We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too small” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La cave a Champagne

La cave a Champagne
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Epernay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$88
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too small”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This little room doesn't give you very much appetite for the quite common menu... We didn't appreciate. Fortunatly we were only there as lovers without children who couldn't have moved!!! I wouldn't recommand

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    295
    76
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having been rebuffed the first time we tried to have a meal without booking, we were a little anxious that we might be turned down a second time.. Had we failed the inspection? Were we too old, too unfashionable or just plain unlucky? No problems second time around as we arrived just after it opened. We were shown to the 'back room' which was deserted, but where most of the tables appeared to be reserved. We were served very promptly, and sure enough, those guests who had booked, drifted in at 8pm. Previous reviewers have described how it is small with tightly packed tables, and the food is excellent. It is terrific value. A hint...if you haven't booked, and that is the nature of the game when you at visiting an area and cannot reliably pin yourself down to a time..arrive just at opening time, and there should be a table!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allybally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch in Epernay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Went with a group of 8, out from Paris for a day of champagne tasting. They were able to accommodate us, even without a reservation. Service were excellent and the food spectacular. We all got the 3-course prix-fee option and the only disappointment at the table was a tart tatin that was a little dry. Every other dish won raves from our foodie group. I would definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank JPSsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guyancourt, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Pearl in a Ordinary Shell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Don't let first impressions keep you from dining in this restaurant. It is on a small street leading from the train station to the center of town where Moet & Chandon is located. It does not look like much from the outside but inside is a different story.

It is a typical little French restaurant with small, close together tables with an upholstered bench running along the wall. Each table is beautifully presented with a tablecloth, cutlery, china and glassware. Each napkin is expertly folded as testimony of the owner's attention to detail.

The menu is a surprise that goes beyond my simple words. Not only is the food excellent but choices in the menus are exceptional. You will definitely find something that you like. Moreover, the price! I do not know which is better: price or food. It is less half of what you would expect to pay in Paris for the same excellent quality of cuisine.

I just had lunch today in this restaurant and every time that I am in Epernay, I try to arrange my schedule so that I can eat at La Cave à Champagne.

I have probably eaten there five or six times over the past four years. I have never been disappointed.

If you are a tourist visiting Paris and you are tempted to take the train to Epernay, do it. Lunch in this restaurant is better than a visit to Moet & Chandon. In fact, it is as good, if not better, than any lunch you will find in Paris.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you want a big flashy restaurant...don't go here. In fact...dont go to the Champagne region at all. this place is all about small restaurant, lots of atmosphere and excellent food.
Also went on the advice of Tripadvisor and not disappointed at all. EUR 20 for a 3 course meal...its insane. Wine list is decent - don't expect any local wines, the waiter was so honest he said they are all bad...so we went with a Chateauneuf du Pape wine. As always...excellent and only EUR 20 per bottle.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cptjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La cave a Champagne also viewed

 

Been to La cave a Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing