We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Villa Eugene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Eugene
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. I came for my 40th birthday. It's at the end of the avenue du champagne. It's a 20 minute walk to the centre. But the walk is nice as it's past all the nice champagne houses. The avenue is amazing lovely brickwork, very posh.
The hotel is excellent.
The rooms are lovely.
Great service

Room Tip: I only had a superior room and it was excellent. They was 5 types and I just had the 2nd one up. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    154
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
58
292
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at La Villa Eugene for 3 nights and had a room on the ground floor facing the street - not the best of positions - but with a small private terrace which we enjoyed. The hotel is quite lovely - however there are a few drawbacks. In our opinion the majority of the staff is a bit too correct/formal (however Caroline at the reception and the 2 ladies in the breakfast room were extremely friendly and helpful). We would have liked a more personal approach. It is clearly a hotel for the non-French tourists and it lacks a bit of French charm unfortunately.
The hotel has 15 rooms and only 8 proper sun beds in the pool area which proved to be a huge challenge while we stayed at the hotel. On arrival we found that one of the spotlights in the bathroom wasn't working - we told the reception more than once but when we left it still hadn't been fixed?
The breakfast was ok but far too expensive for what it was. It is called an American breakfast we never found out why. There were supposed to be scrambled eggs/omelet on the buffet, all 3 mornings the eggs arrived after we had finished.
We had a pleasant stay in Epernay and may return to La Villa Eugene who knows.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Villa Eugene on our way back to London from South of France. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a fine mix of classic and modern. The rooms are spacious with a large windows allowing sun to fill the room. I am also hesitant to share this hotel with others because it is rare find but I think it would be a shame to keep it from other travelers. This is the first time I have been so positively surprised with a new hotel in the longest time. Go enjoy Villa Eugene in picturesque Epernay. Words are not enough to describe the place, you have to experience it!!

Room Tip: Room 21 and 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel to have easy access to the start of stage 7 of the Tour de France. The hotel was quite lovely. Our superior room was large and beautifully decorated. We had a large soaking tub, although luxurious, unfortunately it housed the shower.....it was difficult to use and we managed to soak the bathroom each time! My teenage children shared a double room on the top floor which was perfect for them. Overall the experience was great, we had breakfast one morning which was fabulous. The walk to town was very do-able but a bit much to get to dinner at night.

Room Tip: wifi not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 860lynned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
172 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We selected this hotel with a desire to be walking distance to Epernay to see the start of the tour de france stage. It was walking distance, but not a short walk. We determined it was farther than we wanted to walk each night for dinner. There is no restaurant in the hotel, just breakfast.

It was in fine, but not great. We would not recommend it.

The room was spacious but like many hotels, housekeeping is lacking. When we arrived I found bottle caps on the floor from previous guest. The second day, housekeeping was invasive and actually MOVED my things and placed them in a zippered case (i.e. they opened my belongings and moved things into them). This was a huge invasion of privacy. All management could say was that the person was young and new. So where was the supervision? Nothing was taken, but it was very disconcerting that my things were moved to new places that were previously zipped shut!

The bathroom had a very small step down into it.. and we were continually tripping on it. We moved a small carpet over it to prevent this and they continually took the carpet away.

Breakfast was lovely. The grounds are nice. The pool looks good (we didn't try it). The front desk staff was nice. But the bottom line is that we have stayed in two other hotels in this area on prior visits -- both were relais and chateau properties - and both were much better for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonabiker
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a beautiful, spacious room in this classic hotel. We had a soaking tub and fireplace in the modern bathroom! The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the town center in Epernay, along the historic Avenue de Champagne. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barcelonabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room (22) facing the road and it was a stunning room. A bathroom larger than many London hotel rooms with a walk in shower and freestanding bath. The room itself was furnished immaculately and it had the feel of staying in someone's own house. Parking on site is secure and free.

The situation is great for walking around to all the best Champagne houses and into town for something to eat. The breakfast is normal continental served in a wonderful Orangery but personally I would forgo this and eat in town.

Service is with a smile and with a desire to help - sometimes forgotten in France! A great couple of days here and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoChutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
438 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
646 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#7 of 14 in Epernay
326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Epernay Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Eugene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Eugene

Property: La Villa Eugene
Address: 82 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Eugene 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Villa Eugene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Eugene Hotel Epernay
La Hotel Épernay
La Hotel Eugene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing