We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Nord
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Reims
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service from very helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel through an offer from Amex. It was easy to find and a short walk from the station. It's only 2 star rated and is being renovated but the very obliging staff make up for any shortcomings in its decor. The room is bigger than what we had in Paris and the bed comfortable. There are no English speaking channels on TV but lots to see and do close by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Gérant at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos propos agréable pour le personnel. Nous notons que nos chambres sont parfois plus grandes que celles de certains hôtels "parisien" et c'est avec plaisir que nous allons travailler ,aussi vite que possible, la décoration afin de répondre a votre observation.
sincèrement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    120
    89
    36
    24
See reviews for
38
158
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Its about as central as it gets. You walk out the door and your on the main cafe street. Loads to do. Shopping pricey, food pricey and drink is also Pricey. The Cathedral and the rail station are close by. Underground parking ( ask at desk for get out free ticket) is a matter of feet from the door. Room was small but clean and tidy. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was a joke and best avoided. Its a bit like a childrens tea party with the smallest rolls you ever did see. TV in the rooms but could do with BBC or CNN. Fair price and just about 3 star. Go on the champagne trail avoiding Eperny which is a bit of a car park! Loads of great places to eat out in the vin yards. Just ask a local and get in before 1.30. Have the meal of the day and a bottle of bubbly. Do not buy your plonk in town. Go out to a good vinyard and try it first. Then haggle the price.Any advice you want go to the Tourist Information next to the cathedral. .

Room Tip: Book a back room avoid the front overlooking trhe main cafes. Its very noisy at night in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here two nights and found the location to be very good for seeing what we wanted - short walk to the Cathedral. Underground parking virtually right in front of the hotel, and another parkade about a block and a half away, both easily accessible. Hotel is undergoing some renovations but not a problem for us as we were up and gone early and whatever noise there was didn't start until about 8 am. Breakfast was standard European - ham, cheese, yogurt, crossants, cereal etc - and orange, apple juices and coffee machine that does lots of varieties. Front desk was excellent, as were the house keeping and breakfast staff - very helpful, answered all our questions and checked on how we were doing. We were put in the area that had been already renovated - still in some upheaval but the rooms were fine - quiet and we slept well.

Room Tip: Location location location......and a wide myriad of eating and drinking choices out the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuck2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The rooms were fine in terms of linen, beds, furniture, bathrooms, etc. and appeared to have recently been refurbished. I was pleasantly surprised with the room after walking through the hall to get to the room. The hotel itself seemed to be undergoing renovation as there was a lot of boxes, storage, random stuff in the hallways. We didn't purchase breakfast there but it smelled good! Our room (146) shared a wall with the neighboring restaurant and nightclub which meant the pounding music didn't stop until 2am (it was Friday night) and the hotel wifi connection was not strong enough to reach our room and we could only pick up the restaurant wifi which required a password. I finally gave up on wifi which was disappointing since that was a reason I selected this hotel. Parking is not available onsite. We lucked out in finding parking in the public lot across the street for free since it was a holiday. We had a tall car otherwise there is public parking underneath the hotel. Great location to walk to the cathedral, plenty of restaurants and shops. For the price we paid (about 65 euro each for two rooms), we got what we paid for. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: get a room that has strong wifi access and does not share a wall with the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyPleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Was travelling from Holland back to the south of France and to avoid Paris and its hit or miss peripherique ended up looking for a stopover in Reims.

This hotel is well situated for exploring the town and you are right on a busy area, lots of bars and restaurants, cinema right opposite as well as pharmacy and range of other shops. Parking is about 5 from the front door in a payable underground car park (€12.50 for 12-24 hours, so my overnight basically).

Welcome friendly enough and plenty of local information in the room.

Room looks like it is recently refurbished, or just very well cleaned and maintained. Bathroom is good with a walk in shower and all looks very modern. I was in room 702, third floor and view is mainly the surrounding buildings than anything worth noting. There was some noise at night but again nothing that remotely bothered me, might be more during summer and busy periods.

Comfy bed, warm room and lots of hot water so all good there.

Breakfast was a little expensive but you got your standard mini croissants, pain au chocolat etc with yoghurt and cheeses, apple or orange juice dispenser and coffee dispenser. There were a couple of cold meats to choose from as well.

If I was passing again I would definitely consider this hotel as it ticked all the boxes for the things I look for if staying in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My girlfriends and I spent a weekend here in September on a recommendation from a friend...I am now seriously questioning that friendship after recommending this terrible hotel. The staff was rude and unhelpful. The hotel is old and looks and smells it.

I didn't see any construction going on and I was clearly not in an updated room. The carpet was dirty, not just stained (which it was) but dirty, like it hadn't been vacuumed in days. The bathroom was horrendous: linoleum floors peeling up at the edges and mildew visible in the almost 1/4" cracks. Mildew in the shower and cracks in the wood door frames were the icing on the digusting cake.

While the location is "good" (you are central to all of downtown Reims, but not any of the champagne houses if that is what you're looking for) but the noise from the bars on the street below is unbearable. I have never had such little sleep on vacation. I swear one night the crowds were reinacting scenes from a "Mad Max" movie right outside our window. And this went on until 4am.

There was no availability at surrounding hotels at the last minute, otherwise we would have left and forfeited our non-refundable rate. That's how bad this was.

The point is, stay away. Far, far away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I spent a Saturday night at the hotel in one of the recently refurbished rooms and was extremely impressed by the quality of the renovation. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Despite there being a football match in Reims that evening with a large number of supporters painting the town red, my room (admittedly not on the street) was very quiet.
The manager was extremely helpful in making restaurant recommendations and through this we were able to get a free aperitif at our restaurant of choice, Cote Cuisine, where we enjoyed an excellent meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
684 reviews
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#24 of 68 in Reims
93 reviews
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#32 of 68 in Reims
272 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Nord

Property: Grand Hotel du Nord
Address: 75 Place Drouet D Erlon | 75 place Drouet-d'Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel du Nord ***, situated in the heart of Reims, on the pedestrian city center, is the perfect location for both pleasure and business. Built in Reims architecture of the early twentieth century, the Grand Hotel du Nord *** features its 50 rooms with cosy and refined atmosphere. From single room to family suite, all are tastefully decorated and offer care, comfort and diversity. All rooms have flat-screen TVs and free WIFI access. You can take your breakfast in your room or in our breakfast area, and if you are in a group, in a placeholder. Our staff welcomes you 7days a week and 24 hours a day , and your pets are welcome. Ideally located a few steps away in the train station and the Reims Convention Centre, you are also a short walk to a host of restaurants, bars, shops, cinemas, but also Champagne Cellars, Cathedral Notre Dame de Reims and major tourist attractions in Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing