We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Champagne tour for a great price”

Champagne G.H. Martel & Co
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.10*
and up
Reims City Pass
Ranked #20 of 76 things to do in Reims
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Champagne tour for a great price”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was the reasonable price that originally attracted us to this tour. We were not disappointed! The tour took place in a lovely building with a charming little courtyard. The underground cellar was not huge and did not seem to have any working production areas, but it contained lots of older pieces of equipment. The tour guide was fantastic. We were booked on the English tour and she spoke fluently. The information was fascinating and I felt I learnt a lot about champagne production without being overburdened. The champagne tasting was great, we were able to sample a rose and a vintage champagne too! There was the opportunity to then purchase bottles/half-bottles for, what I consider, quite a good price. I would definitely recommend GH Martel to anyone looking for a champagne cellar to visit or even just considering a day trip somewhere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    80
    18
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Champagne Tour”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour at GH Martel. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, with excellent English. We were fortunate to have a private tour for the three of us as others had cancelled. We purchased a large bottle for New Years Eve. It was delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful value for a tour of a small producer”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our tour of this champagne house was quite lovely. A smaller producer, the building was charming. As noted in other reviews, the underground cellar area of the tour was much smaller, as we did not see any production areas. However, there were many machines from the past methods of production that were quite interesting to see.

The tasting itself was satisfying. For a the price of 11 euros I got the tour and 3 tastings of their offerings, which was quite a deal in comparison in the other larger producers in Reims. Overall not as impressive as the other cellar tours I experienced but a very warm and enjoyable experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best value Champagne cellar in Reims”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The tourist office was able to book us a tour in English for Martel, a smaller family champagne producer. The tour took us through their caves, which at one time was where they made the champagne. The antique wine making equipment is on display, and as well you can see the wines they are aging in the cellars. After the tour, we tasted four different champagnes, each of which were different and delicious. Martel doesn’t export to the US, but the tour is lovely and perhaps one of the best values in Reims.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine-travl-luvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting and Amusing Cellar Tour”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable tour of GH Martel. It is conveniently located near downtown Reims and is one of the only Mom and Pop wine producers in the city proper that does tours. An inexpensive ticket (much cheaper than the big boys) gets you a full tour of the Cellars, which are no longer in use (a bit disappointing) and a lovely tasting at its conclusion. Despite the fact that they use largely automized methods of production these days, it was cool to see how it had been done for centuries prior. A very pleasant afternoon activity.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevojay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champagne G.H. Martel & Co also viewed

 

Been to Champagne G.H. Martel & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing