We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Crystal
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location is excellent, right in the heart of the city, stones throw from Notre dame. On one of the main pedestrianised streets with lots of choice for restaurants. Set back so not immediately on street. Staff very helpful. Was able to pay on card. Lift to my floor!
Room could definitely do with a face but it's clean and comfy.
Very hot night, no air con or fan so needed windows open so heard the revellers revelling on a thurs night. Take ear plugs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our first stop on our great France adventure, spending 2 nights at Hotel Crystal. The hotel is quaint but is in need of remodeling, especially the bedrooms. While most 2-3 star properties have very small rooms, this one was especially small in that only one of us, either my husband or myself, could walk around the bed at a time. The carpet was old and the room just looked dingy. The bathroom may have been updated recently because the walls were all tiled but one could barely more around the WC it was so compact. The shower was especially small so if you are not small or medium sized, you will hit the walls of the shower whenever you move.

However, the location was really fantastic and parking was convenient in that it was underground with access right outside our hotel. The hotel offered discounted parking over the normal price of using the lot, so that was a plus. The location is on a pedestrian only street right in the heart of Reims....we walked to restaurants, bar-hopped (for champagne of course), and found many delightful sights very close by. We did have breakfast one morning and it was really very good and an excellent value.

The staff, especially Jamal, was very helpful. There was an elevator which was a plus and a cute garden restaurant that they must use in warmer weather, but it was closed in September when we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseDlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

If you want to be in Reims centre then this a good place to stay. Right in the middle of the action.
Very clean, pleasant staff. We didn`t stay for breakfast so can`t comment on that. Stayed one night on the way through to Switzerland and would stay again. Another good thing is the parking is underground in front of the hotel and you get a discount for staying overnight.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more it gets the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluntysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On our way back from our holiday we decided to spend a day in Reims. The hotel we chose was centrally placed on the main pedestrian street. The access to this hotel is down a narrow passage between two restaurants but what a pleasant surprise when we got there. There is a shady garden in front of the hotel where you can have breakfast in the summer or just sit and enjoy a drink in the afternoon. It has an old world charm and character but everything works in a modern way. The furniture in the reception area is old style but clean, well upholstered and comfortable. Our bedroom was on the small side but perfectly adequate with a good en suite shower room. The reception desk is manned 24 hours a day and breakfast is from 6.00 am to 10.00 am. There is no restaurant but there is plenty of choice outside on the pedestrian area. There are car parks close by and the closest one has an agreement with the hotel to provide parking at a reduced rate of €8.75 per day instead of the usual €12.50 per day without the concession.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Public parking is close by. Tucked away from the Main Street. Rooms are OK but no a/c must be difficult in Summer as our room was warm in September. Nothing special to rave about. Just OK if not a bit tired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaisBayOui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed there as a couple for a night on a saturday night in late august 2013

Location:
Perfectly located in downtown Reims, close to the SNCF railway station, an underground parking lot and to the pedestrian street of place Drouet d'Erlon.

The hotel:
A little old but charming hotel. The courtyard/terrasse is very relaxing to sip a cup of coffee and you do not get disturbed by the pedestrian's street noise.

The room & price:
We paid 79 € for a night
The room and bed are a little small but still an acceptable deal for the price paid.
No specific comments about the room cleanliness
The soundproofing is not very good

Food:
We did not eat at the restaurant nor did we have breakfast

Services:
The lady at the reception was very nice and kind. There was also a guy manning the desk all night so you can come back late (we came back at 4.00 am) and get your keys

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addicted_to_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel and much is good in terms of location, quiet courtyard, easy parking, welcoming receptionist but the general lack of cleanliness does the owners no favours. There is a delightful courtyard where they could hv offered drinks and made more out of customers but no staff around to serve. The stairs and lift were filthy, the bathrooms had other people's hair on the floor. It could be so charming and rooms themselves clean if dated but lazy management lets it down. Such a pity as you can't even excuse it on the grounds of shabby chic. Saying that if a desperately needed night's sleep is needed you could do worse!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fawltyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Hotel Cecyl
Hotel Cecyl
#35 of 68 in Reims
237 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#15 of 68 in Reims
747 reviews
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#21 of 68 in Reims
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Grand Hotel du Nord
#29 of 68 in Reims
353 reviews
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: 86 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range: £47 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing