We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Hotel Porte Mars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porte Mars
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Aachen
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed already the second time at Hotel Porte Mars.
It is located right in the heart of Reims and all the sights are close by.
The rooms are clean, new bathrooms and even so there is a busy road in front of the Hotel, in your room you do not hear a thing.
The price is ok and we will be back again on our next trip to Reims.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marsh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    146
    52
    12
    10
See reviews for
51
127
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We took the train here from CDG. As you exit the train station turn left and it is maybe a 5 minute or so walk. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Yes the rooms are small but very clean. We were street side but they have double windows so noise is not a problem. Most of the time I like to stay in the area where the sites are. However, this is a brief walk across the street and across the park and voila you are in the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labonvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle,WA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We've been having a four month European Grand Tour road trip and drove to Reims from Baden Baden (Friedricksbad Spa!) to celebrate my birthday in the city of the champagne houses. The Hotel is a great location and the staff AMAZING, helping with all our needs, ie parking, reservations, directions, etc. Our room was great for us, colorful pinks and reds, plenty of space, refrigerator, and the fun tiny elevator reminiscent of travels in years past to old hotels. The reception are/dining area and lounge are delightful and RED! Breakfast extra charge, but very substantial, so we took it alternate days (stayed three nights). Right across the street is the Roman Porte and across the way is the Monument to Martyrs of the Gestapo and next door is the champagne house Charles de Cazanove, They sell only in Europe, what a shame, but go taste some nice Bubbly for 3E/coupe. Driving/parking in city is not a problem, at least in off-season and we visited the Reims Cathedral, House of Mumm for a tour and wonderful tasting and then culminated with a tour and tasting at house of Pommery....amazing history of an amazing woman and amazing champagnes!!! A fab way to spend a birthday!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirateWildWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile


we spent here one night with our 3 years old kid on out way to Austria . we shared the existing double bed that was big enough and comfy for the 3 of us.
easy to get, easy parking on the road near by. we decided not to have breakfast so I cannot comment about that.
perfect location for the town centre ( the cathedral is just 10 min by walk) and also to spot some authentic no touristy restaurants . we dined at the table de Halle's recommended by the reception and that was faboulous.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TittiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at Port Mars hotel from 15th November to 17th. I chose no breakfast option and I booked a no smoking single room by booking.com. My room was in front of Port de Mars at the first floor. Wi-fi is free and Concierge helped me to do web check- in the day before my flight was scheduled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank chierez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just had a night in this really delightful hotel and are so happy that we chose to stay there. The staff were so nice and helpful even before we got to the hotel! I had enquired about parking and within minutes of us making our booking, the hotel had emailed and offered a garage to us for the night. I asked the hotel about booking a tour at G H Mumm and they gave me the direct email contact for the guides there at Mumm.

The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from G H Mumm (really recommend that tour but you have to book in advance) and again just a few minutes walk to some lovely restaurants and shops.

We had booked a triple room which was absolutely perfect with a double and single bed, a shower room with separate loo and loads of comp toiletries. There was a mini bar but we didn't use any of the drinks in there. However, they also provide champagne glasses in the room which we were so pleased to see as I defy anyone to leave the Mumm ceallar tour without buying at least a bottle!!

There's tea and coffee, cups and a kettle in the room as well as a flat screen TV. Breakfast was really very good with everything you would expect at a French breakfast as well as bacon and scrambled eggs - a very pleasant surprise.

We will definitely stay there again and really recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We took the train from Paris EST to Reims. We came out of the station looking for a map with the street address and could not find it so we waited for a taxi. He was very sweet to inform us to walk maybe three block up the same street the trains station was on to the hotel. We stayed here two nights while we did wine tours in the area. The staff is amazingly friendly!! The room was clean and just the right size, full bed, desk, TV, and armoire. There is an elevator which is nice when you have luggage. The breakfast was yummy and the bar is always open. We needed to leave early to catch our train and requested an early breakfast, this was great because nothing was open that early.

Room Tip: We had an interior room that faced the stairs on the first floor. No issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reims hotels
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
693 reviews
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
292 reviews
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 68 in Reims
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte Mars

Property: Hotel Porte Mars
Address: 2 Place de la Republique, 51100, Reims, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porte Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally located.A five minute walk from the station, access to motorways, the central square and commercial.A quarter of an hour of the Cathedral,Ten minutes from the Congress,The Hotel Porte Mars offers 24 rooms, fully renovated and perfect tranquility.Each room offers all the comfort you need for your living room (WC, Bathroom, Minibar, WiFi access, , Telephone and Hair Dryer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porte Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing