne and close to many fabulous champagne houses.
We had a lovely room with a balcony. We took advantage of this and the good weather by buying some champagne, bread & cheese in town and having a basic but lovely dinner on our balcony one evening.
The weather was wonderful so we were also able to use the pool.
The staff work so hard and are an absolute pleasure.
Two very minor comments about the hotel; on occasion they were a little understaffed - this is no slight on the team that were there at all because they were all running around doing their absolute best! It is a little bit remote and there are no shops or cafes particularly close by. No issue as we had a car, but a bit of nuisance after a few glasses!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in September while spending a long weekend in Champagne. Expensive but enjoyable visit. Tidy, spacious room with great bed. Excellent breakfast and highly professional service.

Good location, but not great location somewhat outside of the city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janne_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My sister and I shared a room for a couple of nights and we loved it. We were lucky to score a large room at the back of the building, with a balcony/patio the size of a tennis court, overlooking the swimming pool and gardens.
The accommodation was luxurious – claw-foot bath, generous shower, antiques all over the place – and the staff were relaxed, helpful and welcoming (none of the stuffiness I'd have expected from such an up-market hotel). The location worked out to be brilliant: tucked away at the far end of the Avenue de Champagne. Starting at the town centre, we could stroll toward the hotel, stopping to sip and sample along the way (before sitting out on the 'tennis court' with a bottle of bubbles, watching bunnies playing in the garden).
This isn't really a place for people travelling on a tight budget but if you're only staying a night or two, I reckon it's a worthwhile indulgence.

Room Tip: When I return, I'll be asking for room #24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in September right before harvest. Hotel is nice but our room was tiny! Could barely open 1 suitcase. We were advised upon check out that we had the smallest room in the place. The location is great. 15 min walk or 10 euro cab to 'downtown'. Staff was friendly. The bar was a ghost town, never saw anyone there. We had a bottle of champagne brought to our room and a small tray of snacks. Breakfast was good but quite pricey. Free parking. Overall a nice place!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Getaway_Seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel was really very good though we were only able to stay one night. The staff were really helpful and did everything they could make us welcome. Hotel was easily found and in a good position to walk into Epernay centre.

Room Tip: In the hotel rather than the garden rooms on the ground floor I would suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
527 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Property: La Villa Eugene
Address: 82 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing