We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed at!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Les Crayeres
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,057 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed at!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights back in 2002 and I just now realized that we forgot to give this hotel a review which surprises me because it was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Exceptional bedding, toiletries, top notch service, amazing cuisine especially the breakfast each morning done in typical French style. The view from our room was breathtaking. I would love to live here.

Room Tip: that is a suite on the 2nd floor overlooking the back gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    82
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
83
441
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at Les Crayeres in May. Our room was beautifully decorated, on the second floor with a lovely terrace (large enough to comfortably hold 2 lounge chairs) facing a great lawn. The service and reception were fine. We were offered a glass of champagne on arrival because our room was not yet ready. There were just a couple of little missteps that we noticed---(a) cotton swabs were offered one day but were not replaced the next day (b) our juice glass at breakfast was chipped at the lip (c) the only hair dryer was the kind that requires one to hold down the button with a finger for it to blow.

Room Tip: We had room 15 in the chateau which had a very nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stay in the finest hotels in the world. This Relais and Chateaux property is excellent. Close to Pommery and Ruinart caves. The suites are warm, relaxing and beautifully decorated. The couches and chairs are plush; the wall coverings are silk; the built in cabinetry is both pretty and functional. Free wireless internet. A nice workstation desk. The bed is very comfortable as are the pillows. You have good options for a/c and heat. The bathroom was laid out well- his and her sinks on opposite sides; a separate toilet room; a large shower with body sprays and raindome. Top shelf amenities. A bottle of champagne and chocolates awaited when we stepped into the suite. Each suite has nice oil paintings as well as in the hallways. The staff was very friendly and helpful - suggesting a Route de Champagne itinerary including sights and villages to stop at. The brasserie on site has excellent food and the servers are very friendly. The gastronomic restaurant was worth it- the food was excellent as were the presentations. The only downside is that other than a comfortable bar (with 400 kinds of champagne) there is very little public space in the chateau. We had just come from an awful hotel in Nancy and this hotel immediately caused our blood pressure to DROP by 50 points.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbreezedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We went to Reims on the first leg of our trip through France. I'm a huge Champagne fan, so I was very much looking forward to this part of the trip. The hotel looks enormous in pictures, and is certainly a grand mansion (pictured), but it only has about 22 rooms. We stayed in an Imperatice Suite which was poshly decorated just as you'd see in movies that depict 17th century France. Our door had the old school keys which gave it a nice feel, as opposed to the keycards that you get at modern hotels nowadays. Les Crayeres has beautiful grounds, and is right across the street from Pommery. Its main restaurant, Le Parc is the highest-rated restaurant in the region, but I preferred eating outside at their other restaurant Le Jardin. Le Parc is very nice and very formal, while sitting outside at Le Jardin has just such a peaceful, more-relaxed elegance to it.

We booked a car and driver in advance of our arrival, to take us around the area to the different vineyards. The hotel kept trying to get us to give them a schedule of which champagne houses we wanted to go to and when, but I am not a planner and I just play things by ear. Nevertheless, when the driver recommended Moet as the Champagne house that everyone wants to go to, I agreed. Without telling us ahead of time, the hotel was able to get us a private champagne tasting in Moet's wonderful vineyards. We sampled the 2002 Moet vintage, the rose and the grand cru. The Moet garden is serene (pictured), and for all of you planners, I would talk to the hotel about arranging a tasting there. Our driver us to the vineyards in the hills of Epernay (pictured) and it was one of the most beautiful things I've seen (but you can be the judge by my pictures).

The hotel is the nicest in the region, with great restaurants, a quaint rotonde bar, and immaculate grounds. I highly recommend this hotel. The only things that I thought the hotel lacked was a pool and a gym. They have plenty of space for both, but maybe they are worried about the noise, which would certainly be disruptive at such a tranquil place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Have been to Lea Crayeres for a meal twice and had a lovely time on each occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigfozzielewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Decorated in an elegant modern version of Belle Epoque this Chateau in the middle of Reims is dominated by the champagne trade. So be prepared for champagne prices and don't go unless you can afford it as you can't eat or drink without spending a bomb. However if that's of no account to you or for a special occasion then this is a marvellous place; friendly, charming service, a fabulous room and the perfect bathroom. Best of all the restaurant serves the best French food you'll ever taste. We generally don't warm to those meals where everything is squares and triangles of small pieces of unidentified food but on this occasion the tastes exploded wonderfully deliciously on the palate and the dishes were outstandingly prepared and presented. Cheese was generous and wonderful in a way which is rare in France. More or less perfect. Breakfast was served early enough for a quick get away for long distance travellers. For us it was the perfect stop-over on a journey through France and we'd certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend here in April. The hotel and grounds are truly beautiful and within easy walking distant of Veuve Clicquot and Taittinger, with a 20 minute stroll to the centre of Reims. We stayed in room 25 which had a 4 poster bed with beautiful views across the hotel grounds to Reims Cathedral in the distance, a fantastic room. When you are shown to your room a waiter arrives to pour you a glass of champagne which we thought was a fabulous way to start a holiday. The reception staff are fantastic and will book champagne tours etc for you. We felt nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate in both the main restaurant and brassiere. We felt the meals were fantastic in each establishment although we preferred the more relaxed ambience of the brassiere.
The only reason we cannot give the hotel 5 stars is because of the breakfast. Our first breakfast was a truly painful experience. Coffee and tea arrived but trying to get some milk to accompany them proved difficult. Fresh fruit, yogurt and bread/pastries are on the table. Our problems started when we tried to order a cooked breakfast. Firstly the 2 waiters on duty seemed not to want to serve us (we were a party of 4 having travelled with friends). We did eventually order a plate of scrambled eggs and 2 poached eggs with some bacon. These took forever to arrive and when they did the scrambled eggs looked like soup, one poached egg was cooked perfectly while the other was almost raw. The bacon order seemed to cause a major challenge and we ended up with a plate of bacon in the middle of the table. Also the table we sat at had no jam. We asked for some both in English and French, both languages proved to be a problem although some did eventually arrive. Our second breakfast was a better experience with more staff on duty but it still wasn’t up to the high standards set throughout the rest of the hotel.
Would I recommend this hotel to friends/family – without hesitation. It’s just a shame the hotel was let down by the 2 waiting staff at our first breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
2.3 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel des Templiers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
1.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Reims Centre
2.6 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Crayeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Crayeres

Property: Chateau Les Crayeres
Address: 64 boulevard Henry Vasnier, 51685, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reims
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#1 Business Hotel in Reims
#3 Family Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Les Crayeres 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Les Crayeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Crayeres Reims
Chateau Les Crayeres Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing