We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy luxury hotel in historic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison de Rhodes
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On our way to the Vallée de la Loire, we made a one-night-stop-over in this very nicely restaured half-timbered house right in the center of Troyes. The rooms are big and nicely furnished, separate bathroom and toilet.
The restaurant has a small menu but the food was delicious, served in the very cosy courtyard.
Breakfast in the patio was very nice too, although not very much (à la française...).
Service was good - we might definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the room "Du Chanoine" on the 1st floor. Large room with window on the garden and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CricN6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Gérant at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de mettre vos commentaires.

Nous sommes ravie de savoir que votre séjour vous a entièrement donné satisfaction.
Comme vous l'aviez remarqué, nos chambres sont équipées de mobilier de chez "Mise en demeure".
Nous sommes également content de savoir que notre restaurant vous a plu.
Nous servons également le petit déjeuner en terrasse, si le temps le permet.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour a Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Wonderful old building in central Troyes. We took two rooms - a superior double on the top floor, and a traditional double for our kids on the floor below. The latter had a better view having several wondows, with one overlooking the picturesque internal courtyard. Our room was very spacious with lovely decor, only thing necessary was a lounge chair and coffee making, as there was plenty of room. Bathroom had large walk-in shower - perfect! Kids room was smaller but still ample, but there was only a hand-held shower in the bath - no good at all - I would have hated this! Staff were reserved but pleasant and helpful. Restaurant looked lovely but too costly for us, as was the breakfast. We ate at a restaurant recommended by the staff - L'Illustré - reasonably priced menu, and good ambience in an old Troyes setting.
Overall - well worth the financial splurge if you like historic settings! :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and with a good shower! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. We had a terrific experience here, though the hotel itself was a little expensive and actually could not meet a true five-star standard. Personal service was limited, the internet was weak -- but the setting and the views made up for all of that!

The hotel restaurant was the best part of our stay. We passed on a pricey breakfast (jam and bread, 18 Euros) but were delighted to enjoy the outstanding dinners and service provided by chef Rene Hachez. He recommended from the menu and paired our meals with excellent wines. Extraordinary to see this one man preparing such fine meals, serving the tables and pouring the drinks too.

Of course, the real story in Troyes is the historical city. Our hotel's foundations were laid around the year 1100 and the building seemed a perfect replica of a fifteenth century inn. The beamed ceilings, the beautifully crafted stairways and halls, the perfect courtyard, it was all faithful to the hotel's earliest days. The hotel is also located in a very old corner of the city, completing the escape back in time. You arrive and instantly enter the fifteenth century.

The Old City covered practically the entire city here, with remarkable effect. We visited the Rashi monument in town (honoring the famous Jewish scholar, Solomon bar Isaac, who lived here in the twelfth century), and enjoyed strolling the medieval streets and neighborhoods.

Our one criticism would be the small town attitude of the local citizens. We tumbled into town at mid-afternoon, famished for lunch. Wandering the town, everything was closed for the afternoon until we found one small bake shop that sold us a ham baguette: only the bar next door threw us out of their sidewalk table quite loudly and unpleasantly (they were all empty tables) and we had to eat on the run. On a rain-drenched afternoon we found the town's well known "Museum of Modern Art" but the clerk would not sell us a ticket since the museum was only open for another hour. Very unfriendly folks suffering the petty grumpiness of small town life, I'm afraid. The local bookstore also did not have town guides available in English (we ended up buying a pricey French language guide filled with lush photos, but were disappointed to miss the historical narrative).

That aside, the hotel is a gem and we strongly recommend the Maison Rhodes for your stay in Troyes. It made a wonderful pause in our Paris vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called the "petit louvre" -- it was vast, with two fireplaces and endl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I've just been looking through the reviews of this hotel, hoping and praying that I would see some improvement. No such luck.

But what struck me most is the lack of response from the management. I have to say that that in itself shows an extraordinary arrogance and is indicative of their attitude to guests.

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is a beautiful building and the rooms are perfectly nice but so many things could be SO MUCH BETTER.

* The prices are astronomical. 18 euros for coffee and a croissant cooked from frozen?
* The food in the 'restaurant" is very very mediocre but again a ridiculous price. Have dinner instead at L'Illustre.
* No way could this hotel be described as 4*. It is a stylish, expensive 3* boutique hotel. It's outrageous that no-one will help you with your baggage when there are two flights of uneven, steep, medieval stairs to go up.

All these points would be easy to address, but I suppose that they just don't need to. While people continue to book they clearly think they have no need to address OR EVEN ANSWER any criticism.

So why do we go back? Well, as I said the rooms are lovely. But, we have dinner and breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StAntonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was a very comfortable pit-stop on the way from the south of France to Calais. The bedroom
we were in was well appointed but missing some of the things we like - a headboard for the bed, a little fridge and a shower in the bathroom. However it was very sympathetically adapted to the
traveller's needs for such an old building. The restaurant was closed as it was a Sunday so we
had to go into the town centre to find a fairly basic meal which wasn't a hardship. The breakfast
served in the hotel was excellent. We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we got such a great room. service pre arrival was so perfect. location is very nice. we loved the town of troyes.
we did make a reservation at the restaurant. after driving for 4 hours we thought it would be the easiest. yes the restaurant is charming but the prices are steep. a vegies soup for 14 euros..should be the best but it was NOTHING to talk about. menu very limited and SUPER expensive. avoid eating here but do visit troyes and stay in that hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annetteapproved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel was perfectly adequate for a one night stay and we found Troyes to be a nice place to wander and find good restaurants. The whole town is obviously very geared up for tourists and I suppose that so far in France that was something we had managed to avoid, aiming to pass ourselves off as French at every opportunity! The building of Le Maison de Rhodes is incredible and the rooms are nice, but for the price we paid, we expected more - we had valet parking, a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean and air-con for the same price in Marseille.

If I had a reason to go back to Troyes I would be very happy staying here again but not sure I'm going to find one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpinchbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.0 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#11 of 22 in Troyes
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Rhodes

Address: 18 rue Linard Gonthier, 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Troyes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Troyes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Troyes
Price Range: £183 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison de Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's Restaurant prepares its menus exclusively from localy grown bio products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maison De Rhodes Hotel Troyes
Le Maison De Rhodes Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing