We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Nord
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly owner!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Room was pretty small, but the beds were perfect. Shower to low for a 1.85 guy.
Very friendly employees and the owner helped us very well with some tips where to go to during the days. I would recommend this to others.
Good hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    119
    87
    33
    23
See reviews for
36
154
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I concur with the general "faded grandeur" theme of other reviews but that is in no way a criticism of this pleasant and good value hotel.
Our room (upgraded to a "superior") was smallish but clean with good beds and seemed to have been refurbished recently. Two slight caveats; the plug fitting in the sink was broken, and the shower head arrangement defied any sensible adjustment. There was no AC.
It is located well in the centre of Reims right on a pedestrianised street with restaurants and bars of varying quality all along its length. An underground car park is just outside with preferential rate for hotel guests.
We stayed over the night of what seemed to be a grudge match between Reims and PSG (a good game with Reims coming back to win!) so there was some commotion into the small hours - noticeable even from the rear of the hotel - but it was not a major problem.
Both receptionists we met were charming and helpful.
We did not stay in the hotel for breakfast but went out to one of the cafes on the street for no other reason than it was more interesting.
Reims is an interesting and pleasant town and this hotel makes a good base for visiting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
All the hotel staff and management are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to get an upgrade of your room during your next visit to our city. see you soon. best regards La Direction General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
237 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice old fashioned hotel . Very clean everywhere . The bathroom would need a revamp but globally we spent a nught a in clean and quiet place . wakling distance from the railway station Reims Central across the road.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
The management and staff are very grateful to you for your comments. We are pleased that our efforts to satisfy you you were sensitive. Sincerely General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was In Reims the third week of July 14. Stumbled upon this cosy hotel by coincidence.
The hotel delivers great rooms for low prices at the center of the city so i didn't have to look further for anything else. Got unlucky with the car the day after which was parked in an underground garage. As a non french speaking Belgian tourist I was very lucky to have the most amazing staff around. They really helped me out with finding a solution and were occupied by it for almost an hour. Thanks to their help i had an excellent day after all. I asked what her name was. Thanks again Caroline!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piets0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Google Translation
Chers Clients,Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre satisfaction. Nous attachons une grande importance aux messages laissés par nos clients et je partagerai le votre avec nos équipes.Cordialement, La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

At €96 per night this is an ok hotel located in a popular and busy pedestrianised avenue.
It's not grand at all, possibly was once in it's heyday but don't let that put you off. It has the feel of a very old hotel which has/is being given a make over but not a refurbishment which it would really need to make it grand again.

Rooms are pretty small but clean, not spotless though.
Bed was comfortable and bathroom, shower facilities good. Don't expect anything great about this hotel, but it isn't bad for the money.
Rooms at the back are more quiet. I guess the front may get a bit noisy due to the many bars and restaurants on the street below

Staff were friendly. The two young pretty girls at reception were helpful and pleasant to deal with.

At €9 extra you get a fairly good breakfast and value for money in my opinion.

Parking is in the large public underground car park at around €9 per day. Pay at hotel desk to get discount. The exit is directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savagemushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Gérant at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we can confirm you WE ARE STILL doing a lot of work in corridor and decoration to give back to this hotel the name of GRAND HOTEL DU NORD.
Our first concern when we bought this hotel (2 years ago) was to give you nice and new bedrooms, nice and new bathrooms and new beds and big size. Some time the bed is to big for the room but it is better to sleep in a king size than to have a lot of empty space. Many thanks and next time you are coming over, contact us and let us know you were here once and you could chose your room. see you soon. best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a fabulous place. Spotless Hotel, fantastic service and a brilliant on the spot location with underground parking virtually outside the door! Great links to other towns. Nothing is too much for the Hotel owners - if you ask ...they will organise it for you! Can't wait to return! Thoroughly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Just ask the Manager/Owner and he will do whatever he can to give you the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Gérant at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
All the hotel staff and management are very pleased that you enjoy your stay. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to get an upgrade of your room during your next visit to our city. We can give you the benefit of our new partnerships for restaurants and the champagne houses. see you soon. best regards La Direction General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

To start, it is very loud. I had to use ear plugs to sleep. One morning, when I entered the hotel with 2 cups of coffee for my wife and I to drink in our room before going to breakfast, I was accosted by the manager. The man would not let me go up to my room with the coffee because he sold breakfast at the hotel (a 9 Euro full breakfast, not seperate cups of coffee). We had a terrible shouting match that ended with me having to push past him to go up to my room. Needless to say, I did not purchase breakfast at his hotel during my stay.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrille F, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel du Nord, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I know you had a great stay in a Superior room 605. but your comment was write just because i tell you that it is not fair " and not correct"to come with a coffe from an other restaurant. it is like "going in a restaurant with your own bottle of wine" Please, you have to understand the way of life in France and respect the place where you are.. I hope you enjoy our time in champagne region. la direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 69 in Reims
681 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#33 of 69 in Reims
270 reviews
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#25 of 69 in Reims
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Bristol Hotel
#34 of 69 in Reims
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Nord

Property: Grand Hotel du Nord
Address: 75 Place Drouet D Erlon | 75 place Drouet-d'Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel du Nord ***, situated in the heart of Reims, on the pedestrian city center, is the perfect location for both pleasure and business. Built in Reims architecture of the early twentieth century, the Grand Hotel du Nord *** features its 50 rooms with cosy and refined atmosphere. From single room to family suite, all are tastefully decorated and offer care, comfort and diversity. All rooms have flat-screen TVs and free WIFI access. You can take your breakfast in your room or in our breakfast area, and if you are in a group, in a placeholder. Our staff welcomes you 7days a week and 24 hours a day , and your pets are welcome. Ideally located a few steps away in the train station and the Reims Convention Centre, you are also a short walk to a host of restaurants, bars, shops, cinemas, but also Champagne Cellars, Cathedral Notre Dame de Reims and major tourist attractions in Reims. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing