We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location in the centre near all the good restaurants and the Cathedral. We stayed here for three days.The hotel seems to have been just refurbished and the rooms are comfortable and noise free. The rooftop bar is a must. We enjoyed many happy hours there overlooking the city quaffing champagne.
The hotel staff were superb in assisting us to book our visits to the Champagne houses and get this; when we visited Mum we got a 10% discount on the tour as a result of staying at the Holiday Inn and booking through the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Peter L,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Reims City Center.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

Thank you,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having been travelling for just over nine hours, we were exhausted and ready to drop when we finally arrived at this hotel around 9pm. We had booked and paid for a room with 2 double beds but were sent up to a room with just 1 double bed. When we produced our booking confirmation to the receptionist to prove which room type we had booked, she blamed a new (invisible) member of staff for inadvertantly giving our room to other guests in error. To add insult to injury, no offer of a refund was made to compensate for being given a much cheaper room, although the receptionist must have been very aware that there would have been a substantial price difference. At this point we were thinking this was a total rip-off. We asked for a different room but when we went up to it, the key card didn't work. It took yet another two trips down to reception to get a key card that actually worked. We finally got a reasonably suitable room with two separate beds approximately one hour after arrival at around 10pm. Not the sort of problem you want to face when you are fatigued.

The hotel is shabby and not up to the quality we have come to expect from Holiday Inn. The reception staff are utterly complacent. Other guests we met we equally unimpressed and one couple changed rooms due to the noise from the kitchen. We were told that we couldn't have a part-refund despite being given a cheaper room because we had booked online. We were offered free car parking worth 11 Euros. Big deal! We asked to speak to the Hotel Manager but were told that he doesn't work weekends. I guess that says it all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Jana059,

First of all, please accept my personal apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us.

There are no excuse to provide you the wrong room category and I am really sorry for the experience you had after a long journey.

As I already told you, I have fully investigated your observations, our records and staff members so I would like to briefly comment on your points: You arrived at 6:58pm on friday, you get your twin bedded room at 8:14pm and the receptionist lowered the rate of your room (40€, the difference between the two double bed room and the twin bedded room) at 8:52pm.

The front desk manager also offered you the drinks at the bar in the evening and the parking on the saturday morning.

Since you did not answer to my last email, I thought everything was clear for you but I am sad to read it is not the case so I remain at your disposal for any further explanations.

Best regards,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights with a friend. Short walk from the railway station and very close to restaurants.
First room on 2nd floor had problems with air-conditioning and we slept with the window open. Street noise was disturbing for a light sleeper so we asked for another room. We were moved without any problems across the hallway to a room facing the backyard or should I say roof. This room was not as hot as the first one and if you slept with the window open you could wake up hearing the birds sing.

Room was good size with comfortable beds and two different choices of pillows. Bathroom spacious with rainwater shower head.

What we found lacking was hooks or a coat rack to put on your jackets since the closet was a bit small for two girls and 4 nights. There was plenty of space on both rooms to attach a wall hook for coats.
Also the room doors were very noisy. The door pump closed the door with a heavy bang and the banging was non-stop as the guests were coming and going on adjacent rooms. There was no insulation or weatherstrip on the doors to make them close more softly. You could not hear noise through the walls but from the hallway yes.

Bath towels were changed daily even when we did not need them changed. So if you want to conserve energy and water by using he same towels more than one night, it wont work.

Breakfast was good but hot items (scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages) were not hot. Lukewarm is probably the right term. Lovely fresh pink grape fruit and orange fruit segments every morning. Selection of different cheeses and 3 cold cuts, cereal, yoghurt, pastries, bread etc.

Overall very good visit and would use the hotel again. Good value for money and excellent location. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Doe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jane Doe,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your very constructive remarks about our property.

It is a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied about your visit and staff.
Now we have some hanging rails on demand in order to let you the possibility to put all your cloths on it, especially when your are here for a long stay.
We will also change all our automatic door closers since the noise create by the doors is too disturbing for our guests.
We also remind our housekeeping staff to be carefull about the sustainable development policies. I am pleased to read that you are very concerned about our planet. It is also a core target for us.

We all look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely yours,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here twice within the last week, as the title suggests the whole hotel has been fully refurbished, Staff always very pleasant, The carpark is a little cramped particularly if you have to use the lower level using the lift, that been said its not difficult. Breakfast has not changed, I wonder how they cook their bacon? its always in one solid lump.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Xantia,

Your loyalty and your nice comments are our best awards.
I will be pleased to share it with the whole staff.

The bacon is cooked by our chief but sometimes, when the breakfast staff put lots of bacon slides in the chafing dish, it create a compacted block. We will pay attention to this issue.

We all look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely yours,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have just returned from three nights at this hotel. Drove here and got parking within the hotel. Spaces limited but 11 euros a night for secure parking is good. Found the rooms comfortable and modern with good breakfast choice. Excellent location for exploring the city on foot. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Colbrown,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Reims City Center.

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, the location, the parking and the quality of breakfast in our Restaurant.
These positive comments are a wonderful reward for us.
All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely yours,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have visited this hotel previously on a coach tour as we were heading back north. We had two nights this time which gave time to look around the city and enjoy the many sights and restaurants.
The hotel is very clean modern and comfortable, with crisp bed linen, good towels and a modern easily operated shower with plenty of hot water. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was good with plenty of hot and cold choices which were constantly being refilled. We ate one night as a group in the restaurant, the food was fine but it was a set menu which wouldn't have been my choice but that's the way things were. We did have an issue in the bar when I was told a 40cl beer was a 50cl beer, which it obviously wasn't. Shame was staff member tried to prove it to me by showing me a smaller glass insisting the 40cl was the larger size. But when I persisted I was given the correct size of drink that I had paid for.
Well situated for a wander into town with the super L'Apostrophe restaurant to the left in the square. I can't comment on value for money as we paid a one off amount for the entire tour. Will we return - probably not to Reims but if we did I would have hesitation in rebooking the H I.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear yettonbatty,

Thank you for the time you spent to post your comments further to your stay at the Holiday Inn Reims City center. It is certainely one of the best reward for us when we welcome back a returning guest in our property.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests. So I would like to personally apologise for the manner one of the bar member argue on a 50cl beer. It is definately so unprofessional so I will immediately share your comment with the restaurant manager in order to avoid a such situation in the future.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we look forward to host you again in our hotel if you decide to come through Reims.

Sincerely yours,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is very well situated, near the city center and easily reached by car. Staff is very friendly. The view from the restaurant is really worth seeing. Clean rooms.
Some things to take into account: the parking is really small. It takes steel nerves and quite some driving skills to take your car in and out. Especially the car elevator is not for just anyone.
Another thing that irritated me was the elevator. One was broken and the other one was quite slow. We found out why: also the kitchen staff needs to use it to get some stuff from the basement to the to floor. And with their special key, the can jump the queue… That explains why you see it passing by and simply not stopping on your floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank folker_lamote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear folker lamote,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in April.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the hotel location, the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms and enjoyed the view from the restaurant.

Please accept my personal apologies for the inconveniences you encountered with our parking.
Regarding the lift, we had to immobilized it, the problem will be fixed at the end of the week so I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by this issue.

Thank you for the courtesy of your time. We hope we will get the chance to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Marie Trouiller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
727 reviews
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reims Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Address: 46 rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range: £86 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reims Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2013, the hotel Holiday Inn Reims Center combines the sophistication and comfort of a hotel.Ideally located in the heart of Reims, near the Place Drouet d’Erlon, you may walk to the main monument of the city : The Cathedral. When thinking of the new design of the Holiday Inn Reims Centre, the architect got inspiration from this majestic edifice. Its symbol, the rose window, is spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Reims Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Reims City Hotel Reims
Holiday Inn Reims
Reims Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing