We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our worst hotel experiences...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend on our visit to Reims. We had a hard time finding and available hotel for this weekend due to the holiday weekend and the soccer game that was playing on Saturday night. We ended up selecting the Grand Hotel de l'Univers due to it's location.

However, we were highly disappointed for the following reasons:
1) the hotel reception staff were not very friendly and it was difficult to have reservations made at some of the Champagne houses
2) the hotel was extremely dirty- the carpets and walls especially in the main areas
3) the room was extremely dirty- carpets, curtains, walls, peeling wood on the doors, mold in the bathroom
4) the bed was small and uncomfortable
5) we did not have a working telephone in the room and no hot water in the bathroom. i could not call the front desk to notify them of the problem so had to go down. A repair man was sent for the shower but not for the phone.

We wish we had selected another hotel. This hotel is NOT a three star.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Helpful booking by phone as away in car travelling so no internet. Parking in nearby public underground car park but not secured as such. Room average (and paid extra for bigger room), and hot too, but bathroom below par. Hotel restaurant seemed empty so ate out and avoided expensive hotel breakfast by going to lovely patisserie not far away. Can't say would saty there again, but ok for one night.

Room Tip: Avoid room on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Booked this hotel online and photos looked lovely. When we arrived, our room had no Hot water. The maintenance man said it was because it was cold outside!! The next room had broken legs in the bed and it wobbled like crazy. We then were put in a deluxe room... Very basic, somewhat clean but extremely cold! The hotel manager said he couldn't turn up the heat any more so gave us a second duvet for the bed. We thought it was raining but turned out it was all on the inside of the windows. Can you say mold?
On the plus side, the location is incredible, and the price was cheap. The hotel manager was very sincere and polite and tried to please us.
This hotel is good for a 1 night stop... 3 was way too long for us!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Booked this hotel without knowing anything about it and myself and my family found ourselves very pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the free wifi really handy. The location is great, with all the sites only around the corner. The price of the room was very reasonable and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynwoodBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Finishing a week long wine trip in Reims is the perfect ending. We got an awesome price at the hotel using an online booking service and got a small room, but it was enough, clean and had for the first time during this trip TV channels in english :)

The kind receptionist allowed us to store all purchased wines to be stored in a room close to the reception, this saved us a lot of hassle carrying and storing boxes in our room.
just around the corner is the main pedestrian street with dozens of restaurants and bars. A free parking opposite of the hotel and easy to get to made this the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristianLundsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

we were looking for value for money for one night in reims and we found it. the staff were exceedingly helpful and we were greeted with a warm welcome. the room was small and could do with a lick of paint, but it was clean and very quiet. the hotel has no parking, but we were able to park on the street close by for under 2 euros. its a short walk into town. i would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a cheap and cheerful break.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ecjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My fiancee and I enjoyed our stay here very much. We booked a "Double Privilège" room and found it to be very spacious and clean. I found the old-fashioned elevator to be charming. I had never been in one like that before - where you have to manually close the single door. From our room, we could see Notre-Dame de Reims and you can walk to many restaurants and sights from the hotel. Our bathroom had a stall shower and a separate bathtub, which is convenient if one of you wants to relax in the bath while the other takes a shower. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. Absolutely no complaints. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the area!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelunivers, Rooms director at Golden Tulip Reims L Univers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comment.

We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Reims in our establisment.

We are looking forward to welcome you again;

Best regards,

Aurélie Colin
Rooms director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
748 reviews
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Reims L Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Address: 41 boulevard Foch, 51100, Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Reims L Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Reims L Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing