We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much to see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee D'art Moderne

Musee D'art Moderne
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We pretty much had the place to ourselves - great thing about going on holiday while the local children are at school!
I loved their puzzle boxes of the paintings, designed to keep little ones amused no doubt.
Quite a varied collection of items and also an outdoor space with a few sculptures and benches for eating lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tripteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not much here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Like many French Provincial Museums not much here

Seem to be kept open for benefit of employees

Who seemed not to know where the main features were

to reach upper floor lift had to be activated which took 5 minutes

Few visitors just local school parties doing required rounds

Kids wandering aimlessly trying to keep up with their minds

Garden and precincts peacful beautiful and deserted

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alimac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very interesting and varied ehxibits. Martine Martine expo was on when we visited and it was very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cornleaf1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming little gallery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

In a beautiful setting near the cathedral this is a compact gallery with its main focus inevitably on French artists but has more than a few Picasso pieces. We sadly only had thirty minutes to see the place so did a quick walk past of everything but will definitely return to study it all properly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinisawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A great surpise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We visited Troyes to see the charming medieval old city, which was fascinating. In our wandering we saw a sign to the museum so off we went. There we discovered the excellent, extensive modern art collection of Pierre and Denise Lévy donated to the city in 1976. It is handsomely displayed in the old archbishop's palace. It's not prominent on the tourist radar screen but it should be.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ThMoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Musee D'art Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing