We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best avoided”
Review of Logis au Tambour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Logis au Tambour
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best avoided”
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Situated in a nasty area of Reims the hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the city centre but we would not recommend anybody walking in the run-down locality. We were sent to the annexe across the road up 3 flights of stairs (no lift) to an attic room with no views out of the roof-mounted windows even though the hotel was empty. The room and bathroom were basic and free internet (very temperamental) and tea/coffee was provided. Garage parking cost 7 euros for the night and is essential as I would not like to leave my car in the open in that area. We declined breakfast. Reims itself is not spectacular and anybody wanting to visit champagne country would be better advised to stay in Epernay some 15 miles away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    130
    47
    18
    7
See reviews for
48
130
5
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little London, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Pleasant hotel in quiet but grotty part of the city: 15 min walk to city centre is through a rough area you would not want to go through at night. Pool good, room OK but poorly ventilated and despite being sold a room for four with two 'grand lits' one was merely a fold out bed!

Generally clean, but not outstanding. Breakfast adequate but not worth the 9 euros.

Intentionally, and obvously, blocked fire escape guarantees that I woudl not advise anyone to stay there.

For price, far better quality can be achieved through Campanile, or Accor chains. This hotel does not really live up to being a member the Logis de France label.

  • Liked — Pool - clean
  • Disliked — Disregard to fire regulations.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon&Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

A 15 minute walk to the centre. The hotel had a pool which was very clean so clean that we were not able to use it as it was always being cleaned. The rooms were small but very clean. We were disappointed to find that when we were offered a cot in our room and accepted we were not told we would be charged for it. So that was very disappointing to receive a bill when we had our own in the car and they insisted we paid. We did not take the breakfast but they still tried to charge us for it. Slightly put off when there was a sign on there door telling you that you need to be careful where you park as they neighbours might scratch it, but our car was fine. I personally would not stay here again due to the extra charges and I felt it was over priced, but to be fair it was a clean hotel.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Hidden charges
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orange1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Stayed here for two nights and had booked before reading the reviews here. Once I'd read them I was worried what we would find.
We thought the hotel was great value. We were in the block by the pool.
Our only critcism was that the room was very small whilst the bathroom was huge!!
Air con worked fine - looked newly installed.
Breakfasts were excellent - lots of it and they didn't charge us anything for our 4 year old even thought she ate plenty of pain au chocolat, fresh bread, cheese, ham and eggs!
Staff were freindly and the pool was a nice extra- small but fine for a cooling dip after sight seeing.
Location is good if you drive- so nice not to have to fight for parking in a city. 15 min walk into town centre.
Ideal stopping off hotel if driving south. We'd go back.

  • Liked — Good for stop over
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2006

This is a great value for the money. It is a short walk to the center of Reims, but very safe. It is in a very quiet residential area with not much choice for bars and restaurants, but the hosts were very helpful in directing us to neighborhood places to eat - we ate in a wonderful Italian place.

It is clean and quiet. The hosts were very friendly and kind to English speaking people with no French at all.

There is also a great dog to pet.

  • Liked — It was inexpensive and clean and quiet
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Situated in a residential are of the city, this Hotel was easy to find and is only a 10 min walk from the city centre.
Staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy.
The swimming pool was also clean and we did use it but it is closed early and you cannot sit at the tables by the pool as no drinks or food are allowed.
No coffee/tea facilities in the rooms. No bar or evening food facilities but your better off going into the city for that.
If it was not for the cat outside screaming most of the night It would have been very quiet and I would probably have slept well.
This hotel was OK for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — no bar, no food services (except breakfast)
  • Tips/Secrets — Its a place to sleep.. go out and enjoy the city centre!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al20986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2006

Hard to see how this hotel achieves its 3* rating. The hotel was locked when we arrived! and we had to alert a cleaner (who didn't speak English) to fetch someone - not the best welcome I've ever had. Our room was up 2 narrow flights of stairs (no lift)in what appeared to be a converted attic in an annexe across the road from the main hotel. The room was stifling and if you wanted to use the air-con you had to pay a hefty supplement to an already not cheap bill. The much advertised swimming pool was closed during our stay, despite it being July and the temperature approaching 40 degrees C. Our very average breakfast was not served in the pleasant room overlooking the pool shown on the website but in a drab room across the road with only a small window. There was no restaurant and no bar.
However, the room and hotel was clean, but I must say I have stayed in better 2* hotels (e.g. any Ibis or Campanile) for less money. We thought we would like to try an individual and French hotel but we'll stick to the chains in future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank proudtobeyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#13 of 68 in Reims
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis au Tambour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis au Tambour

Property: Logis au Tambour
Address: 60 rue de Magneux, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis au Tambour 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel AU TAMBOUR in REIMS, in France's Champagne region, a Member of "Logis International" and " Contact Hotel". Christine and Bernard are there every day to welcome you to their third generation family hotel. Fully renovated to a high standard of comfort, the hotel has 24 delightful rooms, including two family rooms. They all are equipped with air-conditioning and offer secure free Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, flat screen TV with international channels and a courtesy tray. A private, secure garage is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Logis au Tambour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Tambour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing