We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Classiest Wine Tasting Ever”
Review of Celliers Ruinart

Celliers Ruinart
Book In Advance
More Info
US$160.57*
and up
Champagne Region Private Day Trip from Paris
More Info
US$1,366.03*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Champagne Region
Ranked #10 of 78 things to do in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Classiest Wine Tasting Ever”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We took the train from Paris to Reims. There is plenty to see. Ruinart is a good hike from the main town center and cathedral. It is worth it. We were treated like royalty. A tour of the 'Caves' was fantastic- many meters below the surface. The actual tasting took place in a large executive-type sitting room. We had the opportunity to try the 'Blanc de Blanc' and the Vintage 1998. These are great wines and there champagne is the most under-rated of all. This boutique champagne winery is just extraordinary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daddy-Unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    62
    12
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ruinart - Great Champagne & Great Tour”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I was ready to spend 35 euros for a tour of the Ruinart Cellars however I happened to be in Reims when free tours were being offered. It was crowded and busy but I found the guides to be super friendly and willing to answer questions. Because my French is limited, I didn't quite get everything that was explained during the tour. The guide was nice enough to elaborate on things I didn't catch the first time around. I enjoyed learning about Ruinart and its history – it was interesting and lots of fun. Sadly, tastings were not offered that day. I made up for it by drinking some later that evening! It is by far one of my favorite champagnes. I highly recommend the tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank electra005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful caves - amazing vintage champagne”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Excellent private tour and extraordinary tasting. Expensive but worth it. The caves dug in Roman times are magnificent and the champagne was the best we tasted in Reims.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I visited Ruinart with a small group of 5 others. From the moment we arrived at the gate, we were made to feel very welcome. It was a real treat to see the chalk caves with the female tour guide who was warm, personable and very knowledgable. The surrounds and house are magnificent. After the tour we enjoyed a glass of champagne in a beautiful lounge. There is a limited number of products for sale, in gift packs but there was no pressure at all to buy anything. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The tour in Ruinart house is something special. I can call it VIP place to go. Hard to get reservation, but everything was amazing, specially old roman tunnels and caves

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celliers Ruinart also viewed

 

Been to Celliers Ruinart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing