We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another memorable day with Christopher in Champagne”

La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 24 Tours in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Vigne du Roy Champagne Tours. We are a family run business based in the heart of Champagne, with five years of experience specialising in private tours of the Champagne region. We offer Half Day or Full Day Tours providing you with the opportunity to go on a journey of discovery and to experience Champagne and the passion of its producers in a relaxed and friendly environment with experienced guides.Our tours we present the entire process of creating the magic that is Champagne and the culture, legends and traditions behind it, with our primary focus on high quality small Champagne Houses, that are often inaccessible, but make exceptional Champagne. Here we provide tours of the wineries and tastings at each to compare the different styles of Champagnes that are created by these passionate, knowledgable and artistic producers.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another memorable day with Christopher in Champagne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had met Christopher (co-owner of La Vigne du Roy) on a previous trip to Champagne, and I was very happy to ask him to help me once again with a full day itinerary for six people.
Chris took into consideration my request to focus on Growers in the Montagne de Reims, and include yet another fabulous lunch at Le Grand Cerf.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable day wandering through villages and vineyards visiting Louis de Sacy, Paul Bara and Nicolas Maillart.
Chris is thorough, knowledgeable, gracious and an interesting man. He has established close relationships with a large number of growers and understands the Champagne region intimately. Despite this, he will never force his own preferred growers upon you, and he is happy to accommodate left of field requests with interest and good humour.
There is a rough schedule, and Chris is flexible with timing (but you don’t want to be late for lunch!) and he will most definitely not cut your day short!
I would highly recommend La Vigne du Roy, and if you’re not sure about where you want to go just let Chris make the decisions. You won’t be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    21
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend a day in Reims!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We joined some other English-speaking guests for a full-day tour with Eric. He masterfully guided us through the day, with visits to Taittinger and two independent producers. All three of the visits were informative, different from the others, and very interesting.

At Taittinger, we were very impressed with their caves, which were originally excavated by the Romans and used as shelter during World War II. At the second stop, we enjoyed a delicious lunch with the host, who entertained us with wonderful stories about the Champagne business, and the hostess, a delightful lady. The third stop showed us modern equipment used by a prolific producer. At each stop, we were treated to generous samplings of their delicious Champagnes.

Eric gave us an in-depth tour, explaining the entire process from the planting and care of the grape plants to the selling and shipping of the finished product. You couldn't ask for a better guide! We enjoyed every moment of the day and heartily recommend this tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Champagne in Champagne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When booking my trip to visit friends in Germany, I had no idea that I would be spending so much time in France, but it was to my delight that my friends suggested(with my full agreement)that we drink Champagne in Champagne. We arrived in Epernay on Friday, May 23rd and toured a couple of the bigger Champagne houses that day and enjoyed walking around town and Reims. On Saturday, Katya met us at our hotel and took us on a drive through the vinyards to the Abbey of Dom Perignon. It was an overcast day but the landscape was beautiful and there, she was very knowledgable about the region and walked us through some of the vinyards of the different kinds of grapes and the history of Champagne. We tasted Champagne at three different places, the last two, Maillart and Remy, were small and intimate. I bought a case of Maillart to ship home which promptly came in a couple of weeks. We did have a long drawn out, filling lunch, but it was absolutely delicious and of course, coming to France, I'd expect to savor everything gastronomic. I can't remember the name of the Restaurant, but even now, I can remember every course. Especially dessert! The Pinot Noir that we had with lunch was delicious. The only thing about our last tasting after lunch is that I was literally in a food coma, but loved walking around Remy's which was being renovated. So interesting to see buildings that are centuries old being re-purposed. My friends and I, over the weekend had been on several tours, but we were so glad we had done this one with La Vigne du Roy. It certainly surpassed all the others, everyone was so hospitable, knowledgable, warm and kind and Katya was a great guide who obviously has a deep love of what she does. Voila.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent a half-day tour with Eric as our guide. He was a wonderful speaker, very knowledgeable and pleasant. It was just the two of us, so we were given his undivided attention. Driving up through the hills and seeing the beautiful region was a bonus. Definitely recommend this tour!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tifft_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Six of us booked (early) a half day tour for a Friday afternoon. We asked to see a small Champagne house. We took a 9 am train out of Paris to Ardennes station (and a 5 minute train into Rems station.)
After walking through Reims and the Cathedral, we ate a leisurely lunch in town. We met Ekatrina at the Cathedral at 2 pm for our tour. There was a short scenic drive out of Reims during which Ekatrina gave us a nice overview of the region. We stopped at a small town surrounded by vineyards and learned about how champagne is made.
In the vineyards we learned about the varieties of grapes, the soil, the trimming of the vines, etc. (Some in our party feared this part might be boring, but it turned out to be very interesting.) Ekatrina is knowledgeable, charming, and easy going.
When we arrived at Nicolas Maillart, we saw the production and bottling areas and tasted 4 different champagnes, a wine similar to port, and one similar to a brandy. The pours were very generous. We bought a case of Champagne to be shipped to the US and Ekartina took us the the Reims train station for our return to Paris.
The whole tour was excellent and well timed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kasialouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing