We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and broken”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arlequin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arlequin
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty and broken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

A stagnant smell of cigarettes hit us upon the first step into this hotel, and we were met by a very underwhelmed gentleman at the desk. When entering our room, I was struck with absolute dissappointment - the floor had black staining all over it, the toilet flush broke upon first use and the fireplace was poorly boarded up - i.e. a piece of chip board leaing over the hole. Perhaps we got a one off room which was bad, as many other reviews are positive (otherwise I wouldn't have booked it initially), however I could not wait to get out of there and have a good shower to feel clean again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    120
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
59
87
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We got to hotel quite late around 9pm for a one night stay on our way back to Italy. It's located quite close to the city center and it was easy to find. The receptionist was very nice and helpful as she came to personally check the heating (we didn't figure out how to turn it on) and the flushing that seemed not to work but then everything was ok. Our room was on the 1st floor but it wasn't on the main corridor, it had a separate entrance so it took us a bit to find it but this was good as it was very quite. It was a spacious room, with a TV , nice clean bathroom with everything we needed (despite their 2 stars).No parking place, but there are plenty nearby.

They asked us about breakfast the night before and we said ok, but they didn't mention it wasn't included. However, there was a big choice of stuff, from fresh croissant & bread to pre-packed jam or cheeses.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alinafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We arrived in Troyes late afternoon and found the hotel through the Tourist Office. It was the right price and we were only there for a night. But the hotel was pleasant and the town a beautiful surprise so we stayed two.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swallCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

I don't usually choose 2 star hotels, but this was for an overnight break during a drive from the UK to Burgundy, so we were looking for a central overnight stop in pretty Troyes. The hotel has no parking, but there is plenty of street parking nearby if you can navigate the narrow one way streets. The hotel is located on the edge of the painfully pretty pedestrianised centre of Troyes, so just a few minutes walk from all the streets that brim with cafes and restaurants. Reception is only open until about 9pm so arrive before then. Reception is small and cosy, and the lady was really smiley and helpful. Our rooms were on the first floor, so we took the winding wooden staircase up passing numerous bags of laundry (which were cleared by the time we came back downstairs). We came across a confusing number of unmarked doors leading to cupboards before finding the one that led to the corridor of rooms. Each room is different in size, layout and decor, and they all had a shabby chic feel to them. Mine was very pink - floral bedding and curtains and distressed style painted walls which could be mistaken for being done inexpertly in a rush! But sweet, clean and welcoming. Once more, there were many doors - off a little vestibule there were 3 of them. One led to the bedroom, one to the bathroom and one to the separate toilet. The layout was a little quirky, but personally I loved the inividuality of it. The room had a desk in it, a wall mounted TV and was absolutely delightful to be in. It was a scorching 35 degrees when we arrived, so an added bonus was the air conditioning. The bathroom was well equipped which surprised me for a 2*. We also breakfasted there, and what a treat. Simply wonderful service and generous servings of bread, croissants, cereals and fruit in a charming breakfast room. In all it was charming and I really enjoyed staying in a place with so much character.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ME13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Rather an odd little hotel. Plus points are that it has some character, and that it is central - only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Troyes. The bathroom in my room looked like it had recently been redecorated (to a good standard) so there's obviously some love and care being put into the place.

However the negatives outweigh the positives. Receptionist was very uninterested in me when I arrived (actually, Troyes seems like an unfriendly city, judging by the 2 restaurants I visited in addition to this hotel) The room was sheltered from street noise - unfortunately it interjoined another room and trust me you could hear everything going on in the next door room - so make sure you don't accept a room like this. Other downsides - they didn't leave a bath towel in the room, and the room itself smelt of cigarettes despite being a non-smoking room. I know a hotel can't stop its guests smoking, but at least hotel staff could offer me another room if their cleaners notice it reeks of smoke in the morning.

I didn't arrange breakfast - there's a perfectly good bakery/patisserie next door. Parking is easy enough - there's free parking 5 mins away. You can also park on the slightly closer Place Victor Hugo for nothing if you arrive after 7pm and leave before 9am.

Overall, it's OK but not a great advert for Troyes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

This hotel is very run down and is located in a bad part of Troyes. The rooms were located up steep stairs and there was street noise all night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsDeltatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed at the Arlequin for 1 night (breaking up a trip from the UK back to Switzerland) with our 2 children aged 4 and 2. I booked from the hotel website based on it's location and price. The hotel was above our expectations. Our room had a comfortable double bed and tv in one room and a small second bedroom with another tv and two single beds. The room was clean and the decor was bright. The only draw back was that it was on the 3rd floor and there was no lift. I thought that the hotel must have been empty as it was so quiet so imagine my surprise when the breakfast room was full the next day.

The breakfast buffet was a bit disappointing as it consisted mostly of prewrapped cheese but the coffee and croissants were excellent and the price was right.

We had a chance to look at some of the other rooms in the hotel and all looked well maintained and bright. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will stay there again if given the chance and would recommend to friends.

  • Liked — Cheery decor
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#5 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Poste
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#11 of 23 in Troyes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#2 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlequin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlequin

Property: Hotel Arlequin
Address: 50 rue Turenne, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Troyes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arlequin 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Arlequin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlequin Hotel Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing