We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a one night stop enroute through France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect for a one night stop enroute through France”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the old town of Troyes. When booking ensure that you mention that you need to park your car and that you get their excellent directions to the car park which is the car park of the hotel de ville. This is the address that you will need for the sat nav. Take the ticket and follow the signs to the first floor where they have their bays for the hotel and a door just for those wishing to stay at the hotel. buzz the door com and it will open and follow the winding corridor up to the lift and from their to reception. The hotel has only a few rooms but these are good or at least the junior suite was. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom with a seperate standing up shower . There is no restaurant in the hotel and as it was a Sunday we had to settle for an average meal as most places were closed. However we did have a lovely walk around the medieval part of the town and I had a good cigar in the main square at night in front of the elegant hotel de ville. The whole area was well lit in a very pretty way. Breakfast is in the hotel and is a self service buffet and not bad ...usual suspects in terms of breads, croissants, jams fruit and coffee, tea. The cost of the hotel is excellent and I would stay here every time if the route works out to be going this direction. The hotel staff are very pleasant indeed and there is a nice bar by reception. Remember to give your parking ticket in at reception before leaving and they will give you a special ticket for the barrier so as to leave. The hotel is better than most Novotel, Mercures etc and the staff ensure that you feel welcome

Room Tip: a junior suite is not much more to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you have made on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you found the hotel perfectly located in the heart of the old city centre of Troyes and the undergound car park with its direct access to the hotel a great asset.
We're glad that you enjoyed the "Junior Suite" and that you found the bed comfortable and the bathrom clean whilst offering both a bath and a standing up shower.
This of course depends on the Junior Suite available as there are only three of them and they're all different in size and decoration.
It's nice to know that you appreciated your evening stroll with a cigar in front of the town hall and that you found the town decor very pretty.
Breakfast was nice and you found the cost of your stay excellent, the staff very pleasant, and they made you feel welcome.
It's important for us to know that we are the right things and we do look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    232
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
87
440
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hotel St. Jean is a great place to stay to visit the old town of Troyes. They have nice big parking spaces reserved in the Hotel de Ville parking garage with entry right into the hotel. The hotel itself is not the newest and the rooms are on the small side but the rooms are clean and very adequate and the helpfulness of the desk staff can't be beat. Once the car is parked and you are checked in you walk right out into the 15th century. The desk staff is very helpful in recommending restaurants, especially on Sunday evenings when surprisingly, there aren't many open. They offer a breakfast for an additional fee, but since you are in the middle of the town it's pretty easy to find any number of bakeries, etc where you can do as well or better. The location can't be beat, especially for these prices and the people who run it are so friendly and helpful we would choose it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your commentary on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you found the hotel a great place to stay in order to visit the old town of Troyes and that the location couldn't be beaten, the price good value and the staff very helpful and friendly.
You appreciated the parking underneath the hotel with its direct access to the hotel. You noted that the rooms were clean and very adequete and the room size depends basically on the type of room that you choose ranging from the small standard room to the Junior suite Prestige.
It's nice to know that our staff were very helpful, especially in recommending restaurants, which is slightly more difficult on the Sunday and Mondays due to the closure of a certain number of them.
Breakfast is extra but we do offer a full buffet with freshly cooked eggs, omelettes etc on request for our guests.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a very friendly hotel and an excellent overnight stay on the way back towards Calais. We asked for a quiet room and certainly got one, although it would seem at the expense of any kind of view. We will probably ask for a noisy room next time! The room was beautiful and very well appointed (tea and coffee making facilities, small fridge and no problem asking for fresh milk from reception). Huge bathroom with bath and shower. Separate toilet. The air conditioning left a lot to be desired and we should have been frozen in our sleep if it had actually achieved the temperature we set it to. We slept very well though, and it was hard to imagine we were in a busy city centre. Great parking in a CCTV monitored underground car park. Troyes itself is a must-see city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you had an excellent overnight stay on your way back to Calais.
You had requested a quiet room and therefore we reserved you a room giving onto the inner courtyard. As you mentioned it was very very quiet but didn't have a view. Please don't hesitate to ask for a room giving onto the pedestrian middle-age street next time as they have all been sound proofed also.
We're glad that you found the room beautiful with a nice bathroom, seperate toilet and very well appointed with all the necessary facilities.
You slept well which is very important to us and we'll have the air-conditioning unit re-checked just in case.
Our car parking facility was ideal for you with our own CCTV system and a direct link to the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Troyes and the Champagne region.
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here on our way back from the South of France. The hotel is in a great location in the very centre of the beautiful old part of Troyes. Very convenient secure underground parking with a lift directly to the hotel reception. We had a very spacious luxe room which was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious but perhaps in need of updating by comparison to other bathrooms pictured on the hotel website. Very friendly helpful staff and good breakfast. Would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your commentary on tripadvisor. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us on your trip back from the south of France. As you noted the hotel is in a great location in the center of the old middle age part of Troyes.
You found your luxe room spacious, quiet and comfortable, even though the bathroom is a bit old fashioned and the underground secure car park ideal and very convenient.
Its also nice to know that you found our staff very helpful and that you had a good breakfast before leaving.
We'll be delighted to see you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very central hotel in a beautiful city. We had an upgraded room which was very pleasant.
Staff and management very helpful.
Bars and restaurants in immediate vicinity. Air con' was not up to scratch, the temperature was in the high 20's when we visited in late June. However enjoyed our stay very much.
Do your research on locating the car park which whilst very convenient, locating it in the dark could give grounds for divorce!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We appreciated reading that you found the hotel very central and the city itself very beautiful.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff and management very helpful.
There are many bars and restaurants within the immediate vicinity and as we don't have a restaurant we do try and provide recommendations to our guests in order to help them.
You enjoyed your stay and as you noticed its very important, if you arrive by car, to enter the address of the car park, 49 Rue du General de Gaulle, car park "Hotel de Ville".
This address enables our guests to enter the hotel directly via the car park and avoid driving around the pedestrian streets looking for the hotel.
We do look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here passing through Troyes on the way to our family holiday in Italy. Were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff on reception very helpful, the location of the hotel was very central, and the room was great. We stayed in a triple room which provided an extra bed for our 7 year old son.The jacuzzi bath with disco lights was a big hit with him! Our room also had a good view and was close to restaurants and the sights of Troyes.
The breakfast buffet was a little small in choice, but there were only 2 businessmen eating there at the same time, and we got the feeling the hotel wasn't full. The underground parking was an added bonus, and it was an easy transfer from car to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHIBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and that the staff were very helpful.
You found our location very central and the underground car park with its direct link to the hotel an added bonus.
We're glad that you enjoyed the room and that our latest balneo bath in the bathroom was a big hit with your 7 year old son.
The buffet breakfast offers a variety of products, the classical french breakfast and also eggs, bacon, omelettes etc which are cooked on request but please don't hesitate to ask if you're missing something.
We look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff at Le Relais St Jean are marvellous - from the manager down. They made my stay at Troyes one to remember. From booking a car for me for a day, to sorting out a difficulty with fuel payment, it was all done promptly, efficiently and graciously. The hotel is perfectly clean, comfortable and convenient. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good, and if it weren't the staff would quickly accommodate your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very pleasant commentary that you made on tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that you found our staff, including the manager, marvellous and that we made your stay one to remember .
The staff were only to pleased to help with your car rental and fuel payment and we appreciate the fact that you found our services prompt, efficient, gracious and the hotel itself perfectly clean, comfortable and convenient.
We look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.4 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison de Rhodes
La Maison de Rhodes
#8 of 22 in Troyes
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#10 of 22 in Troyes
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Address: 51 rue Paillot de Montabert | 10000, 10000, Troyes, France (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Saint Jean)
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing