We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Potenza, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is in the center of the city, 5 minutes far (by foot) from the train station.
It is surrounded by a lot of brasseries and restaurants.
Perfect location but the building is old and the rooms (at least my room) reflect this oldness. The bathroom is working but wall and floor finishing are not perfect.
The sleep quality was not good because of a false fire alarm during the night.
The hotel has also the restaurant by I had only the breakfast.
The breakfast was average.
The hotel offer free wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    57
    64
    36
    21
See reviews for
43
64
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Arrived on Monday to be greeted by a rather rude receptionist. Asked for 2 rooms with showers, unfortunately they only had 1, the other room a only had a bath. The 1st room was overlooking the main street and absolutely boiling with no air con, the 2nd room was on the 5th floor with the noise from the kitchen fans. The rooms were very dated, no phone, tiles missing from the bathroom walls, you needed to be a giant to get in and out of the shower. Very dangerous, I had to get help to get out due to the big step. Even though this was just a base as we were doing the champagne trips we needed a good night sleep - didn't happen especially on the 3rd night when the fire alarm went off at 4.30am. A few of us went down, the receptionist just stood looking at us for half hour then decided to say it was a false alarm. Overall the trip was amazing to Reims, the champagne was to die for but the hotel was terrible. Would definitely not recommend this to anyone even my worst enemy!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are staying choose a room at the back, you can open the window as there is no air con, withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowenaKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reims hotels

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Definitely a hotel I would not recommend or wish to visit again. Even for a base hotel it was poor and definitely not up to a three star rating - more like a half star!
It looks so impressive from the outside and as it is l'edito restaurant I am sure that is where it
manages to makes it money. Definitely not from the hotel side.

Room Tip: Four of us visited this hotel - between us we over the space of 4 days we had 5 different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Arrived around 9pm in Reims and really need to find somewhere to stay. Location of the hotel was very central and the price ... well not the highest but would certainly expect more for the money but I was tired and had no real choice.

The rooms was really not in good shape with the shower looking like a bit of your own DIY (that is if you are not great at it).

The rooms were hot with no aircon and the street very loud in to the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akentmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

On the plus side this hotel is superbly located if you are staying in Reims. It is right in the centre and close to an underground parking lot. Its restaurant is excellent and still uses the original silverware from way back when....However, the hotel is old and there is no air con so it's hot and stuffy in the summer. Some travellers may have serious issues with the tiny 1930s Parisian style elevator; we took the stair in the end. Finally, don't get a room facing the street because you could be kept awake all night by the people in the restaurants in the street. We stayed during the Olympics of 2008 and were kept up all night by drunk restaurant clientelle singing the French national anthem. Nightmare.

Room Tip: In the summer stay clear of street-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked this hotel for a stop over after returning from the alps. We booked a quadruple room but on arrival we were informed this was a triple but they could put an extra bed in which turned out to be a small z bed. The room was very hot (like a sauna) with no air conditioning, if the windows were open the street noise was horrendous so we ended up getting very hot and bothered and having very little sleep. This is not a hotel to stay in if you want somewhere quiet and cool to have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I booked this hotel because I needed a rest stop after driving from Cornwall via Folkestone. My main priority when I booked was a parking space, so when I was searching for hotels I clicked on the 'carparking' option to bring up hotels. Unfortunately there were not many, my first option was a chain motel on the outskirts of the city, but after reading reviews I changed my mind and decided to spend a bit more money on a better hotel. I booked with Bristol for €70 but on arrival I found the 'underground carpark' they advertised was actually a public one across the street, no problem, I wanted my car secure, but it did cost over €10.

The room was good, very traditional, with a TV and a good shower (bad point was the shower screen didn't seal against the bath leading to a minor flood!) I had a great view of the street below which was nice, but I was forced to close the windows at night because of the sound, not the hotels fault of course, but worth mentioning.

The restaurant downstairs was very expensive for what was essentially a burger and pizza joint (€24 for a burger and fries...) but the meal was good.

Room Tip: Street view the road the hotel is on using the internet first so you can find the underground carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#26 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#29 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Grand Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#27 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 78 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Reims
Sleep Inn Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing