We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison de Rhodes
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Golden Tulip Troyes(Barberey-Saint-Sulpice)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Arlequin(Troyes)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$121
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
177
63
27
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
63
27
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildinglarge bathbeautiful historic buildingmichelin starmain dishlow beamsclosed on mondaystwo flights of stairsattic roomside streetfabulous hotelup to daterooms are spacioussouth of francestayed for one nightsecure parkingcourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We took two rooms, one with a bath on the 1st floor, and one the 2nd floor both overlooking the courtyard which was lovely. The attic room overlooked the street the other the courtyard. It was an amazing conversion of a medieval house(s). Very close to the cathederal and 5 minutes walk on very cobbled streets to the amazing old town.

Breakfast is a delight in the garden or inside. The restaurant is cosy and the menu limited and quirky but amazing. We thought it the best meal we ate in France. Some reviewers say it was pricey but it thought it worth it. We really enjoyed our two day stay.

Husbands beware that there is one of the biggest designer outlet shops just on the edge of Troyes.

Room Tip: Beware while having fans rooms aren't air conditioning. The stairs are wonderful but steep and job with cases but the staff were willing to help.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilDohaqatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Gérant at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de mettre vos commentaires.

Notre hôtel est idéalement situé dans le cœur historique de la ville aux pieds de la cathédrale.
Nos bâtiments du XVème et XVIème siècles sont classés et ont été restaurés et mis en valeur par les "Compagnons du Devoir."

Notre petit-déjeuner se compose de 18 produits issus de l'agriculture biologique (pain, beurre, confiture, croissant, yaourt, fruits secs, fruits de saisons, compote,...)

Notre Chef prépare sa carte à partir de produits frais, artisanaux ou issus de l'agriculture biologique.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour à Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On our way to the Vallée de la Loire, we made a one-night-stop-over in this very nicely restaured half-timbered house right in the center of Troyes. The rooms are big and nicely furnished, separate bathroom and toilet.
The restaurant has a small menu but the food was delicious, served in the very cosy courtyard.
Breakfast in the patio was very nice too, although not very much (à la française...).
Service was good - we might definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the room "Du Chanoine" on the 1st floor. Large room with window on the garden and large separate bathroom and separate toilet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CricN6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Gérant at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de mettre vos commentaires.

Nous sommes ravie de savoir que votre séjour vous a entièrement donné satisfaction.
Comme vous l'aviez remarqué, nos chambres sont équipées de mobilier de chez "Mise en demeure".
Nous sommes également content de savoir que notre restaurant vous a plu.
Nous servons également le petit déjeuner en terrasse, si le temps le permet.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau lors d'un prochain séjour a Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Wonderful old building in central Troyes. We took two rooms - a superior double on the top floor, and a traditional double for our kids on the floor below. The latter had a better view having several wondows, with one overlooking the picturesque internal courtyard. Our room was very spacious with lovely decor, only thing necessary was a lounge chair and coffee making, as there was plenty of room. Bathroom had large walk-in shower - perfect! Kids room was smaller but still ample, but there was only a hand-held shower in the bath - no good at all - I would have hated this! Staff were reserved but pleasant and helpful. Restaurant looked lovely but too costly for us, as was the breakfast. We ate at a restaurant recommended by the staff - L'Illustré - reasonably priced menu, and good ambience in an old Troyes setting.
Overall - well worth the financial splurge if you like historic settings! :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and with a good shower! :D
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. We had a terrific experience here, though the hotel itself was a little expensive and actually could not meet a true five-star standard. Personal service was limited, the internet was weak -- but the setting and the views made up for all of that!

The hotel restaurant was the best part of our stay. We passed on a pricey breakfast (jam and bread, 18 Euros) but were delighted to enjoy the outstanding dinners and service provided by chef Rene Hachez. He recommended from the menu and paired our meals with excellent wines. Extraordinary to see this one man preparing such fine meals, serving the tables and pouring the drinks too.

Of course, the real story in Troyes is the historical city. Our hotel's foundations were laid around the year 1100 and the building seemed a perfect replica of a fifteenth century inn. The beamed ceilings, the beautifully crafted stairways and halls, the perfect courtyard, it was all faithful to the hotel's earliest days. The hotel is also located in a very old corner of the city, completing the escape back in time. You arrive and instantly enter the fifteenth century.

The Old City covered practically the entire city here, with remarkable effect. We visited the Rashi monument in town (honoring the famous Jewish scholar, Solomon bar Isaac, who lived here in the twelfth century), and enjoyed strolling the medieval streets and neighborhoods.

Our one criticism would be the small town attitude of the local citizens. We tumbled into town at mid-afternoon, famished for lunch. Wandering the town, everything was closed for the afternoon until we found one small bake shop that sold us a ham baguette: only the bar next door threw us out of their sidewalk table quite loudly and unpleasantly (they were all empty tables) and we had to eat on the run. On a rain-drenched afternoon we found the town's well known "Museum of Modern Art" but the clerk would not sell us a ticket since the museum was only open for another hour. Very unfriendly folks suffering the petty grumpiness of small town life, I'm afraid. The local bookstore also did not have town guides available in English (we ended up buying a pricey French language guide filled with lush photos, but were disappointed to miss the historical narrative).

That aside, the hotel is a gem and we strongly recommend the Maison Rhodes for your stay in Troyes. It made a wonderful pause in our Paris vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room called the "petit louvre" -- it was vast, with two fireplaces and endless woodwork, views of the city and the courtyard -- ask for it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I've just been looking through the reviews of this hotel, hoping and praying that I would see some improvement. No such luck.

But what struck me most is the lack of response from the management. I have to say that that in itself shows an extraordinary arrogance and is indicative of their attitude to guests.

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is a beautiful building and the rooms are perfectly nice but so many things could be SO MUCH BETTER.

* The prices are astronomical. 18 euros for coffee and a croissant cooked from frozen?
* The food in the 'restaurant" is very very mediocre but again a ridiculous price. Have dinner instead at L'Illustre.
* No way could this hotel be described as 4*. It is a stylish, expensive 3* boutique hotel. It's outrageous that no-one will help you with your baggage when there are two flights of uneven, steep, medieval stairs to go up.

All these points would be easy to address, but I suppose that they just don't need to. While people continue to book they clearly think they have no need to address OR EVEN ANSWER any criticism.

So why do we go back? Well, as I said the rooms are lovely. But, we have dinner and breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StAntonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews