We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Azur
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have been here two years on the trot, this time for two nights.You will have read about the funny little signs which are rather odd but not irritating. The helpful one is to remind you that you need not help yourself to the breakfast items. They will bring everything to you. And you can ask for more if you want. The receptionists are very helpful. They suggested restaurants and an excellent Champagne tour.
158 Euros for two of us for two nights including the breakfast at 8 Euros. You need a code to get in after a certain time and the reception is not covered in the afternoon. Check the web site. Rooms vary but are nicely decorated individually.
Down a quiet street and near the centre of town. Covered parking nearby if required.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my husband spent to days in this charming hotel. Our idea was only to know some Champagne Houses, but we got very surprised... First with Reims that is an incredible city and also with the Hotel Azur... Every detail is organized to make you feel a special guest... Thank you Dominique and David for your attention and for your great tips.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here on a road trip round Europe and although this is a good place considering the high cost of everything in Reims be aware it is a very nice "budget" hotel. The hotel is central, the staff friendly and professional and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable but as expected tiny. There is no lift so people bothered by that beware but it made no difference to us even on the top floor. Only complaint was the hook to hang the shower head in the minuscule cubicle is at waist height - and I just can't think of any reason why it's not hung at head height...

Feeling that maybe I'm being harsh with an average rather than good rating but when you compare it to every other budget place we stayed over two weeks it doesn't compare so well.

On a subsidiary note we would not return to Reims as in the 10 years since we were last there it has become a little "tourist trappy". When we go again we will stay outside in one of the beautiful places on the champagne trail and go for a day trip in to Reims to see the amazing cathedral.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pechster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Beware: we were not told that the single bedroom we booked did not have a separate bathroom. Rather the lavatory was 1.5 metres away from the bed, making the bedroom smell if it was used, looking unpleasant, and creating an unhygienic environment. If we had known, we would have booked elsewhere. Avoid room 31 at all costs. The other, superior double bedroom we booked was nice. But hygiene should not be compromised in smaller cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were on a road trip of France and Italy this summer staying at budget hotels with secure parking and this fitted the bill nicely for one night. Secure lock up garage for our sports car was a short walk away. Reims has a tricky and confusing one way system and finding the hotel was problematic even with our sat nav because many of the roads were closed for repair so make sure you have a good map and an updated sat nav! However once there, David was very welcoming and understanding. Our room was basic but clean and beautifully decorated in greys, red and white tones. It looked over the garden which was very pleasant-lovely plants and so tasteful. Nice surprise in the bathroom was the led colour changing shower head light!

Breakfast is NOT self service. Julien the waiter served us very efficiently and we were well fed. We just loved the breakfast room decor We ate our evening meal on David's suggestion at the BrasserieAffaire near the market-free aperetif.

Hotel is handy for visits to Mumm champagne house (10 minute walk) and the cathedral. The son et lumiere was magnificent.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this gem of a place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnecPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I just spent one night in this lovely hotel: The hotel is very well located close to the centre of town and a 10 minute walk to the train station. The hotel was very clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had the optional brekfast which was also very good. Overall a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fav-vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and helpful, and provided wonderful recommendations for dinners,(complementary aperitifs included) as well as discounts at wine caves.
The rooms are all unique in a rainbow of colours, they are maintained and cleaned with pride. The rooms were a little small, and quite warm, but they are more than adequate for a comfortable stay.

This was a great find on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKBNZTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Address: 9 rue des Ecrevees, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#5 Business Hotel in Reims
#6 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small renovated and quiet hotel in the center of Town with private garages for car and motorbikes. Air conditioner in a part of rooms. 10Mn by walking to go to the cathedral and museum.Hotel is situated in the historical center to 5 mn next big touristic walking street Place Drouet d'Erlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing