We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay here very much. We booked a "Double Privilège" room and found it to be very spacious and clean. I found the old-fashioned elevator to be charming. I had never been in one like that before - where you have to manually close the single door. From our room, we could see Notre-Dame de Reims and you can walk to many restaurants and sights from the hotel. Our bathroom had a stall shower and a separate bathtub, which is convenient if one of you wants to relax in the bath while the other takes a shower. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. Absolutely no complaints. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JHunter26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelunivers, Rooms director at Golden Tulip Reims L Univers, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Reims in our establisment.

We are looking forward to welcome you again;

Best regards,

Aurélie Colin
Rooms director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    45
    51
    27
See reviews for
17
75
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Heading home we opted to stay one night in Reims and I had booked into the Hotel de l'univers. I have to say I had some reservation about booking here because I had seen the hotel in the past but the website persuaded me that it was not what I thought: silly me. My reason for staying here was it is very convenient to the slightly naff walking and entertainment street of Place Drouet d'Erlon, but to me the attraction was the excellent Brassiere Flo a few steps down from Univers. I had specifically requested car parking and found there was none on site as requested but was in a public car park down the road - which involved a considerable drive to get to. I was tempted to go elsewhere but had paid a deposit. My sisters pointed out to the receptionist the rooms were unclean: her answer was renovations are due: as if that explained away bad cleaning! It was one of those old fashioned hotels that may have once been 3 star but should now be one star and the receptionists seemed to know it as they both seemed apologetic in their attitudes.. We arrived back at about 10 pm and asked for a drink in the bar and were rudely told by a harridan, who I assumed was the manager, that the bar was closed.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelunivers, ROOMS DIRECTOR at Golden Tulip Reims L Univers, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Google Translation
Chers lecteurs,

notre établissement est navré de lire les commentaires négatifs laissés sur ce site.

Nous souhaitons vous faire part du changement dans le pôle de direction de la responsable hébergement.

Afin de contenter au mieux nos clients, nous seront heureux de recevoir vos commentaires qu'ils soient positifs ou négatifs afin de pouvoir progresser.

Nous restons à votre disposition si vous souhaitez nous aider dans notre démarche d'optimisation de la satisfaction client.

Cordialement,

Aurélie Colin
Directrice Hébergement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Blaton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Pictures seems to show a great hotel, it is ot the case, i traveled with wife and 2 childrens, payed a lot to get a bigger room and this room was just crap!
4 beds stuck on against the other, less than 1m to pass between wall and bed, very small and old bathroom, windows did not close properly!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Lonely Plant listed this hotel in their book and have usually had great success with their recommendations but not this time. There was little space to move around, there were stains on the carpet and mildew in the bathroom. The bed was uncomfortable and the windows did not seal or close tight so it was got quite cold. The heater did not work either, but we did not complain as we prefer to sleep with it cooler and I do believe they would have given us another room had we said something. If this was considered a budget hotel and was 30 euros or so cheaper I would notbe so annoyed. But this did not equate with other 2 and 3 star hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etejoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Reims is always a reliable stop over point when driving to the snow or the sun. I have stayed here quite a few times now, only every for one night and its normally late arrival early departure. Located in central Reims, very easy for a wander round town. This place is perfectly servicable, the breakfasts are great and it is easy to park close by or even outside. The hotel has several room grades, try to go for the top grade which is only about 20 Euros more than the other rooms. We had a very, very comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Plumbing can be a bit random, let the hot water run for a while... Bar now sterile due to smoking ban, empty. In my view this is a stop over hotel, not one to stay in for any longer than a night or two. Go round the corner for Moules and Frites (serves food until 2330) at the Grand Cafe.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Booked in for 2 nights at the hotel, Hotel is clean and tidy. Rooms are dissapointingly small, with a non ventilated bathroom and the toilet separated by a thin wall from the bed.
Bed is hard and uncomfortable, a rather thin pillow is supplied per guest, and a request for a second pillow was refused, this also being the case for an extra towel (was to be used as a pillow).
Ended up using our coats as pillow supports.
Hotel is nicely situated a short walk from the Restaurant and Cafe strip.
Breakfast is great but get in before the busloads as it was understaffed and the waitress was working extremely hard to keep up.
Its not bad as a mid market hotel, but seems rather expensive for the quality of the rooms.

  • Liked — Breakfast and dining area
  • Disliked — Rooms and service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnoldSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Although the female receptionist was not very nice, in the lobby the hotel looked rather OK, but it was not. We had the traditional room (€ 93,-) and it was very small. I wonder how small the standard rooms must be (€83,)!! The main problem was the bed. It was not only small, but also uncomfortable. In the evening we waited for nearly half an hour in the hotelbar to order a drink, but there was nobody who could serve us. All the personnel was busy with some group. The breakfast is very expensive and they expected us to eat it in a very small room, because the big room was reserved for the group.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 68 in Reims
319 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
#34 of 68 in Reims
208 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
684 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#5 of 68 in Reims
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Reims L Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Property: Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Address: 41 boulevard Foch, 51100, Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Reims L Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Reims L Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing