We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old style rich French food”
Review of Le Pre Champenois

Le Pre Champenois
Ranked #45 of 436 Restaurants in Reims
Price range: US$20 - US$56
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
delhi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old style rich French food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Again the Via Michelin guided us to this place. When we got there, it was 7:30 and empty; we were worried that this may be a mistake. We gently inquired about the menu and were a bit tentative until we spotted the soufflés. That did it. We were going to dine here. And it turned out to be an excellent choice.And it seemed we weren't the only ones. Within 30 minutes the place was full, inside and outside.
We had ( between the two of us) a cheese soufflé, a warm pate with poached eggs and spinach, Quenelle, a risotto and a Souffle Grand Marnier.
Staggered home in delight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank baj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    101
    33
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If I have ever been to a restaurant that may find itself with a Michelin star one day, this is it. It is in a great location with outdoor seating. It is small with excellent service. We have two versions of foie gras - traditional with toasted bread and a seared foie gras with bacon, mushrooms and an egg. Both were outstanding, but the latter clearly benefited from the chef's imagination. My main course consisted of rabbit wrapped around foie gras accompanied by fresh parsley and sweet potato puree. The turbot with ravioli stuffed with mushroom was notable for its delicacy - the pasta was the thinnest that either my wife or I have ever seen.

This is not a complaint about this restaurant but a comment about restaurants in Reims in general. Reims is the home of champagne. Yet, the prices in the restaurants are sky high. It seems that an enterprising restaurant could offer a "house" champagne by the bottle only that could sell for 30 Euros or so.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Reims”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our time and our palate in this gastronomic restaurant.

Concretely speaking:

The flatfish with smashed potatoes and pea sauce is delicious. No wonder this dish is pointed out in Michelin official website. EUR 26.

For dessert, the soufflé is great, accompanied with a pure grapefruit sorbet and crispy orange confit. Again, recommended by Michelin.

The cheese soufflé for starters was not as good as the following courses.

If you opt for a predefined set menu, there is a so-called "discovery" menu (menu "découverte"), EUR 34, which we also ordered, as we could not afford the EUR 70+ tasting menu. The smoked salmon for starters is really good. The veal medallion for main course was ok, but not very surprising. The strawberry macaron with strawberry sorbet was very decent.

From our experience, I would recommend to order "à la carte".

Helpful?
Thank mafeixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
178 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a longish walk in a cold wind we were happy to get to the restaurant which seats a maximum of around 48. Comfortable seats, tables large enough although some may say they are too close together?

From start to finish the staff were informative, courteous, friendly, bilingual and happy that my schoolboy French was attempted. The amuse bouche were tasty, the starters excellent, the house champagne very good and the mains fabulous. Service was first class and there is nothing I think they can do better. The other wine we had was also good and as the whole thing, 2 courses each and wine was around €150 we were very well looked after.

I wish we had something as good locally here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelproEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, partially offset by slow food service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The food here is really, really good. There were 6 of us & we were raving about it for the next few days. Very inexpensive given the quality. 2x as good as what you get in Paris at half the cost. You could tell they take pride in what they served us. The waiters were very friendly & helpful. We sat down at 8.30pm & didn't leave until midnight, which was a long session. Didn't detract too much from the night but we had to wait a long time between courses for our fabulous meals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pre Champenois also viewed

 

Been to Le Pre Champenois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing