We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and pleasant too.”
Review of Hotel de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Gare
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money and pleasant too.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed two nights on the way to south of France and then one night on the way back. Currently being refurbished but rooms clean and modern. Breakfast was typical. Ut plentiful. All staff friendly and helpful.

Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    63
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
33
45
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our trip North through France took us via Troyes where we had booked the Hotel de la Gare for one night. The owners are obviously spending a lot of money upgrading the Hotel, and the reception area, and the breakfast room are very nice, tastefully decorated, and quite welcoming. However, when we climbed the stair, ( there are no lifts, be aware if any person has disability issues), and we were quite shocked at the state of the hallway stairs and landings. It is a complete building site, work in progress. Some unfinished rooms have part doors fixed, wiring is hanging everywhere, wifi senders hang from the wall, and alarms, both smoke and fire also are suspended by wires from walls and ceilings. I assume the alarms are working even although not yet attached to their proper locations. The area of work would in my opinion be a Health & Safety issue if it were situated in the UK. There was a taste in the air of cement and plaster dust. Our room was very nice being one that had been recently upgraded. It has a modern appearance, tasteful decoration, a very good shower in a rather small bathroom, and a modern flat screen wall mounted TV.
The Hotel is not cheap charging 72 Euros per night, 10 Euros each for breakfast and 7 Euros for underground car parking. There is outside parking and that would be a matter for personal choice.The breakfast was good, served in a modern dinning room. We were not warned either before or on arrival that the Hotel was in this state of building work. I also feel that some gesture to guests expected to stay in conditions like that should be made. Perhaps giving breakfast as part of the deal? By all means stay in what will be a very nice Hotel...WHEN IT IS FINISHED...!! However be aware that there are issues you may not like.

Room Tip: Make sure the building work is completed..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryUK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troyes hotels

Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed over on our way to Strasbourg,arrived mid evening and was warmly welcomed. Nice room overlooking the road which was not too noisy.
Food was pretty good and accompanied with a carafe of decent wine which was presented as a gift from the management.{2001}

Room Tip: Try to stay at the rear if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Took a room here for 2 nights as it was central, that was its only good point. rooms very basic, breakfast ok ish. if i returned to Troyes would stay elsewhere. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritAbroad
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very good location close to the railway station and a very short walk into the city centre, I received a warm welcome from a multilingual Dutch receptionist, who proved to be very helpful with information about the city.

I was allocated room 208 at the rear of the hotel, so nice and quiet. The room was a reasonable size with double bed and a large en suite shower room. Electric shutters ensured the room was nice and cool and perfectly dark at night.

The corridors and stairways to my room were poorly lit by timed buttons, otherwise the hotel facilities seemed fine. In fact it looked as though the reception and lobby and dining areas had recently had a very agreeable make-over.

Throughout my first day there the front door, which operates electronically, and other electric systems, were undergoing maintenance and this was a bit inconvenient as the power was off and I had to wait for the door to be opened manually on my many excursions into and out of the building.

I noticed that during the mornings when guests were wishing to check out there were very few staff on duty, or they were engaged elsewhere, and guests were having to wait longer than I would have thought reasonable.

The breakfast buffet provided a reasonable choice, with a member of staff on hand to ensure supplies didn't run low.

I thought this was an OK hotel that I would use again for a city break or overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Britabroad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We made a booking via a travel site

On our arrival on the evening of 30th April, we were informed by the receptionist that the credit card details from booking.com were only taken as confirmation, and that we had to pay in cash for the 2 rooms. We made the payment in cash.

We were allotted the rooms, which were extremely shabby, and damp. The lobby for the floor didnt even have proper lighting. When we complained to the receptionist, that these were not the rooms we had seen , we were then offered the rooms that in her words, were meant for us. When we asked the receptionist, why she didnt give us these rooms, in the first place, she had no answer. The alternate rooms was extremely dirty as well, with dirty linen and carpeting.

Since the rooms on show were not habitable, we asked for proper alternate arrangements or our money back. The receptionist refused to entertain any issues. She was extremely rude, so I asked to talk to the manager/owner of the property.

Talking to the owner made the situation far worse. He was extremely rude, was uwilling to understand our situation. He ordered us to take these rooms or "get out of the property", despite us trying to make them aware of the reason. At about 9:30 PM, we had to leave the town and look for alternate accomodation.
The hotel was under renovation. However, there was no information about this at the time of booking, or before our arrival.
When I had called the travel agent booking rep this morning, she called up the hotel, and she was told that there was no booking in our name for that day. This is a complete misrepresentation of facts , since we have indeed had a booking and we had indeed visited the hotel.

I also called up my bank and was duly informed that my credit card has also been charged for 120 EUR. This effectively meant, that I have been charged twice for an accomodation which I didnt even use.

The whole experience of dealing with the hotel receptionist and especially the hotel owner has been very frustrating. In addition,the body language of the hotel owner, was extremely threatening, and clearly he took advantage of the fact that we were tourists in a relatively unknown place. We were quite harrassed and in that stressed out state, had to look for alternate accomodation in another town , late at night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nitin_K30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

If you want a really good value hotel a short walk into the centre of lovely Troyes then this hotel is to be recommended. It is not in the slightest way posh but the people are helpful and friendly, the rooms are what you need, if no more, and there is breakfast. What you save on accommodation will pay for most of a decent meal and you get the chance to walk it off afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#11 of 22 in Troyes
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arlequin
Hotel Arlequin
#9 of 22 in Troyes
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Cirque
Hotel du Cirque
#12 of 22 in Troyes
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Property: Hotel de la Gare
Address: 8 boulevard Carnot, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing