We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a great hotel. Very central and close to the train station, with only a short walk to the cathedral and main streets.

David and Veronique were lovely, and were happy to suggest places to eat on the evening (which were amazing!!)

The room was a good size and clean, so was ideal. There was also wifi.

Would recommend this hotel. Thank you David and Veronique for a lovely stay!

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

I chose this hotel based on the reviews it had on TA plus the good prices and great location. It was exactly what I hoped for and the staff were very friendly! Rooms are typical of many French hotels, meaning they are small and not brand spanking new (you are warned Marriott, Hyatt, Holiday Inn lovers), but of course they have charm and they were clean. Definitely the place to stay in Reims, especially if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more recently decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Having stayed here in November with my son, I decided to come back in May with a friend. The Hotel, whilst fairly basic, is very clean with an ideal location. The owner was very kind to us, giving us recommendations for restaurants (which included a free drink!). You can leave your car overnight in a secure garage.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sizzling60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

They were doing renovations that started at 8am every morning banging on both walls. They took our wine glasses and wine as we were not allowed to drink or have any food in the room?? And they were very aggressive. Good location but not worth the hassle of the staff and the hideous rooms with hair in the bed!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydney_Aust100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

A small, friendly hotel in a peaceful area of the city, yet within easy walking distance of the main attractions, bars and restaurants. We’ve travelled extensively in reasonably-priced accommodation in France and this is one of our favourite finds so far.

It’s an easy 10-minute walk to the cathedral and city centre. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants nearer to the hotel, including some set around a small, tree-lined square. Hanging out there will make you feel like a local of Reims in no time!

Our room was large and airy and decorated in a bright, modern style. The finishing touch was a huge clock on the wall. We were on the ground floor at the front of the hotel but there was no noise from the cobbled street outside.

Free WIFI is available – you just need to get a code from reception - and on-street parking is pretty easy nearby.

The owners David and Veronique were incredibly welcoming and friendly. They recommended several restaurants which they assured us were good value and not touristy. Though I was cynical, this turned out to be absolutely true. The restaurant we ate in on the first night, Cote Cuisine, was excellent, with a great atmosphere and fantastic food. Be sure to book any of these restaurants though as we failed to get into our chosen place on the Saturday night. As it turned out, it wasn’t a problem as we got a table at another equally great restaurant a couple of streets away.

All in all, a fantastic experience. We'd definitely go back..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucytravels07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel is an excellent choice if staying in Reims or visiting the wider Champagne Region.

Its location is ideal for the town centre and parking (always a problem in city hotels) is available in a secure garage if required for a small fee.

We received a cheerful and helpful welcome and had no problems throughout our stay, even though our French is very limited.

Having visited both, we are glad we chose Reims over Epernay as our base and would certainly consider staying at Azur again if we returned.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Had a lovely stay in Feb (stocking up on champagne!). The owners ask you to arrive before 8pm, however on the way out our journey was seriously delayed due to an accident / missed Eurotunnel etc, so we ended up arriving very late, the owners were really helpful in getting us there, and getting us settled nonetheless. Rooms are funkily painted - I think ours was lime green - but it is cheery and nicely done. Breakfast was pastries, yoghurts, fruits etc... all very filling. Restaurant recommendations were fab. We ate a wonderful meal in a great restaurant and had a free cocktail thrown in too. Overall it was lovely, just outside the city centre, but no more than a 5 mins walk to the centre. Great. Will definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: 9 rue des Ecrevees, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#5 Business Hotel in Reims
#6 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range: £75 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small renovated and quiet hotel in the center of Town with private garages for car and motorbikes. Air conditioner in a part of rooms. 10Mn by walking to go to the cathedral and museum.Hotel is situated in the historical center to 5 mn next big touristic walking street Place Drouet d'Erlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing