We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel de Troyes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Troyes
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

i stayed for only one night, but it was great. the hotel was lovely. it was actually on the outskirts of town(small town) and the surroundings where not the greatest, but my 5 year old gps unit lead me right to the door. and it was only a quick 15 minute walk into the old city which was a really beautiful medieval town.
the hotel was very clean and neat. it had a large room and bathroom with a proper shower door. there was a nice outdoor area outside where you could have some beers or coffees.
the hotel had free wifi but parking was not free. we skipped breakfast.
i really liked the hotel but i would not choose this one if you plan on staying indoors alot looking at stuff from your hotel window.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is without doubt on of the worst, if not THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in. A friend and I were travelling around Europe and thought we would spend our last two nights in the Champagne region. After having spent many nights in a variety of really fantastic hotels around the continent, we decided to book into a cheap one to save on the pennies. What a mistake...!

Firsty, we struggled to find the hotel itself. It's not in a very nice part of Troyes (in fact, there are not many nice parts in Troyes). There is parking round the back but you pay for this. The lobby area is outdated and the stairs dark and dirty. The room we were given was not very clean and had one double and one single bed crammed into the tiniest area I have ever seen. The 'view' overlooked the car park, which also doubled as a make-shift barber service to the half-naked beer-bellied locals - Ugh! Their loud and unsightly presence was disturbing to say the least.

Our room had a large hole in the wall (about 2ftx2ft) which was covered with a large loose piece of chipboard - we eventually used this as a table as the dresser was tiny. The bathroom was virtully a cupboard! The toilet had a strange way of flushing and nearly flooded the floor! Watch out! The shower was terrible and flooded within minutes. The towel handle broke off the wall within seconds of using the room. The wireless internet was also a nightmare to organise.

Breakfast was not included in the price, but we payed 10 Euro each on the first morning. The meal was very average and, agaion, the room was small and cramped for the eight people who were eating. I found the manager rather rude and curt. The girl behind reception was pleasant enough but her English was poor so communication was via sign language.

I have never been so eager to leave a hotel as I was with this one. The region itself is not too bad with the nearby Foret de Orient being a highlight, but rather pay a bit more and get comfortable than staying in this - sorry, I have to say it - rathole!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holmography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

This was our second stay. It is a great hotel for a base to explore the Aube and its champagne producers. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was self service and was kept well topped up. The hotel has secure parking at €4 a day, although the side streets seem safe. The hotel is about one mile from the town centre, about a 20 minute walk or about three minutes drive. The selection of restaurants in the town centre is very good and excellent value as they cater largely to the locals. We stayed there four nights and plan to return next year. M and Madame Galy are very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westlondonerW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We used the Hotel De Troyes for an overnight stop-over on our 2007 Euro tour. The hotel is well appointed and a good 2 star hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a good shower / bathroom.
It's position a good way from the town isn't too convenient though. We walked a good way and never actually found the centre, we gave up and retired to a nice little bar we found

This leaves hungry guests with only one choice - to eat at the hotel restaurant, which isn't actually in the hotel but about 1/4 mile up the road, and in the opposite direction to town. The restaurant is however very good, we had an nice meal there, no English whatsoever is spoken, but the staff are very pleasant and helpful.

There is secure parking at the rear of the hotel so cars / bikes would be quite safe. The receptionist on duty when we arrived was a bit "po faced" and not very welcoming, but she was only a young girl so she'd probably got a new spot or broken a fingernail - who knows!
A reasonable hotel for a one night stay but any more than that would be too much.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lilipoucine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jacpotLi_ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry G, Directeur général at Hotel de Troyes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zaf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troyes hotels
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
#2 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Troyes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Splendid
Hotel le Splendid
#15 of 22 in Troyes
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Arlequin
Hotel Arlequin
#8 of 22 in Troyes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Troyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Troyes

Address: 168 Avenue du General Leclerc de Hautecloque | (ancienne route de Paris), 10000, Troyes, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Troyes 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Troyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing