We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for my needs”
Review of Hotel de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very good location close to the railway station and a very short walk into the city centre, I received a warm welcome from a multilingual Dutch receptionist, who proved to be very helpful with information about the city.

I was allocated room 208 at the rear of the hotel, so nice and quiet. The room was a reasonable size with double bed and a large en suite shower room. Electric shutters ensured the room was nice and cool and perfectly dark at night.

The corridors and stairways to my room were poorly lit by timed buttons, otherwise the hotel facilities seemed fine. In fact it looked as though the reception and lobby and dining areas had recently had a very agreeable make-over.

Throughout my first day there the front door, which operates electronically, and other electric systems, were undergoing maintenance and this was a bit inconvenient as the power was off and I had to wait for the door to be opened manually on my many excursions into and out of the building.

I noticed that during the mornings when guests were wishing to check out there were very few staff on duty, or they were engaged elsewhere, and guests were having to wait longer than I would have thought reasonable.

The breakfast buffet provided a reasonable choice, with a member of staff on hand to ensure supplies didn't run low.

I thought this was an OK hotel that I would use again for a city break or overnight stop.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

We made a booking via a travel site

On our arrival on the evening of 30th April, we were informed by the receptionist that the credit card details from booking.com were only taken as confirmation, and that we had to pay in cash for the 2 rooms. We made the payment in cash.

We were allotted the rooms, which were extremely shabby, and damp. The lobby for the floor didnt even have proper lighting. When we complained to the receptionist, that these were not the rooms we had seen , we were then offered the rooms that in her words, were meant for us. When we asked the receptionist, why she didnt give us these rooms, in the first place, she had no answer. The alternate rooms was extremely dirty as well, with dirty linen and carpeting.

Since the rooms on show were not habitable, we asked for proper alternate arrangements or our money back. The receptionist refused to entertain any issues. She was extremely rude, so I asked to talk to the manager/owner of the property.

Talking to the owner made the situation far worse. He was extremely rude, was uwilling to understand our situation. He ordered us to take these rooms or "get out of the property", despite us trying to make them aware of the reason. At about 9:30 PM, we had to leave the town and look for alternate accomodation.
The hotel was under renovation. However, there was no information about this at the time of booking, or before our arrival.
When I had called the travel agent booking rep this morning, she called up the hotel, and she was told that there was no booking in our name for that day. This is a complete misrepresentation of facts , since we have indeed had a booking and we had indeed visited the hotel.

I also called up my bank and was duly informed that my credit card has also been charged for 120 EUR. This effectively meant, that I have been charged twice for an accomodation which I didnt even use.

The whole experience of dealing with the hotel receptionist and especially the hotel owner has been very frustrating. In addition,the body language of the hotel owner, was extremely threatening, and clearly he took advantage of the fact that we were tourists in a relatively unknown place. We were quite harrassed and in that stressed out state, had to look for alternate accomodation in another town , late at night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nitin_K30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

If you want a really good value hotel a short walk into the centre of lovely Troyes then this hotel is to be recommended. It is not in the slightest way posh but the people are helpful and friendly, the rooms are what you need, if no more, and there is breakfast. What you save on accommodation will pay for most of a decent meal and you get the chance to walk it off afterwards.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This hotel shows all the signs of lacking investment. The carpets in the room were pink. It was not dirty but very tired and dis-coloured. The furnishing were similar and the out side view dull and needing a coat of fresh paint. But, the staff were very nice polite and helpfull. The rooms were big enough, some times hearing traffic noise through the night. A short walk across the road and you are in the old town. It will take a good day or two to take it all in. Across the road a small park which is very nice to sit and take in the day or have a read. Easy to find this hotel and so close to town centre max 5 min' walk.
Thought it was a bit expensive for being so worn out but its location spot on for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank champignon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed here 1 night as a stop over. If you are looking for a cheap hotel with no frills then this will serve the purpose. The hotel is centrally located which is what we were after and we parked our car across the road paying at a meter, we arrived at 1pm and the car park only cost 3.80 Euros but 5.80 Euros all day. The hotel check in is 2.30pm and we went in before but there was no-one there so don't expect to be able to leave your bags. We didn't have the breakfast for 7 Euros, the room was clean and spacious for a budget hotel, the bathroom small but absolutely fine for 1 person at a time. The only downside was that our room was situated on the main road so a bit of traffic could be heard during the night, but apart from that we were pleased for what we paid for. There was no real customer service, but we were not looking for this, we just paid our money and it did the job.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pochalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I booked to stay at this hotel for one night the 26 December 2009, as a stop over on the way through France as we were going ski-ing. I booked a family room, in May/June 2009.

On arrival in Troyes @ 4.45 on 26 December, we found the hotel, rang the doorbell but to no avail, we then contacting the email booking service we used, and luckily managed to speak to someone there who phoned the hotel and found a recorded message saying they had closed for December!! - luckily the booking service managed to find another hotel for us.

On my January 2010 credit card statement, the Hotel de la Gare Relais had charged me for the room, 7 days later, the booking service are being very helpful and are trying to get this money back. In a phone call this morning from the booking service, they advise me that dispute a number of phone call by french speaking staff, the hotel are being very unco-operative.

I would advise any considering this hotel, to avoid it as they may find that they don't actually have anywhere to stay when they get to Troyes!!

I have rated the hotel terrible, but obviously, as we could not get it cannot rate the rooms, but in our opinion service is not existant.
Very angry family, England

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank SJSNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lionel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Poste & Spa
3 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#12 of 22 in Troyes
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
#2 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Troyes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Address: 8 boulevard Carnot, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing