We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travelling on a budget”
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Crystal
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Travelling on a budget”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived in Reims very late after being delayed. The hotel is well signposted as long as you can decifer it's neon sign from all the others! Also the front of the hotel is not on the main walkway, you have to walk through a cut through between the kitchens for the restaurants on the front. Very odd. There is then a pretty little court yard and the hotel itself. The double room was small but functional. The room was quiet of street noise but the walls very thin, you can hear next door brushing their teeth!

Not unpleasant just functional and a bit odd.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    116
    84
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
112
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed over there for the price. Quiet place located in the center of Reims, on a pedestrian street. The room size would be ok if it didn't have so much furniture . Small elevator, at least you don't have to haul your luggage up on the stairs. Bathroom was big with a tub. The staff was very helpful. Nice small yard by the entrance where you can relax and drink some wine. Parking underground right in front of it, easy access. The hotel will give you a discounted price. It offers breakfast but we didn't try it. There are places around where you can get breakfast.
Good restaurants close by, close to attractions in town. Wi-Fi not great.
If you went, like us, to visit the champagne region, the caves and vineyards, not a good choice. I would stay somewhere else next time, maybe Epernay because they have a train station and it's a smaller town close to vineyards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Crystal has all you want in a reasonably priced package. Nice rooms, good breakfast, nice terrace, off street parking, on the pedestrian way. Within an easy walk are the Cathedral and several good restaurants. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms open over the pedestrian center, very scenic, but may be noisy for some sleepers. I perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Location is great. Easy walk from the train station, cathedral, champagne houses. On a busy pedestrian street filled with restaurants but this hotel is set back away from the street. So very quiet and away from everything. Great value, nice rooms, cool elevator! If you are going to be out and about all day and are only staying for a couple days, this is a perfect "home base."

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has a great location close to the centre of Reims. It is surprisingly quiet for a hotel in the centre of the town, largely because it is set back from the main street. The breakfast is a little disappointing, but you can also go elsewhere. The rooms a smallish, not a hotel for 2 weeks holiday - but good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have just checked the website of this hotel to make sure I was not imaging how bad this hotel was. The website makes it look really nice but it was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

The lobby is full of old bits of furniture, with a very bored and not particularly helpful receptionist.

Our room was on the first floor. Once you figure out how to get the door opened we were greeted by red carpet, yellow walls, with grey and lilac curtains and bedspread. The carpet was absolutely filthy, covered in stains and goodness know what. It was so bad we kept our socks on the whole time to avoid walking on it.

The curtains did not meet in the middle, so light shone through all night. I took the bedspread off, as it was quite warm. Underneath was a sheet and a blanket. The blanket was also covered in various stains. The sheet and pillow cases were clean , but I daren't look at the pillows or mattress. I think the towels were clean but it was hard to tell .

But the worse thing about the room was the noise. The walls were made of paper(rice paper). We could hear everything form both sides and above ( and I mean everything!!) We had to put the TV on to drown out the noise of a family in the room nest door until they shut up. I think the drainage from every bathroom in the hotel must have run through the wall in this room, it certainly sounded like it did.So all night long every time anyone went to the toilet we got the full flush.

After a very uncomfortable night with pillows thinner than a newspaper we got up and left at 7.45am avoiding breakfast.

This hotel was not cheap at 79 euros. It could be lovely if some money was spent on it, the outside is very pretty and it is in a good spot, but for me it was just awful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location is excellent, right in the heart of the city, stones throw from Notre dame. On one of the main pedestrianised streets with lots of choice for restaurants. Set back so not immediately on street. Staff very helpful. Was able to pay on card. Lift to my floor!
Room could definitely do with a face but it's clean and comfy.
Very hot night, no air con or fan so needed windows open so heard the revellers revelling on a thurs night. Take ear plugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSwissLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#4 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#13 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Property: Hotel Crystal
Address: 86 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Est
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing