We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“voting with the minority - perhaps just a bad day!”

Le Jardin Les Crayeres
Ranked #10 of 434 Restaurants in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$144
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“voting with the minority - perhaps just a bad day!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited the restaurant recently on a small group tour of Champagne and Provence, and after a trip to Reims Cathedral which was spectacular and a visit to Pommery which was less than ordinary, we were hoping that the hype of this place would live up to expectations.

It was a beautiful sunny day and the garden and setting were superb but that was where it ended.

We had a 31 Euro prix fixe meal and no-one in our party of nine finished every course. The food was mediocre and the service reminiscent of Fawlty Towers - waiters leaning across people to serve others and spilling the wine without any sign of interest or concern.

As we said, perhaps it was a bad day, perhaps it would have been better if we had had something a la carte, perhaps it would have been better in the upmarket part, perhaps, perhaps, perhaps....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RickandTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crayeres, Responsable relations clients at Le Jardin Les Crayeres, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sir,

We feel very concerned with your remarks concerning your last lunch in our restaurant.

We are sorry to read that your meal at Brasserie “Le Jardin” did not meet your expectations.
This Brasserie is generally very appreciated by our local and international clients and this
kind of comment is very unusual at Les Crayères.

We would be grateful if you could  call our Manager from Le Jardin, Mr Michel GEBEL in order to discuss the different points you mentioned.

In the meantime, we assure you of our best attention,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    277
    72
    34
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murrumbateman, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We ate here for two evening meals our stay at Les Crayeres.One of my friends was gluten intolerant and the staff catered to her every need.Our meals were lovely and the wine spectacular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I celebrated an anniversary with dinner at this restaurant and had a lovely time. The setting is gorgeous, and although we were unable to sit outside due to the weather, we had an excellent view of the gardens. The service was impeccable, the food was wonderful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Le Jardin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went for lunch to celebrate our 52 wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. It is in a beautiful setting and although a bit cool had well hidden heaters over the tables. They had a 31 E menu but I opted for the 47E one that was the special of the day. It was excellent. First course was a snail salad. tiny snails over green and a wonderful dressing. It was the first time I had snails not done in garlic. The second was a piece of lightly smoked salmon in a light cream sauce. I was informed that they purchase the salmon and then send it out to be smoked. Although the third course was veal kidneys they happily exchanged a veal rump. again excellently grilled. My wife loves foie gras and they didn't disappoint followed by sea bass with white asparagus.

We wanted champagne--we were in Reims and the waitress switched us from a well known Cave to a small local one. It was terrific and much cheaper. Even though they had two big tables--business lunches the service couldn't have been better without being over bearing.

Lunch for two with a bottle of champagne 140E. Would return in a moment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Set in the beautiful gardens of this stunning chateau. We (two couples) enjoyed a fabulous lunch on a Saturday. We selected the menu of the day which was limited in choice but definitely better value. All the dishes were very good as was the Chablis ordered. Fantastic service and setting

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Jardin Les Crayeres also viewed

 

Been to Le Jardin Les Crayeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing