We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The final leg home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The final leg home”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

The sat nav got us to the Holiday Inn easily despite it being in the centre of the city

No warning about the car park. The gates open but it is small. Enough for about 20 cars but no indication about whether it was full. It is difficult to reverse out off! There is a large public car park a few yards away. It costs €12, about the same as the hotel

A good welcome at reception. The room was next to the lift. A position maybe due to us booking through the internet. Though we heard no noise

Breakfast was on the top floor and a reasonable range available. There was a large balcony but it was too early in the morning to use

So, a good and welcoming hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Woodcote,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at The Holiday Inn Reims City Center.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed the welcoming staff at the reception, the breakfast and your rooms.

We do not make any difference between our guests, we tried to satisfied every demand so do not hesitate to come back to us if you have any requirement regarding your stay.

I hope we will get the chance to host you in the near future in order to provide you a better experience.

Best regards,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    311
    120
    38
    19
See reviews for
92
350
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here many years ago, in the early 2000s. Was very poor quality, very tired hotel. What a transformation. Very smart with good sized bedrooms and helpful staff. We were here for 4 night so it was a good choice that we made. Good sized bedroom and bathroom at the rear of the hotel, looking out over other properties. Small balcony but no furniture to sit out on if we had wanted too. Breakfast in the "Italian" restaurant was also good, we came later most days and there was plenty to eat & drink. Service also very good.
Almost immediately on our first night we noticed the hand basin was slow to drain also bits of "debris" was seen floating in the water, not ours. We informed a jolly chap on reception on our way out and he said he would get it seen to. On our return he said he had had a look and had improved it but would get maintenance to fix it. I checked it and it seemed no different. Told reception next morning ( different person) and again said they would look into it, this was a Friday in August. Back to the room that evening still the same. Decided to try hot water from the kettle which helped a bit but was still backing up. We were going to Paris the next day and we're not able to tell reception. Decided to leave it as it was the weekend and we were leaving Monday. It was still blocked when we left. Only other problem was we tried to eat in the restaurant Friday evening and were told they were full by the restaurant manager, that was ok but his attitude was in no way apologetic, quite rude in my opinion in his response to my wife's request that they had tables. He had too many tables to wait on. Yes, maybe we should have booked, hindsight is great eh.
Anyway we enjoyed our stay and will return to The Holiday Inn, Reims.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tochsprytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Tochsprytown,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this detailed feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in August.

First of all, please accept my personal apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us. I have immediately fully investigated your observations and would like to apologize for this. We used to offer you an other room if we are not able to fix the issue immediately.

We also used to keep some tables available at the restaurant for the hotel guests in order to keep you this privilege. However, there will be never enough emphasis upon your check in that it is always better to book the table in advance especially if you wish to dine around 9pm.

Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim. Thanks again for the courtesy of your time. We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a very good modern hotel situated within a couple of short blocks from the centre of Reims. (By the way that is pronounced Ras!) It has it's own car park which is very useful.

The reception staff are very friendly and helpful, something which is not always the case in France.

The rooms are well equipped and decorated, albeit not very large but as with most Holiday Inns the standards are well maintained and you always know what you're going to get.

We didn't try the restaurant, instead choosing to explore some of the wonderful restaurants of Reims although we did check out the rooftop bar which has great views across to the cathedral.

Certainly recommend it as a good clean modern hotel within walking distance of the places you'd want to visit in Reims.

Room Tip: It's quite a small building so rooms don't make too much difference, street view from higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaibob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Dubaibob,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Ras Centre ;).

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

We all look forward to your next visit,
Kind regards,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked a 4 night stay and were very pleased. The hotel is close to the station (10 min) where there is a small but helpful Tourist Office - great when you arrive. The hotel is also close to the central sights in Reims and lots of restaurants and cafés as well as a great Monoprix supermarket in the next busy street. Staff were professional and friendly. The room was clean, well appointed and airy with openable window, quiet air conditioning, new furniture and good quality linen and bedding, good tea and coffee making facilities and mini fridge. Breakfast was included in our booking and offered a good choice. However, we did not appreciate arriving at the start time to find a large tour group had arrived well before the official start, had demolished most of the food and left almost nothing for others, the 2 staff worked frantically trying to replenish the food, cope with the mess and clear the tables. However this was an isolated incident which reflected on the tour group and group leader and not the hotel whose staff were apologetic. On our stay we had booked a day tour of Epernay and surrounding champagne producing towns with France Bubbles Tour and this was a fantastic day! We also liked the bus tour of Reims which can be booked through the Tourist Office at the Cathedral. Everything about this hotel was pleasing and offered good quality professional service attuned to customer needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Winwander,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at theHoliday Inn Reims city center.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and also for our employees is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them.

Have a safe trip back,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We normally stay in the Hotel de La Paix (Best Western) when on a stopover in Reims (a great hotel), but as they didn't have any rooms available for three people (2 adults, 1 teenager), we decided to try the Holiday Inn which is just along the same street.

When we got there at just after 6pm the reception seemed to be unmanned, but eventually a rather bored-looking reception clerk appeared and checked us in.

We needed a hotel with a car park (reasonably priced at Euro 11 per night) and we were relieved to find we had got the last space available - others who turned up after us had to park on the street - entirely unsuitable if you have baggage in your car.

The car park was very tight and we had to carefully squeeze our car into a car lift to reach the lower level (warning - cars over 2.0m tall will not fit).

Our room was in a 'loft style' on two levels, which initially seemed interesting, but it smelt really musty and the decor was what I can only describe as 'Soviet era'!

There were water stains on the upper level ceiling (I presume that there was a flat roof above this) and the minibar was very dirty inside and not very cold at all.

The hotel had tried in a couple of areas at least, with nice touches including dressing gowns / slippers, extra hard and soft pillows, a TV on each level and tissues and a shaving mirror in the bathroom, but these really couldn't compensate for the very poor overall quality of the room.

We checked out the roof-top bar, which although it had a view of the street was completely lacking in atmosphere. Breakfast came in at Euro 15.50, which was very pricey for what appeared to be on offer, so we grabbed an excellent fresh breakfast for about half the price in a cafe round the corner.

When we checked out, the hotel tried to charge us a lot more for the room than the agreed / confirmed price - they had apparently 'upgraded' our room without asking / telling us (really? - I dread to think what the original room was like if this was an 'upgrade'!) - the receptionist eventually charged us the agreed price when we complained.

In summary, I really cannot recommend this hotel at all - I would advise trying the the Hotel de La Paix if you can get in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Dave in London,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share this detailed feed-back in regards of your last stay with us in August.

First of all, please accept my personal apologies for the obvious inconveniences caused by some problems you encountered while staying with us. I have immediately fully investigated your observations and would like to briefly comment on your points:

You are right, the space in the car park is limited and narrow, especially if you have a seddan or a big four wheel drive.

Our Duplex suite will be entirely refurbished at the end of the year, thanks to our guests remarks.

Breakfasts served by the cafés in the hotel neighbourhood are composed by one hot drink, one sweet rool, bread, butter, jam and orange juice. It is also a good option but it is not a complete self serve buffet with unlimited hot drinks, hot meals, fresh fruits, cereals, variety of jams, cheeses, fresh orange juice and wide variety of breads and french pastries, pancakes and maple syrup.

Regarding the rate applied, our hotel management software automatically changed the rate during the night so we are currently working on this issue since it is a mistake that should not happen to our guests.

Your constructive remarks will certainly help to us to quickly reach the quality we aim. Thanks again for the courtesy of your time.

Yours sincerely,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay. On site car park was cheap and ideal.
Hotels central location was great.
Rooftop bar was an added bonus.
Room was clean and spacious enough with suitable facilities to hand.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loisellen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Loiselen27,

It is such a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and its services and we would like to thank you very much for sharing your detailed impressions on TripAdvisor !

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, and remain until then,

With Best regards,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight 2 years ago and felt we must come back and explore. Centrally located and very easy to walk for exploring.

Underground car park is handy although spaces are a little on the small side - nothing they can do about this. There is a public car park a short walk away.

Room was clean and adequate for out visit.

Will return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katy963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieTrouiller, Directeur général at Holiday Inn Reims Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Katy963,

Thank you for your Feed back regarding your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and plan to come back in the future.
I hope you will apreciate the improvements in our services and refurbishments.

Have a great day,

Marie Trouiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
684 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 69 in Reims
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reims Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reims Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Address: 46 rue Buirette, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reims Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2013, the hotel Holiday Inn Reims Center combines the sophistication and comfort of a hotel.Ideally located in the heart of Reims, near the Place Drouet d’Erlon, you may walk to the main monument of the city : The Cathedral. When thinking of the new design of the Holiday Inn Reims Centre, the architect got inspiration from this majestic edifice. Its symbol, the rose window, is spread throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Reims Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Reims City Hotel Reims
Holiday Inn Reims
Reims Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing