We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little gallery”

Musee D'art Moderne
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming little gallery”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

In a beautiful setting near the cathedral this is a compact gallery with its main focus inevitably on French artists but has more than a few Picasso pieces. We sadly only had thirty minutes to see the place so did a quick walk past of everything but will definitely return to study it all properly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinisawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A great surpise!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We visited Troyes to see the charming medieval old city, which was fascinating. In our wandering we saw a sign to the museum so off we went. There we discovered the excellent, extensive modern art collection of Pierre and Denise Lévy donated to the city in 1976. It is handsomely displayed in the old archbishop's palace. It's not prominent on the tourist radar screen but it should be.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ThMoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

An interesting collection of local work with a few minor pieces by better-known modern masters. The sculpture garden is quite good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extensive collection”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We enjoyed the special exhibition and would return to spend more time looking at its extensive permanent collection.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Fine Collection”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Wide range of modern art especially Alain Derain plus works by Seurat, Bonnard, Matisse and many others in an atmospheric gallery. Worth a detour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lampedusa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee D'art Moderne also viewed

 

Been to Musee D'art Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing