We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the entrance hall is the best bit of the hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Templiers
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Pinkneys Green
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but the entrance hall is the best bit of the hotel!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in a great location, 5-10 mins walk from the cathedral and restaurants etc.

The hotel has a very grand entrance but the rest of it is really very dated and tired looking. Our room was a decent size and had an impressive marble bathroom, but all of the fabrics, curtains and wall paper looked like it needed updating, there were some damp patches coming through from the bathroom. Some review seem to suggest other rooms have been redecorated so may be best to ask for a recently decorated one when booking.

Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet.

The swimming pool area was clean but also looked very dated and the pool itself was very cold!

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food.

The night time receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

We didn't feel the price was fair for the quality of our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    115
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
180
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is located in a posh part of town, with nose to nose parking issues. The hotel offers off street parking for 16 Euros a night, which whilst expensive offers peace of mind. The city centre is a pleasant 10 minute walk. The room lacked much of a view but was a good size with a lovely bathroom, which is marble tiled and has lots of mirrors. A nice touch is that the glasses in the bathroom are cut lead crystal and add a touch of quality to the experience. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as there are many little café;s in the vicinity. The breakfast room looked very nice. Earns its 4 star rating and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only stayed one night on our return journey from Italy. The hotel is situated in a side road found easily with a sat nav. The car was parked for us and we were shown straight to our room, which was dark wood panelling and French style bed. The bathroom was light and airy. The only downside was the shower. It wasn't fixed and with no shower curtain meant you had to kneel or sit in the bath to avoid the water going everywhere and because the bath was deep I found it difficult to stand up again. We opted for continental breakfast. It was served in a delightful garden room. A nice change to self service. Fresh fruit and orange juice plus croissants in abundance. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A small, very quaint Hotel with old-style French rooms (loads of flowery wall-coverings, curtains, bedspreads, etc) but expensive for what it is. It's in a quiet residential street about 15/20 mins from the central area of Reims.
Breakfast is not included in the room rate (Euro 280 for a supposedly nice double en- suite) but the Continental breakfast was a disappointment - tinned pineapple with other fruits mixed in, for fruit salad, yogurt, some fresh-out-of-a-packet croissants, bread rolls and not very hot coffee and tea, for 15 euro. Better to get something fresh from a cafe.
From our "road trip of France" this was the Hotel we were disappointed in. I had booked a double but got a twin!!

Room Tip: Book direct and make sure there isn't a room with creaky floors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossyBnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel had many great features to it including secure parking, it is a great hotel if you are doing a driving tour. It is out of the way some 15 to 20 mins walking to "the mall" where most cafes and restaurants seem to be. Apart from these issues it is a great hotel to base yourself from for a few days. Great staff help to do what they can to make your stay good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heled334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had a lovely weekend here in this olde worlde charming hotel. Excellent service and comfort. The decoration and interior is lovely though and the staff really helpful and nice. My only slight complaint was that it felt like the owners are never here even though it presents as a personalized boutique style hotel.

Room Tip: The ensuite bathroom was all marble and had a huge shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First of all it was a little difficult to locate in a quiet side street in the dark however we got there eventually. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The decor in the room was a bit overwhelmingly blue and patterned on every surface but the bathroom was lovely and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately we hadn't noticed they didn't have a restaurant so had to set off in the dark and rain to find one. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. It was very nice but not sure it justified the price tag.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
1.8 mi away
L'Assiette Champenoise
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 68 in Reims
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Suites Reims Centre
0.9 mi away
Logis au Tambour
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Templiers

Property: Grand Hotel des Templiers
Address: 22 rue des Templiers, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Templiers 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing