We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night only”

Cottage Hotel Reims
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Hotel Reims
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Reims
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one night only”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

thank god we were only here one night. Run down hotel with seriously outdated bedrooms. The bed was very low off the ground, bit like a camp bed. The shower in our bathroom would not stay in position and realistically you needed to be a size 10 to get in it. Food in the evening not worth the money and breakfast-well we walked out without even bothering to sit down and eat. Situated in a trading estate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    23
    26
    16
    13
See reviews for
2
48
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Firstly I must say that you have to remember this is a 55euro hotel. It seems that some of the reviewers below expected facilities that more expensive hotels would have provided.
I stayed there last night with my wife on a stopover from the south of France and we were more than satisfied. Yes the rooms are small, as they are in lots of hotels of this standard, as was the bathroom. However the beds were very comfortable, extra pillows and blankets available, the shower worked well and coffee/tea in the room - try finding that in an Ibis. No there wasn't any milk but you are in France - for the Brits who have to have everything their way it does not take a lot to walk down stairs and ask for some.
Picked this hotel as it had an on site restaurant, and I did not want to pay £75 just to eat and crash for the night. Also I hate nothing more than after an 8 hour drive than having to leave the hotel to find a restaurant. This hotel ticked the boxes and, as a bonus, there was a decent menu choice and the food was quite good. The waiter wouldn't win any awards for personality of the year, but there we go.
Breakfast as good as any other hotel in this bracket, or higher grade brand hotels - for 6 euros it was also a lot cheaper.
So to sum up, a very good value, comfortable and convenient stop over hotel which I would certainly use again. As long as you accept it for what it is, a one or two star hotel [can't remember what it was] then it is good. But do not expect Novotel standards for this price - it has limitations, but what it does do it does well.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just back from this hotel. we stayed one night on our return journey from Italy to England.
It is very easily situated just off the motorway, and presents as a pretty little 'cottagey' type hotel on the edge of an industrial estate.
it is a few hundred yards from a huge fabulous chines buffet restaurant, and a steak house and a macdonalds. The cottage also does food which looked very nice.
the rooms were warm and comfortable. Quite adequate.
The breakfast room is very pretty, and breakfast was a good buffet with plenty of choice.
no complaints. It does what it says on the tin !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same. all perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

It's a basic hotel.
Could be just OK (considering price) if the service wasn't that terrible.
We arrived at night (not late) and there were NOBODY to welcome us. We called before to take some explanations about how to arrive there and a rude person explained to us.
They know that check-out is 12:00h, but they call us 11:00h to check-out because they have to clean the room!
Beside this, localization is terrible, is too far from the city. Taxis to there are too expensive (and they charge more because it's outside of the city). So, don't think staying there if you don't have a car!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dri_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way to Italy with Leger and to our utmost shock we were also given this very same room on our return home from Italy with Leger. The first night we had to share the towels. The shower was so small & I am only a short medium sized person but had to have help to get out of of it as the doors would not stay open. The room was extremely small we just fell over everything trying to get around it and the skirtings and corners of the room were absolutely filthy and couldn't have been cleaned for sometime with cellofane paper and string on the floor. Before we could make a hot drink I had to spend time scrubbing the dirty stained mugs.There was an unpleasant odour pervading the room too. On our return home we again stayed for one night in this hotel with the same amount of filth in the corners and skirtings with the items still on the floor from 12 days before. The toilet roll was down to the last 6 or so pieces so I ripped up some kitchen towel into strips to accommodate our needs. No soap was in the room either so it was good that we carried our own.The breakfast was pathethetic and all in all will think twice about travelling with Leger again to Europe frightened that we may have to stop at this Hotel again. We didn't complain it was quite late and just wanted a hot drink and into bed too tired to stand reeling off the complaints we had found. I really cannot rate this hotel even with one circle but have to as otherwise my review won't be allowed!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Steer clear of the ground floor rooms as these seem to be the unpleasant ones.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Juney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

In forty years of visiting Hotels this has to be the worst one. We were greeted by a very pungent smell in the corridor outside our room and an equally bad smell once we opened the door with a large stain on an otherwise dirty carpet right by the door.  The French family next door also complained about the smell in their room and had to spray perfume as they went inside. 

The staff were unfriendly and disinterested with the waiting on staff particularly surly and rude. One reached over me to demand the plate from the person sat next to me. 

Back in the room the electric sockets  didn't always work properly and the painted woodchip wall paper only added to the dank atmosphere.  Two thick blankets were hidden behind an old dirty looking curtain both where dirty with one encrusted with old food.  

The bathroom was tiny with a small shower and only soap provided. There was sugar and coffee but with no milk. The kettle was small and furred up inside. 

There was no air in the room and you could hear toilets and showers being used in adjoining rooms. 

The food was bland with a very dry cake which had tough pastry that most couldn't eat. 

As we left in the morning the surly waitress opened the grill to the restaurant which was small and uncomfortable. She pointed rudely to where the food was without even a good morning. The breakfast was adequate without being inspiring. No imagination or any semblance of customer service at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheArtistsmusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new milton hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed here one night on way back from holiday with Sheering and yes one night was enough. The room was so small we had to walk sideways. The shower and toilet was very filthy brown slime. The lights kept going out in the hallway which is an accident waiting to happen. It maybe one night but come on it should be acceptable which this place is far from. Didn't want breakfast after seeing the dirt in the room. I wouldn't let my dog stay here!.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire-louise i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Reims Sud - Murigny
0.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Reims Sud - Bezannes
3.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Reims Thillois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Reims Tinqueux
Ibis Reims Tinqueux
#3 of 10 in Tinqueux
592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Hotel Reims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Hotel Reims

Property: Cottage Hotel Reims
Address: 12 rue Jacques Maritain, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Cottage Hotel Reims 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottage Hotel Reims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing