We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally placed with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Centrally placed with very helpful staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A very good hotel in a perfect position for exploring Troyes. Also our inwardly facing room was very quiet which is unusual for a city centre hotel.
All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesayer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and extremely helpful and that you found the location of the hotel perfect for exploring the city centre.
It's nice to know that your room was quiet, and as you mentioned, that's rare being situated right in the heart of the old city centre, and though all our rooms have extra double-glazing, having an inner facing room was even quieter.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    232
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
87
440
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Situated in the middle of Troyes so handy for sight seeing, bars and restaurants. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We had a suite which was very comfortable with free Wifi, tea making facilities,ipod player, good TV. Bathroom facilities were excellent. The only thing wrong with this room was the noise from the cafes and bars in the street below which went on well past 1.30 am but that's what one would expect however good double glazing wouldn't go amiss. Breakfast was good though we only noticed the sign for cooked breakfast after we had finished and I am not fond of Tropicana orange juice. They do not do evening meals but were very helpful suggesting good restaurants near by. Like other visitors our Disco was too high to go in the entrance to the secure car park but the receptionist guided us in through the exit, brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the very pleasant and helpful commentary that you wrote on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel ideal for discovering the city center and our staff exceptionnally friendly and helpful.
Its nice to know that you found the suite comfortable and well fitted with free wifi, tea making facilities, ipod player and good TV.
We were surprised to hear about the noise from the bars and cafes nearby as the majority of our rooms are fitted with doubled "double glazing" to avoid such disturbances and the only problem being that sometimes our clients like to leave their windows open which evidently defeats the purpose of extra double glazing.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and, as you mentioned, we do offer the possibility of a cooked breakfast as well as our traditional buffet. For the orange juice we have Tropicano but if our guests prefer a pressed orange juice that can be provided also.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After travelling from the beauiful Gorge du Verdon, we didnt think our holiday could improve anymore. However, after visiiting this beautiful hotel with the perfect location and incredibly polite and friendly staff, we can honestly say that a trip to this beautiful city would not be complete without staying at this gorgeous gem ( i am reluctant to share my newfound little piece of heaven) but, i really do need to advise you, that if you visit Troyes, stay here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the very nice commentary that you wrote on tripadvisor about your stay with us. We were delighted to read that you really enjoyed the night that you spent here in Troyes and that you found the city a wonderful, though not very well known, little gem.
It was very pleasant to read that you found the hotel beautiful, the location perfect and our staff polite and very friendly, your compliments will be passed onto them.
We were glad to read that you were not dissappointed by the time you spent here, and we look forward to seeing you again.
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of the old quarter of Troyes. The lady on reception was friendly and welcoming and helped with suggestions for eating and touring the city. Rooms were not large but were very adequate, clean quiet and comfortable. For a stay of a few days more than adequate. Breakfast was nicely presented with typical buffet serving you get in most locations these days.
Key recommendation would be to contact the hotel BEFORE arriving if doing so by car. The car parking arrangements are great but you have to know where to go as you would not find them easily. In the end we parked up and walked to the hotel - once we knew it was so easy!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine - just the car parking to sort before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cablegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you found our staff at the reception very helpful and welcoming. The hotel does not have a restaurant so we do try and help our clients with suggestions concerning the different restaurants around the hotel, and we can make the necessary reservations for them if they wish. Our aim being that our clients have an enjoyable meal in the type of restaurant that they are looking for i.e brasserie, gastronomic, bar à vin, creperie, etc.
The location of the hotel is ideal, within 40 metres of the town hall, new tourist office, the city square and in the heart of the old city center. Unfortunately it does have the inconveniance of having some of the rooms of a smaller size but we're glad to read that you found your room very adequate, clean, quiet and comfortable.
We try and offer a breakfast of quality with freshly made eggs, local and regional cheeses, hams, cereals and fourteen different types of jams combined with the traditional french breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Picked this one out thanks to a quick surf on the web and am delighted to say it was an excellent find. Attentive polite staff ( and excellent English spoken), from making the initial booking over the phone through to the duration of our stay there. You cannot beat the location in the very centre of 'old' Troyes and the secure underground car park is a bonus ( and well worth the 10 Euro charge). The room was excellent and very comfortable and you are beautifully sited right in the heart of the old town, a stone's throw from many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_MacDonald_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to make a commentary on tripadvisor about your stay with us here in Troyes. We were very pleased to read that you found the staff attentive, polite and with an excellent level of english and that your room was comfortable.
Its also nice to know that you appreciated the underground secure car park with its direct link to the hotel, and that you found it well worth the 10 euro charge.
As you mentioned, the fact that the hotel is within a stones throw of many restaurants and right in the heart of the old city centre enables our guests to really enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of the the old city centre and visit the museums, churches and points of interest all by foot and all within maximum 10 minutes walking distance.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Because our car is 1m95 high, we were told when we booked that the only way into the car park under the hotel was to enter via the car park exit. We were told to park on-street nearby when we arrived, walk to Hotel Reception and they would escort us round to the car park exit and negotiate our entry through the exit. Which they did, even though it took one of the girls from Reception 15 minutes to accompany us. Very impressed by this level of bespoke service. Hotel is bang in the middle of the old town, but not noisy at night, and our double room "Luxe" on the top floor was spacious and stylishly appointed with very efficient A/C. My one criticism is breakfast, which was otherwise OK, but served in a dark and small soul-less room. You need a SatNav to get you to the car park as the centre of Troyes is a maze of confusing narrow one way streets (and the same street can change its name up to 3 times in a few hundred yards) whilst the entrance to the Hotel is 100 yards inside the pedestrianised centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndld425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you wrote on tripadvisor about your overnight stay with us here in Troyes. We were very pleased to read that, even though your vehicle was too high for the entrance we were able to get it into the car park via the exit which is slightly higher. As you mentioned its not always easy to find the correct road into the car park because of the old middle age streets which are beautiful but can be confusing, therefore we do our best to guide our clients as much as possible when needed.
We do appreciate the remark that you made concerning the high level of service and we do hope to continue likewise in the future.
We were glad to read that you found the room spacious, stylishly appointed and very clean.
For the breakfast room we have noted your remark and we hope to be able to renovate and change the location of the breakfast room for the beginning of next year.
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Best hotel we've ever stayed in on our way to south of France. Car park on site, comfortable rooms, fabulous location. Would definitely go back. I think it's a little pricey for the lack of facilities but the rooms, friendly staff and location make up for the smallish foyer, bar, 'gym'. Very good night.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor - they're smaller and a little stuffy up under the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you have made on tripadvisor about your overnight stay with us here in Troyes. We were pleased to read that you found the rooms comfortable, the location fabulous, the underground car park secure and ideal and our staff friendly and attentive
As you mentioned the foyer, bar and gym areas can be considered small but our situation within the old historical middle age city center prevents any extensions, one of the small disadvantages of the hotel being situated within the old city center.
We look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.4 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison de Rhodes
La Maison de Rhodes
#8 of 22 in Troyes
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#10 of 22 in Troyes
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Address: 51 rue Paillot de Montabert | 10000, 10000, Troyes, France (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Saint Jean)
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing