We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INTIMATE, FRESH, DELICIOUS......A GEM.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bocal Restaurant

Le Bocal Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 433 Restaurants in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Anguilla, British West Indies
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“INTIMATE, FRESH, DELICIOUS......A GEM.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Since I'm the trip planner and researcher I needed to find a place for lunch on our day trip from Paris to Reims and Epernay. Lucky for the two of us, I found Le Bocal. It was perfect. Fish and oysters couldn't be any fresher, options many, dessert yummy. We loved it all.

I had booked online but when we arrived the reservation was for a month later! My mistake? Language issue? It really didn't matter as we were very lucky to get a table in the little entryway which turned out to be charming. Our TERRIFIC waitress was incredibly accommodating, sweet, concerned about the reservation issue, sensitive, and spoke very good English. A return visit if possible? Absolutely.

We give Le Bocal a 10 out of 10 rating!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    84
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Am definitely going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were told that it was good and we were not disappointed. I did not realise that you have to build your own seafood platta and ordered individual portions of different kinds of oysters. Will not make that mistake next time.
Great food, Loved it. Loved the great waitress!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianjwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found this a fantastic little restaurant, we were lucky to get in as we had not booked. We were a little confused by the ordering system but survived and had courses we really enjoyed even if they were a little unexpected! The fish was incredibly fresh and had a beautiful flavour and we cannot wait to return - we will be sure to book next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bow-Seat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sea food with the best quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This restaurant locates behind a fish counter and it’s very hard to recognize were the restaurant itself.
You have to book a table in advance in this restaurant, to taste a wide variety of sea food, including a big choice of oysters.
The price is a bit high, but the products’ quality worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Some of the freshest fish I have every had. Everything is in French, but the staff is very helpful in helping you figure out what to order. Be sure to order the fish soup.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank w004ded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bocal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Le Bocal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing