We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison de Rhodes
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is exquisite - old world, new world, great world! Large room, lovely furnishings, old world atmosphere! and Troyes is a city that MUST be visited if you are anywhere nearby. Incredible buildings and kept up to very high standards.

Room Tip: We had a "traditional" room - very lovely! They also have "beautiful rooms" whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    58
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
26
163
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very comfortable hotel. In a secluded area in Troyes next to Champs des Oiseaux. Dinner is excellent. You are so spoilt for choice when looking at the menu. What is the best. All of it is. A fantastic wine list. Just ty the Paullic! If that is not enough the breakfast the next day is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a lovely 1 night stay here on the way back from our wedding. Perfect location in the quiet cobbled old part of town. Great as you can park your car right outside the hotel if you are lucky. Hotel well signposted from the centre of town as you drive in. 5 minute walk to the town centre for a lovely meal or a crepe in the evening.
Very peaceful and tranquil hotel with discreet and friendly service. Late breakfast service that is great after you have been driving a long way. A glass of champagne in the court yard is a must to get you in the holiday mood. The breakfast was varied and beautifully presented. Not much in the way of top-ups offered. Service at breakfast was pretty average, with a lack of personnel about if you wanted anything. Saying that the quality was excellent and the decor very tasteful.
A word of warning that the rooms on the cathedral side are noisy in the morning with the bells ringing! Lovely and atmospheric but not condusive to a sleep in.
Would have loved to stay for dinner as the dining room is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Fully restored 400 year old building in a very quiet part of town close to the Cathedral and only a few minutes walk from the main part of this fascinating old city. Good off road parking (big enough for the Land Rover!) although plenty of space on the quiet street outside the front of the hotel. Lovely large room with comfortable bed and a wet room and good shower at the front of the hotel. Delicious food prepared, cooked and served by a charming (and very busy!) chef.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremySalvesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, with great room and service and really nice restaurant. Dog friendly, we had a really nice night here on the way to the south of France.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife and I were on a classic road trip to Monaco and needed to find a picturesque hotel for an overnight stop en route. We also needed secure accommodation for our Italian GT car so that I could sleep easily. We picked the hotel from the general website for Troyes area and looked at the pictures and information available on the hotel website. Our first impressions were judged correctly; the hotel is a gorgeous, if simply (Arts and Crafts springs to mind) furnished, refurbished period hotel. The work has been carried out beautifully and the service and food quality match and compliment the venue. Our room was a standard double room with en suite bathroom; it was in the attic space but although head room could be challenging with some of the beams it was a lovely space, perfect after a hard days drive. The room and ensuite were clean and tidy, immaculate actually, however there was no fridge or air conditioning, which on a hot day would cause problems if you do not like to be hot at night or needed a cold drink. We walked to the town to explore the city, see the sights (especially the cathedral) and some of the ancient architecture. It was about a ten minute walk to the town for an evening meal and the cathedral is the next street (about 200 meters away).
The staff were extremely helpful and between my poor French and their slightly better English skills we managed to communicate with no difficulty. They gave us a tour guide and told us the best places to eat and visit during our short stay. The car was given a special place in a secure part of the hotel garden (the managers/owners drive I think) and had a gate to shut it away from public view. I had previously discussed the parking situation with the hotel having read another review referring to the parking available, and the cost was an additional 15 Euros per night. Other parking is available in the street (subject to availability) or there is an underground public car park about 5 mins walk away. We stayed for breakfast, at extra cost, and ate a delightful French breakfast in the open air courtyard with the air temperature at 21C, the birds singing and the sun shining in the blue sky, perfect! The food was simple but very well presented, with attentive service and an exceptional taste helped of course by the ambience of the occassion. We loved the hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone staying to explore the region or just passing through, in fact we booked it again for our return journey 3 days later. I dont think it would be such a good place for a family, especially a young family, since the hotel is quiet and finiding things to do for young children may be a challenge; the TV for example, was only tuned to French satellite TV, not even BBC World Service was available, not a great loss you may argue! To sum up and quote an often used cliche, 'a wonderful gem of a hotel in a picturesque part of an ancient city....lovely!' I hope you like it, should you decide to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominicBenoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed for one night, a Saturday, parked on the cobbled street just around the corner from the hotel, safely tucked up against the high walls. We were greeted very warmly and politely by Laure and allocated the room 'du Chanoine', above the little restaurant. The room was gorgeous, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and fragranced and opening onto a central courtyard - you can hear the footsteps of the guests from the room above, not a problem when they chill out and take off their shoes! Seemed to be mainly couples staying here so unlikely to find lots of children running around.

We ate in the restaurant and were again greeted warmly by Rene who was waiter and chef. Meals were great, salade des tomates and savoury flan starters, lamb for main, with creamed potatoes and aubergines and courgettes accompaniment, completed by cheese for dessert.

Slept well, church bells start at 8 a.m., but charming rather than annoying to us. Breakfast is served rather than chosen which was great as it made us try things we would have otherwise not have done, absolutely lovely and just right to set us up for the long drive to Limoges.

It was expensive (by our own standards) but it was a lovely treat. In fact we stayed there the following Saturday too on our return journey to the UK, and this time we stayed in the bedroom petit Louvre, which was even better! Had dinner at the hotel again, the Beouf Provencale was absolutely delicious. We awoke on Sunday morning to church bells again and an air raid siren (I know!) which Laure explained was to alert the residents of Troyes that they could go and vote in the presidential elections...so I guess you're safe from a similar intrusion for the time being.

Troyes is gorgeous, could have walked around for hours and hours, but sadly no time. Lots of beautiful mediaeval buildings, many churches to explore.

Go on treat yourself! You can save a few Euros and eat in town - very sensible and there is nothing stopping you. We would now we have found our French Feet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz9705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.0 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#10 of 22 in Troyes
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Rhodes

Property: La Maison de Rhodes
Address: 18 rue Linard Gonthier, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Troyes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Troyes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison de Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's Restaurant prepares its menus exclusively from localy grown bio products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Maison de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maison De Rhodes Hotel Troyes
Le Maison De Rhodes Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing