We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Hotel Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Azur
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is not unlike an Ibis or the like, modern, clean etc. Where it differs is the service is much more focussed. Very helpful advice on what to do etc and suggestions of where to eat (though take this with a degree of scepticism) and generally amenable.

If arriving by car it is a bit hidden away but I found it easy enough. You can park right outside on one of the yellow crosses whilst you check in and get directions for the private garage- these are located within 100 metres so again very easy.

For exploring the city you are ideally situated, just 5 mins from the Cathedral and everything else you'd want to see. Price is extremely reasonable given all the positives so it's a winner really.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    355
    67
    14
    16
See reviews for
101
404
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Part of our vacation (with my adult daughters) was a lovely stay in Reims, France, the champagne region of the world! We stayed at Hotel Azur, which was lovely to say the very least. The rooms are very clean, huge by European standards, very modern, yet quiet and comfy! David and Veronique are the most gracious hosts! Breakfast was wonderful too. Thank you both for wonderful memories and for sharing Le Balto with us too... What a great neighborhood find. Many great thanks and many compliments to a wonderful place to stay in Reims!! Thank you David and Veronique!
Chris M

Room Tip: Modern rooms, clean, very friendly staff. No bar, but favorite neighborhood Le Balto within 1/2 blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmccabenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The positives about the Hotel Azur are the price, cleanliness and location. It was very inexpensive, €53 for a single "eco" room. The entire hotel appeared to be clean; certainly my room was. It is about a ten-minute walk from the train station and near a cluster of restaurants surrounding the Marché. (Unlike many cities, the area around the station was pleasant.) If you are arriving and departing by train, and want to save money, this is the place to be.

But there are a few things to warn others about. There is no elevator, and climbing with an ordinary bag to the fourth floor is not a pleasant experience. In my tiny, plain room, the shower and toilet were separated from the sleeping area by a waist-high wall. The toilet was motorized, and one was asked not to flush between 10:30 pm and 7 am. There was a bar stool to sit on at a counter, but no chair. The wifi was down when I was there.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so lower floors are better. I suspect the least expensive rooms are on the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOC134H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We (me, my wife, two friends) spent three nights in Reims during our journey in Marne region. Two rooms we had were very comfortable and clean, they smelled very fresh every evening when we were returning from our daily adventures. The staff was polite and we also appreciated B&B style generous breakfasts that gave a nice start to a day. In fact, Hotel Azur has nice B&B kind of athmosphere where we felt that we were welcomed guests, not just paying visitors. And wi-fi works in the hotel better than in most of other places we visited during our journey.

Room Tip: Our friends had nice room facing the street, but me and my wife personally liked our 2nd floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
723 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated room. Extraordinarily helpful owner on reception, no need for tourism office! Private garage parking very close for small supplement. Breakfast served at table with fruits, yoghurts etc presented on a tray. All very cosy. However, WiFi was down and room 12 was huge but had very thin curtains with bright streetlamp directly outside which lit up the room all night. Otherwise would have been 5 stars.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dav85, Propriétaire at Hotel Azur, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear customer
Thank you for your comment but we are surprised by your remark about the curtains of your room.
Indeed, all our rooms are equipped with shutters so the curtains are not blackout. We believe that the shutter was wound up and you have not seen and believed that there was none!

We are really sorry for the misunderstanding

David et Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at this nice little hotel in the centre of Historic Reims - close to the Champagne cellars.
Rooms are quiet, clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast is good.
The hotel has parking garages and allowed me to park my motorcycle in a locked garage next to the main reception
Staff are very friendly and recommend local restaurants, giving vouchers for free aperitifs
A nice stay - thanks to Frederique and the Team

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The owners were amazing. The room was perfect for our 2 night stay. We had the main floor room, so no stairs for luggage which was handy. Perfect central locale. Breakky was simple and tasty, given Reims is very small we had expected more boulangerie etc however they were not that accessible. Was a bit of a walk from the train station with all our luggage. The main floor room backs on to the breakfast den, so some noise AM, though not a big deal. Only challenge was finding a place to leave our luggage after checkout. We were lucky and a nice clerk at the Ibis beside the train station let us leave our luggage there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 69 in Reims
681 reviews
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azur

Property: Hotel Azur
Address: 9 rue des Ecrevees, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reims
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#6 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azur 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small renovated and quiet hotel in the center of Town with private garages for car and motorbikes. Air conditioner in a part of rooms. 10Mn by walking to go to the cathedral and museum.Hotel is situated in the historical center to 5 mn next big touristic walking street Place Drouet d'Erlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azur Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing