We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located, a charming building and helpful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Somerset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideally located, a charming building and helpful owners”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had three nights here in a first floor room towards the back of the hotel. This had the advantage of remaining cool during the day (30c+) and also away from any road noise.

The room was of a good size with character and whilst the bathroom and separate WC wasn't spacious you have to accept that this is a very old building and therefore in keeping with it.

The owners were very helpful and the secure parking is a huge bonus (motorcycle locked away). Breakfast was good value for 6.5€ and despite the roadworks going on outside the rooms were always clean

ideally located for the centre of Troyes and easy to get to from the main routes around the city. For a city centre hotel the price was good and I would be happy to use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMCT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    129
    73
    40
    22
See reviews for
86
143
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at Les Comtes de Champagne for one night travelling from Savoie to Dunkirk this August. We would happliy recommend it and all its wonky bits! My husband said the breakfast room gave him an Escher experience as the floor tilted slghtly one way, whilst the window was going the other way. The building is old and timber framed and lovely.

We chose the hotel from good tripadvisor reviews and they were accurate as seems to be usual.

The roadworks right outside the hotel makes it really dusty all along the road but it does mean that parking is free on the road if you dont want to pay for the indoor parking. However the indoor parking garage is large and roomy and easy to get into. There also seem to be another bit across the road. We decided to pay the 6.5 euros for the indoor parking as we could leave as much luggage in the car as we liked and pop back sevarl times that evening for the bits we suddenly found we needed.

Our family room was large, with TV and ensuite. Our sons each had a proper single bed -- a relief after Novotel crunching them onto a small double pull out sofa.The room was full of character and charm and, despite the cloying heat outside, it was cool. We were at the back of the hotel, looking out onto an interior courtyard. The lack of Air con was not an issue. We tend to find that air con doesnt work properly in many chain hotels anyway, and so chose a traditional building which would utilise the old ways of cooling the building (courtyard etc). It certainly worked in this case and we slept well --just woken relatively early by the noisy people above us.

The location is great, close to all the sights and restaurants. The hotel breakfast was tea/choc/coffee, croissants, bread, jam, plain yoghurt -- and extra was cheerfully brought when asked for. The service from M & Mme Picard was excellent and friendly, their English is fine, but then we always try out our French on principle, and I think that it does help when the locals take pity on your poor language skills!

We will visit both this hotel and Troyes again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fangthewonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I want to give this hotel a good review because in many ways it is the perfect stop over destination - the owner was very helpful and there is loads of atmosphere. We hadn't been to Troyes before and there was lots there to see. Best of all is the secure parking in a courtyard across from the hotel so we could leave everything in the car without a backward look. The room rates are very reasonable and so the quality of soft furnishing in the room has to be viewed with that fact in mind - the bed was comfortable. However, why I have only given the hotel three stars is because I actually had an awful nights sleep there - we had a room looking out onto the street and its a very small non busy road but does seem to be a way that people walk back to their houses after a night out in Troyes. The hotel is very old and is made out of timber and lathe and plaster and so doesn't offer much noise insulation - even if they were only talking to each other it woke me up. However, have to say that my partner wasn't affected at all by this and he slept well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyH008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Troyes is a gem. If you haven't been...go. Go now. Stunning medieval churches, half-timbered building everywhere, great restaurants. It's perfect for a long weekend or a stop on the way to or from the South of France...10 minutes off the motorway, 3 and a half hours from Calais etc. Honestly, I love Troyes.
Les Comptes de Champagne should be the perfect place...yes, it's central and yes, there's parking and yes, it's decent value. But...it's just too shabby. Almost shabby chic, but actually just shabby. Someone's dirty old coat left in the wardrobe, lots of dust, windows that don't quite close properly etc. The owners are nice...until something goes wrong and then the mask slips away quickly. They confused our booking with guests with the same surname and put us in a family room. Now maybe I should have said something immediately...but we were hot, we'd driven a long way and maybe (I thought) it was the only room they had. 20 minutes later when I thought I should query it with them, I'd already had a shower. Big deal? Not really...but it was enough for madame to snarl ''merde'' and kick up a stink. Maybe, madame, you should have just checked your reservation book correctly.
Finally..the walls are PAPER THIN. Really, really paper thin. If your idea of a good night's sleep includes listening to a middle aged German blowing his nose (and worse) in the wee small hours, book a room. Otherwise go to Troyes...but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren_1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troyes hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Family run, in lovely medieval buildings, bags of character (old paneling, exposed stonework, wonky staircases), friendly service, thoroughly authentic, central but not noisy, excellent value. A great find, especially given that not in the Michelin Guide, presumably because a little threadbare in parts, and EG no aircon (not a problem when we we there, in large a family room for four - no.16 - at the top of the building).
We also loved the champagne they stock - not too dry, fresh and fruity. Buy a case ! Buy a dozen !
Oh, and Troyes itself is a great place; lovely old buildings; walk the streets.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkondofSwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghhamshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We have just returned from France and my wife and I stayed at Les Comtes de Champagne for one night on the way from the South to Calais.
We chose the hotel because of the previous tripadvisor reviews and they were pretty much spot on.
There are currently roadworks right outside the hotel so access is a bit tricky and not as per the sat nav but we pulled up outside and the owner got us straight in the hotel's parking area opposite. It is dusty all along the road the hotel is on because of the roadworks but a minor inconvenience really.
We were quickly checked in to a "charming" room which was clean and airy. There wasn't any air con but this didn't bother us. It was a warm evening but very manageable.
The bathroom was fine for the price of the room.
We walked a few hundred yards to find plenty of good restaurants and bistros so the fact that there was no restaurant in the hotel was no big deal. We went to one of the restaurants in Troyes (Estelle & Olivier) that had good review on tripadvisor and wished we hadn't. It was a dreadful experience (the only one where the tripadvisor reviews have not proved accurate to date). Don't go there.
Breakfast in the hotel was the usual tea/coffee, croissants, bread, jam, plain yoghurt with refills if required. Good value at 6.5 euros compared with eating out.
All in all, good value, great location, easy parking, plenty of places nearby to eat and not one of these bland chain hotels that could be anywhere.
Troyes is full of history and well worth a day or two sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect, only a short walk into the heart of troyes, and the owners very helpful. Unfortunately for us, we had very little sleep in the 2 nights we were there as the hotel does not have aircon and with the mini heatwave France was experiencing in our time there, it was a rather unconfortable stay. The main street outside can be quite noisy at night with people leaving the town so I would request a room on the back of the hotel. We changed to room 16 on our second night which is on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel which was quiet, but again the lack of air con spolied our stay here a little.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#11 of 22 in Troyes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arlequin
Hotel Arlequin
#10 of 22 in Troyes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ

Property: Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ
Address: 54-56 rue de la Monnaie, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brit Hotel Les Comtes de Champ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Comtes De Champagne Hotel Troyes
Les Comtes De Champagne Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing