We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but a decent crash pad”
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not great but a decent crash pad”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed here with friends as part of the Grape Escapes tour. The location of the hotel is amazing - right in the town square. The downside is the very high level of noise from the many bars and pubs also on the town square!

I was lucky and had a room at the back of the hotel, so no noise. But the room was extremely oddly decorated (shoddy, cheap furniture alongside reproduction 'antiques') and the bathroom was decidedly grimy. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the shower hot and powerful!

Breakfast was ok - typical continental options of croissant, bread, cereals, ham, cheese and eggs. Coffee not bad. Sadly, the customer service was dreadful. On our first morning - one hour before breakfast ended - we were told there were no plates left because more people than they had expected had turned up, and no plates ever emerged leaving us to eat our breakfast from bowls and saucers!

Overall, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel - not facing over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidzmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    61
    66
    37
    22
See reviews for
45
69
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel as part of the Grape Escapes Champagne Tour. This hotel is right in the Centre of Reims and is in an ideal position to be near the bars, restaurants and shops in the area. It is also very near the station and this is ideal if you are travelling by Eurostar from London. Trains run to the area from Paris Gare de L'Est which is only one stop on the metro from Gare du Nord, where the Eurostar arrives in Paris. The hotel has character but if you are expecting a "Holiday Inn" type of hotel you will be disappointed. As previous reviews have mentioned there is a very old lift in the hotel, very small but very efficient if you do not want to climb the stairs. The hotel is very old and we did find our bedroom very dark and dingy, it seemed to be neither at the front or back and there was no natural light in the room. The room was a good size and the bathroom, which included a toilet was also a good size. It has been fairly recently refurbished, but the shower was very small and quite high off the ground so people with mobility problems could find it difficult to get out of it. There was a double bed and a single bed in our room with a frig and a kettle. As we only intended to sleep in this room for 3 nights we put up with the darkness but it would not have been suitable for a longer stay.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant and this room was bright and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was as you would expect in a continental hotel with a good variety of bread, meat, hard boiled eggs, cheese, yoghurts, cereal, fruit juice, preserves and a choice of tea, coffee or chocolate.
The staff were pleasant and always acknowledged you as you entered and left the hotel.
This hotel is suitable for a short stay or en-route to another destination. I would not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexlady1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed overnight on the way home after a week in the south of france. The room was good value for the price, excelent location, with underground parking very close. Our room looked out onto the main square. the only problem was the noise from the bars around that went on well into the night. so it was hot and stuffy in the room as we had to sleep with the window closed because of the noise. It would be a good idea if they got air conditioning in the rooms facing the front, or offered fans !!. The breakfast was reasonable, but my husband said the coffee wasn't very good. Would stay there again but would ask for a room looking over the back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Arrived early evening with our daughter, quick painless check in. The rooms were a decent size for an old French hotel, lovely old period furniture in keeping with the hotel, comfortable beds. Bathrooms and seperate toilets clean and perfectly acceptable. In other reviews it was stated that it was very noisy at night, our room did overlook the main street where all the restaurants and a nightclub were situated and it was quite noisy but we slept with our window open and it did not cause us any problems at all. Our daughters room was at the back overlooking a courtyard and it was very quiet. Breakfast was the usual continental style, all lovely and fresh and all we needed. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. All in all for the price we paid you could not complain. Reading other reviews for this hotel I do not know what some people expect for their money

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I only paid £70 for a one night stay with breakfast, in a very central location so I believe that the hotel Bristol is good value for money.

Other people's reviews have mentioned the noise at night but I stayed in room 25 which wasn't over looking the main strip, it over looked a small court yard so I had no problems with noise at all.

The rooms are dated but they are very clean and my bed was fine. There was a flat screen TV in the room, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities.

I had a nice sized bathroom with a bath and shower and the toilet was ensuite but separate to the bathroom. The bathroom also came equipped with a hair dryer.

Breakfast included fresh pastries, bread, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, selection of juices, ham, cheeses, jam's, honey and various other spreads. A nice continental breakfast.

If you can't speak French the reception staff speak good English.

This isn't a luxury hotel but I would recommend it to the traveller on a budget. Its on the main strip near lots of restaurants and a 5 minute walk from the cathedral.

There are also lots of nice shops in Reims including a Galleries Lafayette department store.

There is underground parking which is accessed at the top end of the strip near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

On a most uncomfortable bed, with roll together and a very thin mattress. The ensuite was tiny and the room was incredibly hot, with no way of cooling it at all.The rooms are very small, with little room to put luggage, and with paper thin walls, very noisy. The whole place needs a good revamp.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onfa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Great location in the middle of town, could be a little noisy at at night, but that's expected for where it is. Rooms old but clean and comfortable. Lift holds one person and luggage - wonderful!!

Staff friendly and restaurant a bit touristy, but definitely one of the better ones in the strip. Food good value for money

Walking distance to everything, including some of the champagne houses.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 69 in Reims
309 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#32 of 69 in Reims
270 reviews
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#25 of 69 in Reims
89 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 69 in Reims
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 78 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Reims
Sleep Inn Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing