We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Champagne visit”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

A really excellent location for walking around the city. Comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. On street parking available. The indoor market is well worth a visit along with the cathedral which is stunning, some of the statues are really amusing and the windows fantastic.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NickKenworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    45
    51
    27
See reviews for
17
75
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great location, opposite the park and train station. A few mins walk to the main street of restaurants and the supermarket which is in the Shopping Mall. The rooms are quite basic, but clean which is the main thing and the bathroom was fine too. Free wifi was available. Breakfast was plentiful but like some other travellers the chairs and tables are a bit low to eat at! There were pipes in the halls and bedrooms that were not covered up that could lead to some nasty accidents. Nice thick curtains which were good as we had the hotel sign right outside our room. I would stay here again but please be advised its a pretty basic hotel which met our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellethekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Firstly this hotel's location is perfect, right across the park from the railway station & just around the corner from a street full of restaurants. That's about where the really good things finish. In the room the positives are the bed us very big, Tv's big & wifi works. New carpet & wall coverings. Problems begin with, all doors squeak when moved & doors to each room in hall are hard to close so most people let them bang shut. Door to the robe rubs on the new carpet so is difficult to use as is the door to the mini bar. The mini bar door goes in the opposite direction so this is a nuisance to use. As I said the bed is big but I think past it's use by date. It has a plastic type mattress cover which makes for an uncomfortable sleep. Sheets are too small for the bed so it is hard to tuck in, pillow cases are too small for the terrible pillows! Donna cover had a large hole where the seam had parted! In the bathroom we had 2 showers which sounds good but one, over the bath, had no shower screen or curtain while the other was small with a curtain but water still went all over the floor. Towels were well past their use by date & need to be thrown out.
In the stairwell while going down at night some lights didn't work so I nearly fell after thinking I had made it to the next landing. Breakfast we did not have as the price of £13 pp is a bit steep when we usually only have a piece of toast & coffee. Staff were good when we spoke to them but we didn't have a lot to do with them as we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel as we just didn't feel comfortable there. It was 3 nights that I wish we spent somewhere else in such a lovely city. Which reminds me that staff never advised us (I suppose they don't have to but would have been nice) of an amazing light show on Notre Dame at night.
I am not usually this picky on a property as most have a minor issue here & there but this place had so many & many of them could be delt with very easily if someone could be bothered. A bit of TLC is all that is needed & replace some worn out linen etc would make this place a hugely better place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Birchyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed with friends for a night in Reims. The hotel is allright. The sanitary could use some updating, but the beds are good and the hotel is in the towncentre. Good parkingfacilities and the breakfast is of a good price/quality.

Things that need attention: airco and bathroom

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the privilege rooms, which was £50. We did see a standard room, which was very small.

Generous sizes and very clean.

15min walk to Mumm champagne house.

10min walk to the very nice cathedral.

Just round the corner from the main strip for all restaurants and bars.

Very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mistry-travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our girly group stayed there for a weekend to visit the Champagne houses. Having read the reviews online, I was dreading it. However on checking it, it appears to have had some renovations and the rooms were clean and adequate, hot water and functional bathrooms too and very comfy beds. The staff were all helpful and the breakfast spread was superb, really set us up for a day of champagne tasting. Nice location a easy walk from the train station and within walking distance of all the nice restaurants. Thanks for a good weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flamingo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed in hotel for 3 nights at time of my trip to Champagne.
Location is very good, 10 minutes walking from centre.
In principle the service in reception desk was friendly and kind (I had problem with my car and girls of desk helped me with callings in French to needed places and asked every time about solving this problem). Only minus was at the time of check-in...it was late for 2 hours, because room wasn't ready.
This hotel have different kind of rooms. We had room with king size bed, minibar and flatscreen tv. In bathroom it was no shower corner, but bath.
Free WiFi in room was available, car parking was located 100m from hotel and it was free from 7PM to 9AM and in lunchtime (12PM to 2PM).
Breakfast was ok in quality (incl. omelette, sausages, meatballs, cheese and ham), but it was uncomfortable to sit and eat at small tables and chairs in bar area.
Hotel restaurant was good for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Bristol Hotel
#34 of 68 in Reims
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 68 in Reims
318 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
684 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#5 of 68 in Reims
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Reims L Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Reims L Univers

Property: Golden Tulip Reims L Univers
Address: 41 boulevard Foch, 51100, Reims, France (Formerly Le Grand Hotel de l'Univers)
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Tulip Reims L Univers 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Reims L Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing