We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, nice location in Reims.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel des Templiers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Templiers
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice location in Reims.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice old Hotel with a very invested staff (?family operated?). Clean and quiet and very close to the Cathedral. The room we had had no, in room, coffee service that made an early morning runner guy like me CRAZY!!! Not to mention, nothing opens before 7 that serves coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjfphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    114
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
20
176
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were very pleased with the room and the service.
Our room was on the first floor and the window opened to the little rose garden; room was clean and pleasantly decorated, bathroom clean and had enough toiletries, led crystal glasses, bath robes and slippers. Hotel has private parking, which was very important for us.
Hotel located very conveniently – on the quiet street, but short walking distance to the Cathedral, parks and restaurants. Breakfast – ok, nothing special, but enough to keep you going until lunch.
I was very surprised to read one of the reviews about stolen cash from safe box. Seems like these people stayed there at the same time we did. That is very big “turn off” point. Glad we did not use safe box. Feel very sorry for these travelers and for all troubles they went through on a top of losing their money. I sincerely hope that this “safe box being not so safe” incident was just a one-time incident (though crucial for this couple).
Would I recommend this hotel – probably “yes”. It’s expensive, but we managed to book it when it was on sale, and for the sale price we paid - it worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbtravel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Very quaint hotel which is a hidden gem. It has a yard at the back for private car parking. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the pool but would use the hotel again if we are back in the area.

It is a short walk to the cathedral and local restaurants in nearby squares.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ECSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was average but clean. What really made this hotel was the service. Good home base for exploring Champagne. We felt the breakfast was a little overpriced but good. Another bonus -- free parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsTravels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelonabiker
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a beautiful room in this quaint hotel off the beaten path in Reims. It is a quick ten minute walk to town and the cathedral. The Hotel Manager was so sweet and helpful - we felt well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barcelonabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

During our recent stay at this hotel someone stole cash from our safe box in the room.

We stayed at the hotel for 5 days in June. During the check-in process we were offered to use a safe box in the room by a dark-haired porter and we accepted it. Then we were given a key from the safe – the safes in the hotel are rather old and do not have the programmable code locks.

In the evening on the day of arrival we decided to put our cash and documents in the safe. We did it and closed the door. As we had some cash and couple of major credit cards on us as well we never opened the safe during these 5 days and kept the key with us during the whole stay and never left it anywhere.

On the evening before the departure day we were packing our luggage and I opened the safe to collect the passports and the cash. To my astonishment I found out that 1’000 Euro and 2’500 US Dollars I stored in a wallet inside the safe have disappeared. We applied to the reception immediately trying to find out whether they had the second key from the safe in the room and sort the whole issue out. The same dark-haired porter, who checked us in at the arrival date, said that the hotel does not have second keys from the safe, which sounds really strange as things happen and sometimes people lose their keys so the hotel definitely has to have a second set for all the safe keys in the guest rooms. Also the porter refused to contact his senior colleagues alleging as his reason that it was too late (23:00) and he did not want to disturb them. I guess that it was quite normal for him that we (clients and guests of the hotel) were completely ripped off, distressed and disturbed. When I suggested to him calling the police to sort the things out he refused and asked us not to do so in order not to disturb hotel guests. He asked to wait until morning when his senior colleagues arrive to the hotel and help us to sort things out.

Having returned to the room completely distressed we called the police ourselves. The police officer said that we will have to go to the police station (not far from the train station) to file a police report and we did that. We spent over 2 hours at the police establishment doing the necessary paperwork and were promised that police will investigate this the next day. Finally we went to sleep at around 3:00 in the morning and it is very hard to find proper words to explain how bad we felt at that time.
In the morning we met the senior colleague of a dark-haired porter – a small old woman who said that it was impossible that anything disappeared from our safe and advised us to double check our belongings – which was no help at all. She also said that only the owner of the hotel has a second set of keys from the safe so the porter lied to us the previous evening saying that they did not have a second set of keys at all. She was completely unhelpful and made us feel like idiots who can not control their belongings.

As we had to move on to our next destination we left the hotel after the check out hoping that police will do their job. Police officers never called us back like they promised to do after investigating the matter at the hotel. The hotel representatives never contacted us either.
I can say that this accident completely ripped me off. I often go on business trips to USA and to Europe and now I am literally afraid to use the safes at the hotels. I am very disappointed not only with the fact of loss of our money and spoiled days of our vacation but also with a complete inability and reluctance of hotel personnel to help us. This unwillingness to help gives me certain second thoughts with regard to possible suspects of this crime.

In conclusion I would suggest avoiding this hotel in any possible way. This really happened to ordinary guests of the hotel and it was no mistake from our side – I am a man of finance so I know exactly how much money I have and where I put it. I really hope that money stolen from us during our vacation time (which by the way we do not get too often) will not bring any happiness to the thief and in the end life will judge everyone based on their deeds.

Please be aware of this accident and possibility of theft from your safe when considering this hotel as your next destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NikolayDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Staff could not do more and were friendly. Breakfast excellent. Superior room for 2 nights was very good and spacious. Good location so eating out no problem but you would need to walk. Swimming pool big enough and good. Car parking a bit tight but again helpfully staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D1DBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Templiers

Property: Grand Hotel des Templiers
Address: 22 rue des Templiers, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reims
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel des Templiers 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing