We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Golden Tulip Troyes(Barberey-Saint-Sulpice)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Western City(Barberey-Saint-Sulpice)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
115
58
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
58
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingsmall poolromantic hotelfrom scratchside roadindividual roomscathedral bellsother guestscharming roomchez felixmedieval cityfrench breakfastcomfortable bedyogurthalf timbered housesstay there againseparate wc
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The good things were the lovely staff who could not have been more helpful and kind. Fantastic breakfast and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is in a pretty part of old Troyes, full of character and charm. But we do like a shower, and there wasn't one in a capacious bathroom. We thought the evening meal, though well done, was very ordinary food and quite high charges. It nearly doubled the price of our one night stay. We met couples who go back there over and over again. We would probably choose another for a future stop in the region

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have very low beams - not good for tall people
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Gérant at Le Champ Des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you to have taking time to leave your feedback.

The breakfast " à la carte" is composed of 23 products local, biologic or/and home made.

We understand your point of view concerning the restaraurant.

The price can be explain by the fact that the chef cook only fresh product and make all meals home made.

Hoping to welcome you for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Le Champ des Oiseaux is a boutique hotel in the center of Troyes and in walking distance to old town. The rooms are nicely decorated and create a very warm atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent English. There is a little pool but not really for swimming more for a quick refresher. Ideal location for a long weekend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Gérant at Le Champ Des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guest,

We thank you for your nice word.

Like you say, the hotel is ideally located in the historical part of the town.

The director, himself make the decoration with the furnitures of "Mise en demeure" (Paris).

The outside swimming pool is warm, equipped with a system that you can swim against the current and a part with jaccuzi.

Looking forward to welcome you for your next stay in Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The hotel is supposed to be 5 stars, and is priced accordingly, but has none of the minima you expect from a 5 stars hotel. The so-called swimming pool is a baby's bath, the rooms have no fridge, there is no real night service, the air conditioning is not working, some rooms have headway below 6 foot... etc.
Internet does not work properly
the street is quiet and location perfect but the rooms are very noisy
The setting is superb, but there are other ones in Troyes

the breakfast if appalling. The only good thing is the service provided by the trainees...
And the worse is the price which includes many surprises...
This hotel is also called la maison de Rhodes, just be careful.

Room Tip: avoid any room under the roof, the heat is untenable.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank globalbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Propriétaire at Le Champ Des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Mr Turcq,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback about your stay with us.

As you said, we are ideally located at the heart of the historical part of Troyes, just next to the Cathedral and 2 minutes away from the city center, by walking.

The building is a former templar possession, fully restored during 3 years. The beams, woodwork and paved stones courtyards have been saved to keep the medieval charm of the XIIth and XVIth years.

All our rooms are different and unique. Some are located on the ground floor, on the first floor or under the roof. Do not hesitate to specify your expectations upon booking so we can give you entire satisfaction.

Indeed, the rooms are not equipped with fridge. we prefer to provide you a total personalized and professionnal service, upon request. You can call for whatever you want, just dialing the number 9 (reception).

We are really surprized to read that the air conditioning did not work during your stay. There is a remote and a using notice to explain you how to use the air conditioning. We are sorry that it wasn't explained clear enough and we take into account yur feedback to improve our service.

Do not hesitate to notice to the reception if you have any Internet problem. As we did not notice anything at the reception, we can try to reboot our system for the wifi to work better in the rooms.

Our swimming pool is equipped with a jaccuzzi part and a swin-against-the-current mode. It's heated at 27°C so you can enjoy it and relax.

Every morning you can taste a French à la carte breakfast and choose among 23 fresh, local and biological products. The breakfast can be served either in your room or in the breakfast room. Do not hesitate to ask your what you want, the personal will be glad to satisfy all your requests.

We are a team of professionals of the Hostellerie and Tourism. Indeed, we share our knowledge and our passion with trainees who would like to work in this field and to provide you the best service. The best formation we give to them, the best Tourism agents they are. We are proud to employ trainees and to support them in every process.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, called Cross, and although it was small the furnishing and the detail were done extremely well and generously. The bed was not enormous but it was a very good bed, likewise the linen was excellent. The bathroom was tiny but there was a bath and a separate WC - so useful in a hotel room! Plenty of towels and hot water etc
Only a small bottle of still water and small glasses which is just silly. Only two rolls of loo paper - we didn't need more but it looked mean.
And then there was dinner. It is a formula and they have by and large got it right. Tapenade and super fresh bread with your aperitif, a marvellous character of a chef who meets the customers and a very small menu. Steak, Lamb, fish which he cooks from scratch and well, but the vegetables are clearly preprepared and that was a shame. Starter s and puddings also involved no cooking so a very small team but a good operation and the dining room was one of the prettiest I have ever eaten in. Small, intimate but not stuffy. In the summer there is a splash pool and a wonderful courtyard. We liked it.

Room Tip: Our room was over the tiny street and profoundly peaceful. They have wonderful suites if you would like a bigger room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Gérant at Le Champ Des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Elizabeth,

We thank you to have taking time to leave your feedback.

The room from 20 to 70m² are highlighbed with the fourniture of "Mise en demeure".(Paris)

The chef welcomes you with pleasure from Tuesday to Saturday for the dinner. He code with fresh and local product. the chef serve himself our guest to give all the secret of the dish at the moment to take the order.

Looking forward to welcome you, for your next stay in troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We had been to this hotel in the past and always been satisfied but something has changed. On our arrival the receptionist was just unhelpful and in the morning another receptionist was just plain rude! We won't go back.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Gérant at Le Champ Des Oiseaux, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Mrs Sullivan,

We are sorry to read about such a bad impression you had during your stay with us.

Wa always ask our clients if they need help with their luggage upon arrival.

We are apologize if you didn't feel helped enought.

Do not hesitate to notice us any feedback during your stay so we can do our best to make you feel comfortable.

With our best regards, all the team of le Champ des Oiseaux.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews